We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wiltons

₹₹₹₹
Neighbourhood:
St. James's
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
55 Jermyn Street | St James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
+44 20 7629 9955
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
Mon - Sat 17:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 516: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was hoping for something special but was left feeling disappointed. The blue cheese souffle was exceptional but from that point it went down hill. The aged serloin steak and frozen chips was a big disappointment.For dessert I had apple crumble with vanilla custard,the apple was under cooked and the custard cold and tasteless.Needless to say I will not be returning

Helpful?
1 Thank toothslayer61
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to UK & traveled through Europe for months, the dinner was the best dinner I've had in months, yes, it was expensive but worth every penny - The food was delicious and the staff impeccable - how did we not know this place existed? ♡ We loved it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear Diane R Thank you for your kind review, we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. Now you have discovered us we hope that you will return in the near future. More 

Cheyenne, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading all the reviews about Wilton's Restaurant we thought we were in for an outstanding culinary experience. WRONG. Nothing could be further from the truth. Upon arrival, a manager stood blocking the coat check having a tete a tete with perhaps a customer whilst those of us who were trying to arrive stood out in the cold. Once inside... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rossiter W L
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear Rossiter W L, Thank you for your review, although we were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit. We pride ourselves on our customer service, but it would appear we have taken our eye off the ball on this occasion. The roast of the day from the carving trolley is very popular, however... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

Great quality service with style,the drinks/wine and food we ordered for lunch was very good the ambiance is excellent it's a bit like going back in time but for all the right reasons the place has a certain old world style which is fun - worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Howard G
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear Howard G, It is a pleasure to see that you had such an enjoyable experience when dining here. We like to think of ourselves as an oasis of stability in a desert of change. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again soon. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here last weekend. The food was good, basic and delicious with good old fashioned impeccable service. Had the smoked salmon, lamb cutlets and the ice creams were wonderful The other plus with Wilton's is that the noise level was at a minimum - even though the restaurant was full - so that we could all... More 

Helpful?
Thank C L
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear C L, Thank you for your review. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your dinner here so thoroughly. The ice creams that you mention are all hand made in house, using the finest quality ingredients. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Really great service and food. Definitely will be back. Reminder of what service is all about. Haven on a rainy windy night.

Helpful?
Thank Gladys M
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear Gladys M, What a pleasure to be seen as a haven for our guests when the weather is so miserable outside. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, where we are delighted to look after you no matter the weather. More 

Uzes, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Wilton is,in a non-exclusive way,a bit like one of the clubs around the corner:comfortable,pleasantly old fashioned,discreet,more welcoming perhaps.The food is excellent,and now also featuring a set menu,making it a little less extreme in terms of prices.Discreet service.

Helpful?
Thank drullputt
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear drullputt, Thank you for taking the time to review Wiltons. It is a pleasure to see that our discreet service and old fashioned ambiance has such an appeal for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again in the near future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

A wonderful venue steeped in history. Beautifully fitted, spacious, with the benefit of dining in booths, at the bar or table seating. Superb service, excellent knowledge of the menu and wines. Unfortunately we only had 2 courses. The oysters were the finest I have eaten and the halibut perfectly cooked. Excellent coffees. I highly highly recommend and very much look... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cococurley200714
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear Cococurley200714, Its is a pleasure to read that your dining experience here at Wiltons was such a wonderful one. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

I chose the beef wellington which came out on a silver tray. When the server cut into it, our waitress did not think that the meat was pink enough so sent the wellington back. A short while later they brought out Another whole beef wellington - this one was beautifully pink, and tasted delicious. Outstanding service and attention to detail.

Helpful?
Thank AliPally186338
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear AliPally186338, We were very pleased to read that your waitress paid such attention to detail and that you truly enjoyed your beef Wellington. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again in the near future. More 

south africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

Really one of the few old established restaurants in London in these days of rush and crush this one stands out for its ambience food table settings ,and attention to detail.i have been before and will continue to frequent it again ,because it's so hard to find restaurants of this quality.comprehensive menu ,and wine list I cannot rate it highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank michaelhilton
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review

Dear michaelhilton, We are delighted to read that you think so highly of us as well as being ever grateful for your continued patronage of Wiltons. We look forward to welcoming you back for more seasonal offerings in the near future. More 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 44 - US$ 187
Cuisine
Seafood, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 22:30
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Jermyn Street | St James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > St. James's
  • Neighbourhood: St. James's
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7629 9955
Description
Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wiltons and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Houston, United Kingdom
New York
over a year ago
Houston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wiltons staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood