We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brasserie Brunel

) #129 of 421 Restaurants in Bath ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ British, European,
The Royal Hotel | Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
+44 1225 463134
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 15:00All hours
CUISINES
British, European, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Royal Hotel | Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the baked camembert which was fabulous, nice selection of breads, nice chutneys, and the chilli squid which was succulent and so well balanced with a good amount of heat. We plumped for the steaks, good flavour absolutely cooked as we had asked. Malbec...More

1  Thank tillbillies
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for awarding us 5 stars following your meal in Brasserie Brunel. It was nice of you to highlight the many aspects of your meal which you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again soon....More

Reviewed 18 May 2017

We had lunch here twice as it was included in the Travelzoo deal at the Bailbrook Lodge and as such it was excellent value. Food was very decent without being particularly notable with good service and a pleasant ambience. We would probably have tried somewhere...More

Thank AdrianB144
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review and for your compliments regarding how much you enjoyed lunch in Brasserie Brunel. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 14 May 2017

The Brasserie Brunel was a refreshing surprise. We selected a restaurant with a pin! It turned out to be terrific. The staff were utterly professional, efficient and friendly. the menu was interesting and the food was extremely delicious. AND the prices were sensible! It was...More

1  Thank Ann M
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars following your visit to Brasserie Brunel which I note you selected “with a pin”! – We are delighted that the “pin” made such a good choice! We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the food, our staff and...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch as part of a deal with Bailbrook Lodge - they share joint ownership . The menu seemed to have for us many suitable choices. The list of complaints are too numerous but in summary we found all the dishes bland underseasoned...More

Thank mikehaydon52
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

I was disappointed to receive your review. Unfortunately as you have not mentioned what you had to eat it makes it very difficult for us to comment on what dishes disappointed you. As you will have seen from other reviews, we receive many compliments about...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Food came quite quickly and was very tasty. The staff were very attentive and polite. Dining area very nice.

Thank Sarah P
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review following your meal and the compliments regarding the quality of the food and staff. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Stayed in the Royal Hotel evening meal a very good selection at a reasonable price. Service was excellent and so was the food.

Thank Julielarratt
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Many thanks for your review and for your compliments regarding the quality of food which we offer in Brasserie Brunel. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We went for dinner with a friend, The salt was wide open so my friend poir it all on his plate by mistake, we asked to have the plate changed and they said it was our fault. He stared at us during the all dinner,...More

Thank audreypref
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

I was disappointed to read your review following dinner in Brasserie Brunel. I have spoken to the waiter who replaced your first course because unfortunately you opened the base of the salt cellar over the dish resulting in the food becoming inedible. My understanding is...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

The staff were excellent and the food very good with lots of choice. Poached pear was enormous but Easton mess looked the best.

1  Thank Aunty_anita
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your review and for awarding us 5 stars. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Brasserie Brunel and we look forward to seeing you again. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Booked in advance - had to eat earlier than hoped as they were expecting a large party . A couple with a booked table did come just before we left, but they also turned away a walk in. When we left it was still nearly...More

Thank colinc57
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your review following your visit to Brasserie Brunel. We did have a large party booked on that day and we, therefore, have to plan accordingly. I apologise that you did not enjoy your steak and if you had informed us at the...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Back at this hotel on the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package and have to say it just keeps getting better! I'm a pretty fussy diner - not in terms of what I eat but the quality of the food, the way it's cooked, presented and...More

1  Thank graceyloufreebushl
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your review and for awarding us 5 stars following your return visit. I am grateful to you for highlighting the dishes you enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Absurd Bird Bath
525 reviews
.09 km away
Thaikhun Bath
354 reviews
.13 km away
Mokoko
91 reviews
.09 km away
Graze Bar- Brewery and Chophouse
964 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sally Lunn's Museum
986 reviews
.31 km away
Bath's Old Orchard Street Theatre
53 reviews
.24 km away
Chapel Arts Centre
51 reviews
.33 km away
St John The Evangelist Church
33 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Brasserie Brunel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Royal Hotel | Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 463134
Description
Brassiere Brunel – casual dining in a French style brasserie setting with a menu to match,Our newly refurbished restaurant is located in the lovely Grade II listed building designed by the famous architect Isambard Kingdom Brunel and we have named our new dining venue in tribute to this famous designer.The decor and furnishings have been modelled on a traditional Parisian brasserie and the menu features a number of French specialities together with grills, including steaks, for which we are renowned. Wherever possible our food is sourced locally including our steaks from the highly respected Church Farms and the majority of dishes are freshly produced by a first class team of cooks. The menu represents excellent value for money and in addition to the extensive range of very competitively priced a la carte dishes we also offer two fixed price menu options namely, £9.95 for 2 courses and £12.95 for 3 courses.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing