We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Street Food Chef

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
98 | Arundel Street, Sheffield S1 4RE, England
+44 7811 953004
Website
Today
10:00 - 10:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 10:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 10:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 297: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

A little pricey for lunch but it is so worth it - I can't rate their food enough, if I'm near and need a bite for lunch it is my go to place you never wait long and the quality is always bang on. It is the only vegetarian burrito I've had which is genuinely tasty as well (sorry Tacobell... More 

Helpful?
Thank myreviews68
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! We work hard at making it all tasty, and will also continue to look at developing our vegetarian menu. Everything is made from scratch - I think that is the secret! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

My student son visits here a couple of times a week when hes at uni. He insisted we try it recently in the evening. Its very relaxed and you don't need to dress up. The food was very good. The beer is a bit overpriced compared to the food prices but most places make more on the beer than to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claylow
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a good review, and I'm glad you would come back! See you soon! More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Friend took me here today and it was absolutely yummy!!! Mice atmosphere, great food. I will certainly be back next time I am in Sheffield!

Helpful?
Thank RevEleanor
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your 5* review, look forward to seeing you again! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Regular visitor to here and the pop up shop on pinestone street. Good food and reasonable prices. Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Stwy2011
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your 5* review! I will let the guys in both shops know of your great review, see you again soon...... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Decent portions, low prices, good homemade salsas, lots of ability to customise. Busier at lunchtime than evening. Friendly staff, long tables with outdoor seats/stools, bright colour scheme, no problem to order take away. So nice for family and friends but not really a romantic date destination . !

Helpful?
Thank AndyTripad
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your 5* review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it for us, see you again soon (although perhaps not on a romantic date!) More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

Although not badly priced, the food was pretty bland and ordinary. Not bad if you just need to get fueled up as it is very basic, but it is simply just bland. A bit of homemade salsa and sour cream would go a long way here.

Helpful?
Thank johncharlespaul
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are really sorry that the food was bland when you visited. We make all of our salsa's ourselves, and the hot ones are really punchy. Sour cream should come as standard with most of our meals. I have showed your review to all our managers, and we are using... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Burrito was ok, nothing special. We went for the sauce with 3 chillies next to it, but it wasn't spicy at all. Can't imagine the ones 'less' spicy are anything but bland. Also, the guy on the til was a bit poor, asked for a large and got a regular, asked to apply my NHS discount and he didn't apply... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingelephant1
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, I'm really sorry you had such a disappointing time at one of our shops. From the date of your review, I think you came in on a day when we were taken by surprise by the numbers of customers - not a good enough excuse, but that is the reason you had to wait for your burrito. I'm also... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The best burrito place in Sheffield. Love visiting here with friends. Great street food and amazing homemade guacamole. They have gluten free tacos for any one gluten free and cater for people with spicy taste buds and those with a milder pallet. Try the burrito challenge...

Helpful?
Thank Hannahjwright
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

We went to The Street Food Chef after the theatre so in fairness it was late on, in fact we were amongst the last people to be served that day but it was a bit of a shambles. The vibe is lovely as are the staff so I real wanted it to be great but it just wasn't. It took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Quick friendly service. Burritos and a few sides to order from all of them delicious. Not a place for people wanting a posh meal but worth a visit just for a quick burrito. Subway type order system where you order all the parts rather than a set meal.

Helpful?
Thank sapphire81
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a 5* review! I will make sure that everyone sees it - see you again soon! Abi More 

Travellers who viewed The Street Food Chef also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Street Food Chef? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 13
Cuisine
Mexican, Fast food, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 10:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 10:00
Thursday
10:00 - 10:00
Friday
10:00 - 10:00
Saturday
10:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 98 | Arundel Street, Sheffield S1 4RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 7811 953004
Description
The Street Food Chef We love street food - it's fresh, simple, honest. We particularly love Mexican street food, as it's delicious, healthy and packed with flavour!All our salsa and meat marinades are made with fresh ingredients. Our aim is to use locally sourced ingredients, (Moss Valley Fine Meats) we will keep you updated using our website, twitter and facebook.Come and find us at one of our Sheffield City Centre locations or at one of the events we are attending this summer, every bite is packed with punch and will keep you coming back for more! Visit us for a take away at 98 Pinstone Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 5, Sun 12 - 4 Or eat in at our licensed canteen at 90 Arundel Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 10, Sun 12 - 9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Street Food Chef staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?