We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RIDGEWAY ARMS

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from RIDGEWAY ARMS
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 5 - US$ 27
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
205
86
38
22
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
205
86
38
22
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger family meal compliments to the chef nice pub excellent meal brilliant service nice food be visiting again liam flaming
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s was amazing the staff Couldn’t do enough for us, very clean and tidy. The food was delicious, slight wait but I would happily wait for quality. Amazing work ridgeway team

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved a table on a bank holiday Monday and they were very accommodating for us. Becky served us at the bar and was lovely. Food was delicious and came quickly. The Manager, Becca, came and saw that everything was perfect for us also.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent the afternoon there yesterday, it was amazing, the staff was very helpful, the food and service excellent. Thank you to Becca for setting the tables like she did! Compliments to the chefs and a massive thank you to Kerry. Will definitely be seeing...you soonMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your always welcome here at the ridgeway we’re glad you had a wonderful time

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't thank eveyone enough. Becca, Claire and Maddie was all brilliant, massive complements to the chefs Kerry Zoe and Steve food was absolutely amazing and to get the table of 16 out in no time at all was amazing. Thank you all so much made...my sisters wedding day the best.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your very welcome we shall see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you again to all the staff at The Ridgeway Arms...we've had another great family meal. Despite the place being packed, the food was fresh, hot and delicious. Compliments to the chef! See you again soon!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the wonderful review we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly attentive staff felt welcome easy to order food was beautiful but slightly cold told a member of staff offered to redo order and get drinks we didn’t except just wanted to highlight which I think it was rectified immediately would would definitely go back...Thank you Ridgeway ArmsMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review we shall see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited 18/8/21 as a group of 6. Overall a positive experience and will definitely return. Mishaps happened, timings weren't ideal, however, it was clear to see that through no fault of their own, the kitchen in particular were struggling. We were informed that the kitchen...were experiencing an unexpected staff shortage for the evening which in turn meant longer wait times for the food. To be honest its baffling to see how some customers can treat staff so disgustingly. The staff were all very polite and handled the situation well. The staff that worked lastnight should take the bad attitude of customers on the chin because they all worked wonders. Couldn't have asked for more polite waiters and bar staff, they even gave our children Crisps and adults a complimentary drink whilst we were waiting for the meal. Must admit we weren't expecting much from the food but it was actually the nicest meal from a Greene King pub that we have had before.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review, this has really made the teams day. It was a difficult shift but we have learnt, I will pass the regards to everyone

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked a table for 5pm asked a staff member where our table was, and got told someone is sat in it so we got showed to another one that was soaking wet,waited at the bar ages to be served the girl behind the bar was...on the phone copying her shifts and just let us stand there , Then when we finally started giving our order we ordered 4 different things and 3 of them were not available I understand that pubs do run out things but they had a very poor selection and the service was terrible we left and won’t be returningMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi we are so sorry about your visit yesterday. We’ve had some issues with our suppliers and they have now managed to supply us with the items that we’re out. We do appreciate the feedback as we want to improve our service to you, we...More

Reviewed 15 August 2021

Sat here waiting for over an hour and half and still no food, we were told an hour but had to ask after an hour and half. we ordered fish,chips,scampi plateur and onion rings. What a waste off time and money, when the food came...it was a massive dussapointment, The onion rings were soggy,the fish batter was hard and burnt,the bread had obviously been frozen as it was ice cold. Not goodMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review so we can learn and improve, we do apologise about the food and wait and we aim too make improvements

Reviewed 13 August 2021

We are regular visitors to the Ridgeway and normally are very satisfied but last night we came away extremeley disappointed. We had booked a table to celebrate our daughters exam results so it was a special occasion. We ordered drinks from the app but had...to chase them as the order was not received. We also ordered our meals through to app. After 45 mins of waiting we spoke to a member of staff who said they would check on our order - she never came back to us, although did say they were short staffed. After a further 30 mins again we asked a member of staff - he came back and said it would be 15 minutes. Overall we waited 1 hr 40 mins for our food. When it did arrive both the XL Surf, Turk and Clucks were missing a piece of chicken, there was a mesely 4 pieces of scampi on each and one steak was extremely well done (ordered med rare) and the other was basically fat. At this point we had been waiting so long we ate what we could and left. I understand the issues with COVID and staff shortages but what this shouldn't affect is the accuracy and quality of the food ordered. It also appeared that those who ordered directly from the bar were getting their meals served before those ordering through the app - as we heard others complain and we witnessed a number of people ordering after usand receiving their meals substantially before us.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at RIDGEWAY ARMS, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Hi thank you so much for the feedback we truly appreciate it, we are really sorry that you weren’t happy with your visit. And we aim to improve our service too, we hope to see you again soon. Genuinely thank you for letting me know...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel
987 reviews
1.91 km away
The Sitwell Arms Hotel
371 reviews
4.72 km away
Travelodge Sheffield Richmond
298 reviews
5.22 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
2,067 reviews
6.16 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Phoenix
726 reviews
1.30 km away
The Old Vicarage
125 reviews
1.21 km away
The Swan
126 reviews
1.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wortley Top Forge Industrial Museum
39 reviews
3.52 km away
Renishaw Hall And Gardens
418 reviews
3.90 km away
The Gate Inn
7 reviews
3.95 km away
Sheffield Cable Waterski and Aqua Park
114 reviews
3.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shell R
2 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from rebeccaletton | Reviewed this property |
There is a grassed area outside with tables and a toy machine the one you put money in and get a toy and crayons for colouring.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about RIDGEWAY ARMS

Yes, RIDGEWAY ARMS is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

RIDGEWAY ARMS is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4