We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Admiral Rodney

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
592 Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RU, England
+44 114 233 6121
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (16 reviews)
“mini desserts” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
592 Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RU, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2018

This is a very attractive pub in the Loxley Valley. The views across the valley are lovely - try to get a seat near the window. The decor is clean and modern and the coal fires were welcome on a cold day. Six of us...More

Thank HullOwl
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

HullOwl, We really do appreciate the detailed and articulate nature of your review. Your observations are astute and fairly written. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meals during your visit. We agree that the succulent and tender gammon is a great accompaniment to...More

Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Managed to get a seat really quickly and there was a great atmosphere. However ordered the burger and was very disappointed first few mouth fulls were okay but was cold tough and well over cooked! No one visited us to make sure the food was...More

Thank Holly H
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Good evening Holly, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor, following your latest visit to The Admiral Rodney. We regret to hear that your recent experience was anything less than exceptional and not up to the standards we...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018

Visited at lunchtime this week. Only 2 bar staff and girl from bar also only waitress serving meals. Had lunchtime menu, we both had garlic mushroom starter, was tasty but quite watery. Had main course of Yorkshire ham, eggs and chips - came with one...More

Thank mrsfoodiepops
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We take all reviews very seriously at the Admiral Rodney, both positive and constructive ones, and although we are naturally very disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied with your latest experience with us,...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This charming pub never fails to deliver. You are always greeted with a warm welcome, good food and if chilly outside a roaring fire. Dogs and walkers are welcome and the lunch time menu is a winner.More

Thank Claire R
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi Claire, We just wanted to respond to your fantastic review of the Admiral Rodney and say thank you for your kind and positive words. You certainly rate us highly, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We recommend you try our new...More

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

I decided to bring my mum to the Admiral Rodney on her 90th birthday. We were greated with a warm welcome not only from the open fire but the great staff too. Staff were tentative to our needs and made the occasion special for mum....More

Thank SouthYorkshireMark
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Mark, We just wanted to say thank you for leaving us such a positive and personal review. We are very pleased that you chose The Admiral Rodney to celebrate your Mums special birthday, and we are delighted that we helped make it such a happy...More

Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Family meal Saturday evening. Went because they had a January offer on and it was very busy and understaffed. Waiters weren't informed as to what food and beer had run out (about a third of the menu), generally disorganised and took an hour to get...More

Thank gloriousmorning
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Sir/Madam, It is extremely disappointing to read that the level of service you received on your last visit to us was below standard. Indeed, it was a particularly busy evening, and we regret that your party had to wait more than the expected time to...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018

The admiral Rodney is one of the nicer places in this part of the city , nice aspect and nicely decorated which is why it's dissapointing that the service levels are so poor. We waited 75 minutes from order for a main course to arrive...More

Thank daveraynor1
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Mr Raynor, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We take all reviews very seriously, particularly constructive ones. Your comments about our location and décor are very much appreciated. It is incredibly disappointing to read that the service you received...More

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Great food great service, very welcoming will go again No reservation but table found for us on new years dayMore

Thank nicholasdavies
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a very positive Trip Advisor review, along with an impressive 4 star rating! We are delighted to read that you spent your New Years Day with us at the Admiral Rodney, and that you thoroughly...More

Reviewed 29 December 2017

Very slow service - food terrible. I went with my son and husband. My husbands fish was very over done. My sons burger was cold and had to go back, when they brought it back it was dry as old sticks. We have been before...More

Thank Crossstones1
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

It is really disappointing to read that you were dissatisfied with your latest visit to the Admiral Rodney. We regret that service was slow on this particular day, as we always aim to give our guests a prompt and efficient service. We apologise that you...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017

atmosphere good service excellent food poor grill broken they did phone one of us been 4 times local for us food on three visits poor Tom you need help fire great.More

Thank uncalblimp
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hi Uncalblimp. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry that the food on your visit did not meet your expectations. I will feed this back to our kitchen team so we can strive to be better in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 51 hotels in Sheffield
The Garrison Hotel
660 reviews
3.13 km away
Hillsborough Hotel
103 reviews
3.60 km away
Etruria House Hotel
61 reviews
3.82 km away
The Florentine
277 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Reserved Cafe Bistro
42 reviews
1.43 km away
The Crown and Glove
51 reviews
1.50 km away
Rose & Crown
55 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holly Hagg
209 reviews
2.43 km away
Rivelin Valley Nature Trail
288 reviews
1.87 km away
Our Cow Molly Dairy Farm & Ice Cream Shop
386 reviews
2.43 km away
Owlerton Greyhound Stadium
604 reviews
2.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
joanfarrell
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 621Kaz |
Not sure, but found it annoying that you couldn't speak to anyone. Didn't even bother returning my call when I left a message.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 592 Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 233 6121
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing