We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Hopgrove

#277 of 705 Restaurants in York}
, British,
Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
+44 1904 424542
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (21 reviews)
“pork” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We went to try out the Yorkshire pudding wraps, we were disappointed to learn that the Yorkshire pudding had to be served cold because it had been cooked earlier and could not be reheated, it is ironic that within the hour of e as ting...More

Thank Jan C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'd love to give a review but we were on holiday at the nearby York caravan park and we were told we couldn't go in with our dog. She's very small and well behaved. We ate out every night but took our business elsewhere. Shame...More

Thank Claire P
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Claire P thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a carvery as staying at caravan park nearby. Booked as it stated busy. Was very busy so glad I had booked. Lovely food on carvery. Good service and selection of drinks. Shown to our table by a very pleasant member of the staff....More

Thank Christine F
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Christine F, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Hopgrove. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Could not find much wrong with this particular place and just about ticked the boxes for what was expected from a Toby carvery. The greeting and the staff was great with the self help carvery seemingly well stocked with queuing minimal. A pleasing experience,good value...More

Thank JohneMK
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Johnemk, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called for breakfast on the way to our holiday destination. We arrived at 10.40. Not knowing breakfast finished at 11.00. The buffet did not have much food left. There were no cereals or juice. The bread and toaster were taken away just after 11.00....More

Thank jew2209
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jew2209, we regret to hear that your recent experience was anything less than exceptional.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oct 29th turn up for breakfast at 9:10 am, prompt service at the till getting paid etc, and then it goes wrong! The coffee station was batterered, there was no milk, the coffee was a tea sort of colour and tasted vile and dreggy, threw...More

Thank Sparkydj
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sparkydj, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent carvery, choice of 4 meats, all if you want them, nicely cooked and presented, lovely choice of vegetables, all piping hot as were the choice of gravys. Pleasant staff and clean location and very reasonable at £6.49 per person. Very busy on Sundays.

Thank glynlloyd
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Glynlloyd, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Hopgrove. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Called in on our way home from Scarborough. Not sure quite how to begin here goes. This was the worst meal I’ve ever had at a Toby, didn’t go well from walking through the doors. Kept waiting to be seated for ages no staff about...More

Thank waimara
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Waimara, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Went to the Toby last night, not been for a while but was so disappointed, the choice of veg was dismal and only lukewarm,but what was more disturbing was the fact that everything was so messy the serving area for the meat and veg looked...More

Thank truechat
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, it's upsetting to hear that your experience was anything but stellar.

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We were staying in the Holiday Inn express next door so decided to visit for our sunday lunch. It was incredibly busy and we had to wait 20 minutes for a table, which we didn't mind as we hadn't booked. When we got our table...More

Thank Kath1722
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Kath, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nando's - York Vangarde
123 reviews
1.48 km away
Frankie and Benny's
125 reviews
1.46 km away
McDonald's
7 reviews
1.14 km away
Pear Tree Farm
772 reviews
1.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Breezy Knees Gardens
292 reviews
3.50 km away
Piglets Adventure Farm
502 reviews
3.80 km away
Yorkshire Museum of Farming
118 reviews
3.07 km away
Beetle Bank Open Farm
35 reviews
1.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jon M
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Clairemills02 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, best to phone ahead and check if they have the boxes in
0
Votes
carolyn b
27 October 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for getting in touch. Our Sunday carvery is priced at £8.99.
0
Votes
carolyn b
27 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Elaine M | Reviewed this property |
Don't do it!!!!!
1
Vote

Recently Reviewed Hotels around York

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 424542
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing