We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gusto - Newcastle

106 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
+44 191 260 2291
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (213 reviews)
“steak” (128 reviews)
“meatballs” (37 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
106 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Its by the quayside so a nice place to eat. We went for dinner but it was a little pricy for the quality of food served. Food was good but nothing specialMore

Thank LuLu88954
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Luisa, I am disappointed to hear that you thought the quality of our food was not up to our normal high standard here at Gusto. If you would like to discuss this further please email us at newcastle@gustorestaurants.uk.com, I hope this does not deter...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Have been a regular visit yo gusto in other cities and decided to try Newcastle restaurant. Sunday night was still busy but we were really disappointed that so many starters and mains were unavailable - 2 attempts at ordering starters and 3 attempts to order...More

Thank LJXX1979
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I am sorry to hear that your options weren't available on this evening and the confusion caused. All of our food is freshly made on the premises and due to a very busy weekend we did sell out of a certain number of items. If...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I 've visited Gusto few times and I found food there just amazing! In fact I have to admit that the prices are quite expensive but totally worth it because food is very good and the staff is professional, friendly and attentive. However I have...More

Thank Akinom119
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for this lovely 5* review. It is excellent to hear that you love our food and service. The calzone is made fresh to order and the same amount of dough is always used and they may differ slightly once cooked.,Thank you for bringing...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

When me and my friends arrived at Gusto it was a warm summers day and we had pre-booked a table and asked to be seated outside. At first, the guy serving us didn't seem keen to seat 3 of us on a 6 seater table...More

Thank Jkav16
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I am so sorry that you have received this sort of service, this is not normal practice for Gusto and I am shocked and appalled by this. Please can you send us your contact number to newcastle@gustorestaurants.uk.com and a manager will be in touch with...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We registered on the website so got 25% of the bill so worth doing this before a visit. Food and service were both great. Busy restaurant but service still good. Was very handy as right next to our hotel. Would definitely eat here again.

Thank Fee66
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for this wonderful 5* review. It is lovely to hear that you had great food and service. It is amazing that you would dine with us again, and we look forward in seeing you very soon. Kind Regards Steph Business Development Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second visit in a couple of months. Food is a level above most chain restaurants. Service efficient and prices pretty good.

Thank Dave11GF
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review Dave. It is lovely to here that you enjoy our food and service. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon. Steph Business Development Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had seen the reviews for Gusto and got a personal recommendation so we decided to go along on a Thursday night. It wasn’t too busy but still had atmosphere. We were served quickly and the staff were all lovely and efficient. The food was...More

Thank Alastair R
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow thank you Alastair for this amazing 5* review. It is lovely to hear that you found our staff lovely and that you enjoyed all of your food. We are so happy that you really like our restaurant and we are looking forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent food and presentation with first class dining facilities overlooking the Mouth of the Tyne in Newcastle. Great service and friendly staff. We were visiting for a birthday celebration and they made our night special for both my husband and myself.

Thank Lynne H
GUSTOnewcastle14, General Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lynne, Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a first class review! Lovely to read that we made your night so special. I do hope we see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Kiri Ham General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday night whilst stopping in Newcastle. Started with arancini with a spicy tomato sauce was very nice. The main course was good however not much meat in the lamb cacciatore for the price paid mainly sauce. Dessert of sticky toffee pudding...More

Thank Ashley H
GUSTOnewcastle14, General Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to write your review! I shall pass on your feedback to our fabulous head chef and our team. Kind regards, Kiri Ham General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Monday lunch time. Hadn’t booked. Had just turned 12 o’clock so was fine. Asked to be seated up stairs only to be told had to sit downstairs, but when using toilets upstairs other guests had been allowed to sit upstairs. Music was...More

Thank Catherine M
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank for your review Catherine, if you would like to discuss this, please email us at newcastle@gustorestaurants.uk.com and we can investigate the matter further. Kind Regards Steph Business Development Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle
2,684 reviews
.04 km away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
1,200 reviews
.20 km away
Baltic Quays Luxury Apartments
21 reviews
.24 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
1,474 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Six
2,281 reviews
.20 km away
BALTIC Kitchen
207 reviews
.14 km away
Barrio Comida
88 reviews
.18 km away
21
1,585 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sage Gateshead
1,073 reviews
.43 km away
The Quayside
2,532 reviews
.24 km away
Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
943 reviews
.22 km away
The Tyne Bridge
884 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mark d
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RJH91 | Reviewed this property |
No, this is a restaurant only.
1
Vote
Janet S
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GUSTOnewcastle14 | Property representative |
Mrs Smith, I responded to your email on 20/07/17. As requested in the email, please can you contact me on my personal email or call the venue at an appropriate time for yourself so we can discuss your recent visit. Kind... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 63
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 106 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 260 2291
  • E-mail
Description
As if the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Baltic Art Gallery weren't enough reason to visit Newcastle's Quayside, there is also Gusto. Make the most of those sunshine days on the beautiful terrace, and when the evening (or the clouds) draw in, step inside the large, lively bar - with a superb choice of wines and cocktails. Add a 200-year-old olive tree, sprinkled in fairy lights, and Gusto Newcastle makes any day magical.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;