We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
+44 1865 559653
Website
Today
09:30 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a lovely meal at Portabellos, £7ish for a small salad, £13 for a standard salad. So far so good. The table we were allocated was right under the speaker, so the music was too loud to converse. The waiter moved us, so still all good. I ordered a large glass of NZ Sauvignon Blanc (this was the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited Portabello as a family party of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers) for an early mid-week supper as a treat and we weren't disappointed. The service we received was excellent - really friendly. We were warmly welcomed and given an excellent table by the patio doors so we could watch the world go by! The menu was varied... More 

Helpful?
Thank rhona64
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed both our food and service. As you mentioned we are the perfect mid week early supper and we very much look forward to preparing and serving you another diner in the near future. Until then thank you again.... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a table early to avoid lunchtime rush and got there 12.15. We were dealt with straight away and got very nicely made fresh tasty food with a very good selection - this is a reliable reasonably priced venue. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank gullandemp0rium
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We certainly look forward to seeing you again for another freshly prepared meal. Kind regards, More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used to be regulars here but for some reason haven't been for a while. Such a shame as I don't think we will be going back again for a LONG time. My partner and daughter went for a treat as she had passed an exam. I realise it was a busy Saturday night with a large function going on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pinky36Oxford
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and comments. I am so very sorry that you had such a terrible experience with us. We have been going through some staff transition. I assure you that is not common practice here and we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that we continue to give good service and value that we are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Known Portabello for past 10 years and hadn't visited for past 2 years. Therefore, the lunch was very disappointing. Ordered triple cooked chips with a Portabello burger which ended up tasting like re-fried chips, not hot, fluffy and crisp on the outside. Instead, they were like cardboard. Fish and chips were alright with only one piece of fish being crisp... More 

Helpful?
Thank FPhang
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Oh my god!!! I am very sorry to read this as the fish and chips is one of our best selling dishes. I have already passed your comments to the kitchen and i am ivestigating into why your experience was not up to standard. In future please inform us if you are disatisfied with anything so we can rectify it... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Today's visit to Portabello was a relaxed lunch before an afternoon wandering around Oxford, we were in no hurry and were looking forward to a relaxed enjoyable lunch away from the cold and snow outside. The most enjoyable aspect of today's visit was the food, it was truly very good, the quality of the ingredients was very high, the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ziggyuk
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. And I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry about your table, we do try our utmost to give the best table to our dinners, do not hestitate next time to ask to be moved to a different table. We will accommodate. We look forward to seeing you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I've rated this as average as we had a nice experience here on a quiet Monday evening, but I've rated it based on value too. We both had steak & chips and a bottle of Rioja along with a couple of cocktails in happy hour...good food well cooked and a nice wine. Service was average based on fact there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank AngloItalian78
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

I have been several times and all the expectations are always met. The food is great. I'd like to suggest Ribeye but the burgers are good as well. We get usually a nice services.

Helpful?
Thank Antonio C
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you Antonio, very good of you to write a little review. And we very much look forward to serving you again. kind regards, More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere with a great menu selection. Very tasty food and great prosecco. Service is well informed and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank penb1
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much we do our very best to please. Kind regards, More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

Went for Sunday lunch with my family, the choice on the menu catered for a variety of tastes. My mum had the roast and the portion was impressive, I had the chicken burger which was succulent and the hand cooked chips were a big hit with the entire table. My daughter had the pasta, although she was a bit messy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank kate_good
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you Miss Good for your very generous review. The team here are very happy that you had a great meal with us. We very much look forward to serving you again. kind regards, More 

Travellers who viewed Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 50
Cuisine
European, British, Grill, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 22:30
Monday
09:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 22:30
Thursday
09:30 - 22:30
Friday
09:30 - 22:30
Saturday
09:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 559653
Description
A chic, cosmopolitan British restaurant bar and grill open from 9:30am all day every day serving great steak, fish dishes, classic burgers and more. Our menus change regularly with the season with our fixed price lunch menu changing weekly. We serve freshly prepared food with great British flavours in casual and relaxed surroundings. You'll find us in South Parade, a gorgeous little side road in Summertown, amongst trendy boutiques, galleries, wine bars and the North Wall Theatre. Come along for 'the best breakfast in town' from 9:30am 7 days a week and on Sundays come and enjoy a great selection of traditional roasts and superb sharing plates. Join us for Happy hour every week daily from 5:00pm to 7pm when all cocktails and champagne are £5! Let us treat you to a great fixed price menu available lunchtimes Monday to Friday - just £10.95 For two courses and £13.95 For three courses. Our children's menu is available every day and we have child friendly facilities. We can cater for parties of up to 100 guests with menus to suit. An impressive upstairs private dining area is available for all of your special occasions. Guests also benefit from our restaurant car park. Feel free to drop in for a glass of wine, coffee or a sweet treat at the bar or on the terrace. Reservations are welcome for anytime.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?