We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solomons

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
+44 191 274 2323
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 382: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm been going for take-away for years. My recent visit was by far the worst experience I've had with them. The food was actually ok but it was cold. I think this probably down to them forgetting about the meal. I was told it would be ready in half an hour (even though it was dead). After 40 mins I... More 

Helpful?
Thank smalltime76
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant today and all I can say is please don't waste your money,I paid £93 with drinks,family of five,yes I would say that's good but the meals were disgusting ,we all ordered different as well and not one was good,such a shame as it was my sons birthday,plates and cutlery were dirty,meals full of grease,had better takeaways,the service... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank dawnarm71
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Cold naans, bhuna had crunchy onion and devoid of tomatoes. Not good. Had i been at the restaurant I would have sent it back but unfortunately it was a takeaway.

Helpful?
Thank Angie M
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear Angie M, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your meal. More 

newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Usually this is my first choice of venue for Indian food. However, last visit was awful. The food wasn't nice at all. Don't know if it's changed hands or what but it's near the bottom of my choice of venues now.

Helpful?
Thank jayne4369
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear jayne4369, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your evening with us. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Was a large group of us and the place was empty so that made me think it might not be that good but it was, of course service was great ( think the waiters were glad of something to do ) the food came out hot and was very tasty and restaurant was clean so all in all I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank ks1912
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review ks1912. More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We ate here early on a Sunday evening. The service was excellent and the food good and sometimes very good. For our main courses we had the meat and vegetable thali to share. There were some tasty dishes although overall they could have been spicier. The naan that came with each was unnecessary in addition to rice. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MilesGary
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear MilesGary, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Food here is absolutely fab, everything is always good. Only downside is can be a little expensive so can't afford to be a regular. More of a big treat meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mya27
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Thanks for the fab review Mya27, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to see you again! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Went to restaurant with a few friends. The lamb curry was decent. The chicken was dry. There was nothing in the bar when the girls wanted to get a drink for the meal as we do.. unfortunately we won't be going again.

Helpful?
Thank TastebudTaster
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear Tastebudtester we apologise you were not satisfied with your visit. Regards More 

Wylam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Surprised to see a few negative reviews to be honest - apart from one blip last year when there was some staff changes we have always had a 5* experience here. We had a meal for two on Valentines Day and it was as good as ever. Straight from work and table booked early (5.30pm) before the rush. First ones... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rubles2010
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fab review Rubles2010 we really appreciate the kind feedback and hope to see you again soon. Regards More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This used to be a fabulous restaurant but after some bad meals here I left it for a few years and decided to give it one more try. The shami kebab I ordered was just like a Spam fritter without the taste and the Chilli & garlic lamb had no flavour except chilli. It was as if the chef just... More 

Helpful?
Thank iank141
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear iank141, again we apologise for the dissatisfaction. Regards More 

Travellers who viewed Solomons also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Solomons? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 29 - US$ 39
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Halal, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:30
Monday
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
17:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 274 2323

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Solomons and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Solomons staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?