We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tollgate

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
142 Fornham Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 6AX, England
+44 1284 755237
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 259: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in with kids for dinner was quite busy but managed to get a table for 5 presets at the bar with the manager malanie who was very polite and recommended the Camenbert so we went for that glad we did was lovely ! Had mussels for main and brownie for dessert our waiter didn't get his name was wonderful!!

Helpful?
Thank valariejohnxx
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a Sunday roast as a lazy treat! My pork belly was under cooked and was sent back, veg was under cooked for my liking but except able ! Plates were cold but the roast potatoes were delicious ! The staff were really helpful and made sure we were happy ! My daughters had a burger and gammon which... More 

Helpful?
Thank razzletup
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good lunch visit and I have gone back for dinner which is a bit more expensive but still good. With a hip replacement the place is not as good as the greengage as there is no access toilet.

Helpful?
Thank garax2017
Elena s, General Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our food. We do have an access toilet and would be happy to show you if you visit us again in the future. Many thanks Elena Staiano More 

Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this pub as a big group of us to have a catch up and a bite to eat. The food was very good couldn't fault any of it but the staff weren't very friendly at all. They didn't seem like they knew what they were doing, quiet rude and even though we gave them a list of what... More 

Helpful?
Thank 195Caroline222
Elena s, General Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this review

Hell Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our food however am dissappointed to see you did not receive great service which we do usually provide. I will pass these comments on to the team and hopefully if you decide to visit us again our service will meet the rest of the standards Many thanks Elena Staiano More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

A chance visit late on a Saturday afternoon revealed a nice comfortable pub with helpful staff, reasonable range of beers and hot tasty food with generous portions. Pub wasn't overly busy and we were warmly greeted as soon as we arrived. Our group had Steaks, Steak and Ale pie and Cod and Chips. Meal came within 20 mins, nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank simonb523
Elena s, General Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit at The Tollgate. We pride ourselves on our food and great value for money. I sincerely hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Elena Staiano More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

Nice warm pub on a miserable night. We had gone for a cheap meal out and chose from 'Specials Menu'. Good food and good value. There appeared to be plenty of 'specials' available all day and also for senior citizens at lunchtime. Staff all very pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank johnsmith766
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

A group of us popped in here on the off chance. We were warmly greeted and made welcome. We chose a nice table out of the way to sit and chat. We ordered from the varied menu. All our meals came quickly were hot and very enjoyable. Dessert was delicious too. Good value for money. Will definitely visit again

Helpful?
Thank Twinsmum06
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Food a bit hit and miss .salad sad looks old days old .small. size .pub a bit rough could do with a clean up staff ok

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

The food is OK and good value. Typical pub grub, you get what you pay for. The Sunday roast is a fairly valued meal and better than some other local establishments. The table waiting staff are very helpful, composed when busy and very courteous but the bar maid I found very rude. She was rude to a member of staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars12345
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here for dinner. Excellent value and the food was delicious. The staff were very friendly. My only complaint is that there is no service at your table. You have to go to the bar to place your food and drinks order.... really don't like this system. Think it would add a lot of value to the experience of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blesjka

Travellers who viewed The Tollgate also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Tollgate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 142 Fornham Road, Bury St Edmunds IP32 6AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St Edmunds
  • Phone Number: +44 1284 755237
Description
Traditional Freshly cooked food served with a rustic charm in a modern but relaxed atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Tollgate and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Tollgate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?