We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Church Street Townhouse

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
European, British, Soups, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
+44 1789 262222
Website
Today
08:00 - 03:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:00 - 03:30
Sat 08:00 - 02:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 356: English reviews
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Generally i like this place, the food was really nice and a good choice of wine, but was disappointed the wine was not opened at the table and I never agree with an automatic service charge when there are only 2 diners.

Helpful?
Thank lotts77
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We have visited the town house on numerous occasions and have often enjoyed the food however the service always seems to be a little lacking. With our most recent visit the portion sizes seemed to be a bit smaller than normal, and the burgers ordered had very little flavour. The younger waitresses often seemed to be standing around quite nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vikki292
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, your feedback is very much appreciated, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We went to the Townhouse for a dinner few days ago. The food was superb, very well presented and tasty. Nice decor as well. The atmosphere was just lovely. Against: they charge a complementary service, which is a 10% of the bill. I think people should leave tips if they have had a good experience, not by obligation. Anyway, I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank June V
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, your feedback is very much appreciated, we will shortly be undertaking a small refurbishment so don't leave it too long before you come back and visit us. Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Trappe, Maryland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

We went to Chuch Street Townhouse for a dinner last friday night with friends; suffice it to say they have Christmas spirit! Live music with carols, everyone singing even the bartenders. The food was fabulous and the service despite being packed was pretty good. Definitely get reservations on weekend nights. Overall food, service and fun get five stars we cant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eglzfn
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your evening Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

I was treated to afternoon tea here for my birthday and it really was a treat. sandwiches were perfect with plenty of fillings, bread was perfection and so tasty. the cake selection was perfect with handmade brownies and eclairs, and two HUGE scones each and the most perfectly gorgeous chocolate fudge I have ever tasted in my life! we felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank moj65
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us, hope to see you soon Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

We have eaten here on previous visits and never been disappointed The meal was delicious and beautifully presented and timed perfectly for a pre theatre dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Christine Bob P
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you back here again soon Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Derby, UK
Level Contributor
411 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and on the whole, had a very enjoyable stay. The food was excellent - both at dinner and at breakfast the following day and the service in the bar was spot on - friendly and efficient. We took advantage of the happy hour offer (champagne @£30, Prosecco @£20) and enjoyed our drinks with live... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanandSally
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, hopefully when we have had the refurb we will equally match your expectations Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I couldn't describe our experience as anything other than ok really. We booked in advance for a family birthday dinner and were seated as soon as we arrived. Early on there was piano playing which created a lovely atmosphere. 2 of us opted for the Friday night prosecco offer (a bottle plus canapés for £20) which was lovely. No one... More 

Helpful?
Thank LozVA
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you found us to be not up to standard, your points do sound like we havent showered ourselves in glory too much, I will be speaking to the team who were on last Friday to get to the bottom of the issues. Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We went to the townhouse but we found it two noisy to be able to eat food as there was a lot of noise and you could not be heard. We have gone to many places with noise but we found this one two much.

Helpful?
Thank Sandie V
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for four nights which is more than most people. Regrettably it is the worst hotel I can remember visiting The general areas are tired, the breakfast was totally disorganised the room cleaning was appalling, every day we had to ask for things that had not been provided, including toilet rolls, biscuits, tea, hairdryer. We ate... More 

Helpful?
Thank david s
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

I have emailed you a response from your email that you sent to Head Office as I hadnt seen that you had shared your thought on here too. I do hope the email has reached you Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Church Street Townhouse also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Church Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 17 - US$ 50
Cuisine
European, British, Soups, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 03:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 03:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 03:30
Thursday
08:00 - 03:30
Friday
08:00 - 03:30
Saturday
08:00 - 02:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Stratford-upon-Avon
  • Phone Number: +44 1789 262222
Description
Innovative dinning in opulent surroundings with daily changing specials and the best whisky list in the region.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Church Street Townhouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Yeovil, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Townhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?