We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
British, Gastropub, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
+44 1643 823030
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Having checked out the reviews on trip advisor we felt we had to try this restaurant! We were not disappointed! The food was exquisite. To start, we had homemade bread and dips and a scotch egg. Both of which were delicious. For mains, we both chose one of the specials: Beef casserole with horseradish dumplings and Seabream with sand fire.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryLisa W
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were on holiday with a large group of friends - 19 in total and hadn't booked - just happened to be in Dunster when we were all hungry. We were made very welcome and despite the chaos (caused by us being such a large group with young children) of seating, ordering and pleasing 5 families, we were very pleasantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsWCD
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dunster appears to be one of these places with an embarrassment of good restaurants and in thar regard, Dunster Castle hotel restaurant is right at home. We stumbled upon it today after our first choice (No.3 on Tripadvisor) was closed. I had the fish of the day - sea bream - with sauteed potatoes and butter sauce and veg. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank BearAlarm
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you BearAlarm, I agree. Dunster is becoming quite a foodie destination and it's great to feel that we're part of the picture. Everything our kitchen produces is prepared from scratch, so nice to hear when it's appreciated. Thanks again for your kind words. John and Lisa More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked in for Christmas Day lunch. We pre-paid for the food. Drinks were on top and paid for on the day and the prices were good. Although in comparison to a normal lunch, you'd think it was expensive, for what you go on the day, it was really good value for money and the staff all earned their... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheLardmeister
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you TheLardmeister, The carol singing on Christmas Day will haunt my dreams forever! May I say that we only provided the canvas of which was turned into a fantastic day be all of the guests. The 9 courses must have seemed a bit daunting, but it was our chefs' job to make sure that they were too tasty to... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked into the hotel with my friend for the New Year's Eve 'ball' What a complete joke! Arrived at the hotel and milled around waiting for someone to inform us of the arrangements. No luck so had to search someone out then directed to the wrong area. Had to ask for the complimentary cocktail, had to ask where to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zoidberg66
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Ditto as above. Remember, both of you and whatever your reason for your behaviour. There are 2 ways to shine bright in your life. One is to shine bright by your own abilities. The other way is to appear to shine brighter by trying to dull the shine of all of those around you. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was pre booked for us by local friends, And what a nice treat, Good choice of local food .I had slow cooked pork with crackling which was fab, 'Only wished more cracking please" Fresh fish looked white and fresh, I had a small local beer , Very clean and homely restaurant . Would go back

Helpful?
Thank TerryV310164
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you TerryV. Great to know we're being recommended by our locals. Our chefs think that there may be a crackling burgler at large who sneaks into the kitchen late at night. I'll keep an eye on the situation! Thanks again and maybe see you soon. John More 

pewsey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just come back from this hotel , the food was amazing ... The steak rib eye was so tasty .... Breakfast was freshly cooked with a great range ... Great food and great host .....

Helpful?
Thank iandebdavies
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much iandebdavies, I'll pass the feedback on to the staff. Your comments are very kind and put a spring in our step ready for the busy Xmas and New Year period. kind regards. John and Lisa More 

Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We booked an evening meal at this hotel on the spur of the moment. The menu looked interesting and it stated that local high quality produce was used. We were not disappointed. The owners were welcoming and informative, ever present but in a low-key and extremely professional way. Our starter was well presented and absolutely delicious. My husband's pate was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan055
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Jano55, It's great to that our work here is appreciated. Our challenge is to try to get people here on their 1st night so that they can try out a few of our menu items! Thanks you again. John & Lisa More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

Ther were eight of us in our group and we were all very pleased with our meals. The portions were adequate, the food tasty and nicely presented.We thought it was good value for money, and the anniversary couple were delighted. The restaurant itself lacked atmosphere unfortunately, and the decor didn't seem to have a theme. But the service was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm very glad you and your party enjoyed your time at our restaurant and look forward to seeing you again someday. Decor theme & lacking atmospere are not comments that we've come across before in terms you describe, in fact the contrary. However, feedback is welcome. Thank you. John & Lisa More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

This place has had some mixed reviews after a recent change of hands - so we wanted to try it again after the new owners had settled in. We had a really good lunch here: Well prepared food using fresh ingredients. My fish was perfectly cooked and there were some very nice touches - home made tartar sauce, home made... More 

Helpful?
Thank WestCountryFoodie
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Impeccable review as well! Our brief to the kitchen is simple - Good ingredients with great local provenance, cooked well. Thank you very much for your kind words, WCF. More 

Travellers who viewed Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 22
Cuisine
British, Gastropub, European
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Dunster
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 823030
Description
Locally sourced ingredients freshly prepared by our team of chefs who deliver a great looking tasty dish. Great food served in exquisite surroundings with the friendliest service you'll ever find.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?