We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ugly Bread Bakery

39 Pelham Street, Nottingham NG1 2EA, England
+44 7951 886944
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (33 reviews)
“pizza” (81 reviews)
“bread” (49 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
39 Pelham Street, Nottingham NG1 2EA, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate lunch there - food actually tasted quite nice, but the overall experience wasn’t great. Restaurant was sweltering - we sat between three floor-standing fans on full blast. The bread was hard, knives were blunt, and tables wobbly - my tea was sloshing everywhere trying...More

Thank Profbuells
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Su and I walk past this place thrice and the name was pretty catchy. When we got in we were fascinated by the amount of thought that’s been invested on the sourdough sandwiches and the pizza categories. We ordered a Parma, chicken and chorizo pizza...More

Thank Rafee8391
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

I love going for a daily coffee here. I wish they were open at night! That’s the only reason why I have knocked a star off but I do joke to staff about this. The only food I have tried is the mezzalunas which taste...More

Thank STEVEAIAS
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Came to ugly bread bakery in hockley and just enjoyed two amazing salads with a friend. He had the salmon salad and it was beautiful and such a generous portion ,We cleaned the plates. The staff are very friendly and attentive. We actually went to...More

Thank k_tang88
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Visited today for breakfast as we had seen the place the last time we were in town. It had to be the worst poached eggs we had ever had. The toast wasn’t toasted and the orange cake really dry but the coffee was nice. Only...More

Thank trvada
Jadeubb, Owner at The Ugly Bread Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience and would always change food if told at the time. Please email us for more details about your experience so we can look into the matter. uglybreadbakery@outlook.com

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite before heading back to work. Despite coming 30 minutes before they closed, owner Jade was more than happy to sort food for me and chat about the place. Super interesting, great food, wonderful for veggies and vegans and anyone...More

Thank bbcblue
Jadeubb, Owner at The Ugly Bread Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you! That’s very kind of you and always nice to meet a new customer and a fellow neighbour in the area!

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

They had a variety of sandwiches and pizzas . The coffee was nice as well , however the fruit juice was not tasty. Nice view from the 1st floor . A little bit overpriced.

1  Thank Ahmed K
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Love it here. Very authentic and delicious pizzas. There's a nice seating area upstairs overlookimg the street. Coffee made properly and staff/owners really friendly. They also do a great student offer which my partner took advantage of. Well priced. Will return!

Thank 94Rach
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

The base of the pizza was pre- cooked so the topping doesn’t stay on, it slides off. There was too much tomato sauce, it was very disappointing since everything inside looks delicious.More

1  Thank isaywhatisee
Jadeubb, Owner at The Ugly Bread Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hello We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience. The pizzas arent pre cooked but we use a ready made base that we make our self by hand. Please can you email us uglybreadbakery@outlook.com to give us more information such as what venue you visited...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

I regularly go to Ugly Bread Bakery for a tasty Mezzaluna, sweet treat or coffee. The food is fresh and tasty and the staff and very friendly and helpful. The food is very good value and always made to include exactly what you want. Great...More

Thank Emma R
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 hotels in Nottingham
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
1,279 reviews
.05 km away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
1,361 reviews
.09 km away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
446 reviews
.28 km away
Hilton Nottingham
2,498 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dino's
269 reviews
.03 km away
WIRED Cafe Bar
201 reviews
.03 km away
The Hockley Arts Club
452 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nottingham Arts Theatre
8 reviews
.12 km away
Six Barrel Drafthouse
37 reviews
.03 km away
DINO Cafe and Wine Bar
38 reviews
.03 km away
Be At One Cocktail Bar
142 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wowmarie
26 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Natalie P | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure on this one x
0
Votes
wowmarie
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jadeubb | Property representative |
Hello We now serve a 12'' gluten free pizza. Please remember this pizza will be prepared in the same environment as our other pizzas
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 11
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 39 Pelham Street, Nottingham NG1 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham
  • Phone Number: +44 7951 886944
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing