We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Furlong Tavern

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Furlong Tavern Furlong Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 5UP, England
+44 1782 819777
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 204: English reviews
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have visited on two occasions with our son and partner. What a lovely atmosphere with great local people. The staff where really lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them, nice friendly faces and the service was excellent. As for the food? Excellent!! I had a sizzler the first visit with peppered steak and just steak. I like... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank June T
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Always good food. Friendly staff, always a good atmosphere. Good selection of real ales, lagers and ciders.

Helpful?
Thank Emma K
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Meal out for my wife's birthday. Thought the service was very good, as was the food. Will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
1 Thank gazstaffs
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great little venue just down the road. Was very busy when we I arrived which is always a great sign. Lots to choose from from expensive to specials so there's something for everyone. Great value for what you have with great and friendly service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Online menu reads utterly fantastic. Menu in reality is very disappointing. Steak was good but didn't come with some of the items described eg no egg, no sausage. Poached salmon had no lemon and herb sauce/butter and was extremely dry. When asked where the sauce was, we were presented with a slice of dry lemon and advised 'that's what it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BKandK
jackie_furlong, Owner at The Furlong Tavern, responded to this review

hi thankyou for your review. Sorry you were disappointed with the menu. I have checked back on the notes taken for this night. You were looked after by Emma. Normally the Salmon is served with a slice of lemon and a butter sauce. Sorry if this was not with your meal on arrival, also egg and sausage from the steak... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Used to go here regularly and always had good food. Went this week and I thought I had walked into a different place. Staff scowling, food no where near as good as I've had before, in fact so bad I won't be going back unless they pay me. They say you get what you pay for and I certainly won't... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
jackie_furlong, Owner at The Furlong Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Would like the opportunity to discuss your comments please. please email me on Jackie.webb@hotmail.com so I am able to find out exactly what happened and when. thankyou regards The Furlong More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Monday lunch at the Furlong was a terrible meal we have always enjoyed meals at the Furlong and some weeks ago my son said the Meals were not as good as they used to be but I thought he was to picky but no he was right being there on Monday the food was terrible they exchanged one of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank helen l
jackie_furlong, Owner at The Furlong Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Sorry to hear you weren't happy with your meals. We do try hard to get things right for all of our customers. I am pleased that you did inform the staff while you were here that you weren't happy as some customers wait until they leave, and then we are not in a position to put it right. Pleased... More 

stoke on trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went with friends just before Christmas we did have to book as Xmas party's catered for, but well worth it ,it was our first visit but won't be our last we were well impressed. Quick service even when full, lovely food , plenty of it,good choice on menu.thank you!

Helpful?
Thank sueStokeOnTrent
jackie_furlong, Owner at The Furlong Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Thankyou so much for your lovely comments on your visit to The Furlong. So pleased you were happy with everything. It matters to us to get it right for all our customers. Hope you will visit us again soon. regards The Furlong More 

Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

It's a great place to eat, family friendly, welcoming, food cooked to order (so it's nice and fresh), chips are amazing! If your going at a weekend, be sure to book as it get's pretty busy with being so popular. Very good value for money and caters well for vegetarians and gluten free, just ask!

Helpful?
Thank Veggie60
jackie_furlong, Owner at The Furlong Tavern, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking time to give The Furlong and its team such a positive and appreciated review. It isn't always easy to get it right every time - but comments like yours makes it all worthwhile. We do our best, and the important thing is we care that our customers get the best experience we can give. so pleased you... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Saturday afternoon family visit we ordered 3 sirloin meals 1 all day breakfast and 1 large mixed grill Large mixed grill looked like the chicken breast and pork chop had been pre cooked and kept warn in the broiler,very dry and lacking flavour All day breakfast was average with fried eggs slightly under cooked My medium rare stake was extremely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
jackie_furlong, Owner at The Furlong Tavern, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments ref your visit to The Furlong. These comments will be discussed with the team. sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your meals. The Furlong More 

Travellers who viewed The Furlong Tavern also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Furlong Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Furlong Tavern Furlong Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 5UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Stoke-on-Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1782 819777

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Furlong Tavern and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
4 months ago
staffordshire
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Furlong Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?