We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turl Street Kitchen

16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
+44 1865 264171
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“plaice” (23 reviews)
“pork chop” (10 reviews)
“potatoes” (36 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was here 4 years ago but the place looks the same. Food was surprisingly not salty unlike many other restaurants in UK. Suit my taste buds. Serving is good size.

Thank SKC9318
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks, we're glad you enjoyed your food! - TSK team

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been many times over the years and recently found the service to be unforgivably slow and unapologetically rude. after waiting over 30minutes for 2 coffees and asking many times why a coffee in a cafe would take so long we finished our drinks and...More

6  Thank madiwalsh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went today for lunch. Nicely busy, but not overly so and we were seated quickly. That was the last time we interacted with a staff member. We waited and waited, then began to look around. No staff. Then one appeared and took an order from...More

2  Thank PickyCathy
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience. In order for us to look further into this, please could you email book@turlstreetkitchen.co.uk pasting this review into the email and letting us know what day and time you visited the restaurant. Thank you, TSK team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a joyless, unfriendly place this is! We were quickly seated... and then TOTALLY ignored. Not even asked if we wanted a glass of water. After about 15 minutes they started clearing tables next to us, but still ignored us. Finally we stood up to...More

1  Thank Kim W
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience. In order for us to look further into this, please could you email book@turlstreetkitchen.co.uk pasting this review into the email and letting us know what day and time you visited the restaurant. Thank you, TSK team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We entered the restaraunt, waited a few moments before we were greeted awkwardly by a member of staff who literally just stared at us. I asked for a table for two and she perked up and said to sit anywhere we'd like. We seated ourself...More

2  Thank Hannah D
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience. In order for us to look further into this, please could you email book@turlstreetkitchen.co.uk pasting this review into the email and letting us know what day and time you visited the restaurant. Thank you, TSK team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited after a sweltering bank holiday The air conditioner was on and the staff friendly The food was fresh and tasty with plenty of vegetarian I had beetroot and avacadio carpaccio and lamb shoulder Our favourite place to eat in Oxford and will visit soon

Thank OddsFamily
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review ! We're thrilled you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. -TSK team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The breakfast here is really good. In particular the Avocado toast and the salmon & eggs on the sourdough bread are fantastic. In combination with great coffee this makes any day start on a high.

Thank Karsten F
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review, we've just updated our menu so great to know it's off to a strong start! Come back soon! TSK team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first discovered Turl Street Kitchen 2 years ago and regularly enjoyed the good coffee, service and breakfast. Regrettably over the past year things have been deteriorating and today's experience was the final straw. Problems: 1. Quality of service is substandard. Having been told at...More

1  Thank Puton-your_flipflops
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such potential in terms of space and vibe and philosophy. Some how it didn’t have the magic we were hoping for. Poor coffee, average food and service... we thought it would be contemporary and on point; but it wasn’t. Which is s great pity.More

Thank Matvl
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. We've just updated our menu and have had some new staff join the team so you may be caught us on a training shift. Sorry if this affected your experience and hopefully you can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The venue is pretty amazing and it feels good to be eating there but the service was poor (slow, and the staff didn't seem to care - very indifferent to everything). The food was OK, but a bit dry. The restaurant is either overselling itself,...More

1  Thank Al G
TSKTeam, Community Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. We've had some new staff join the team recently so you may have got us on a training shift. We've just updated and changed our menu so do come back and check it out!...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Oxford
Vanbrugh House Hotel
804 reviews
.24 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3,445 reviews
.25 km away
Bath Place Hotel
301 reviews
.27 km away
Victoria House Hotel
164 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pieminister
288 reviews
.12 km away
Original Hassan's
111 reviews
.04 km away
No.1 Ship Street
142 reviews
.11 km away
The White Horse
562 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Trinity College
236 reviews
.09 km away
Exeter College
106 reviews
.03 km away
Museum of the History of Science
508 reviews
.09 km away
Oxford Visitor Information Centre
231 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Turl Street Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 40
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 264171
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;