We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,260 of 17,408 Restaurants in London
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$32 - $75
CUISINES
Grill, Healthy, Indian, Asian

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

London’s oldest surviving Indian restaurant may have opened in 1926 but it’s always full of life – as soon as you get out of the lift, you become aware...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
1,929 results
Traveller rating
1,051
478
194
92
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,051
478
194
92
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple curry naan rogan josh vindaloo lamb shank crab cakes curries tasting menu prawns kebab sea bass regent street indian restaurant chutney mary best indian special occasion michelin star
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was prepared well and very tasty, but there wasn’t anything that blew us away and justified the very high price. Our meal was extremely expensive and there wasn’t anything that differentiated it from a meal that you might get at another restaurant. It...felt like the restaurant was holding on to it’s glory days of the past. In many ways it felt tired. It was just OK. Not worth the money.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Preman M, General Manager at Veeraswamy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review. We are deeply sorry to learn of your disappointment. Our menu has a section of traditional dishes and some unusual dishes, which you may not find in many restaurants. Your group of 4 guests shared all your meal...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time I’ve eaten there is the evening. Much busier. But service and quality of food remained consistent. Well worth 1* michelin rating. Very pleasant ambience . Service top class. My favourite Indian restaurant in London.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

Fine restaurant , but the Michelin star has sadly removed the originality of this restaurant. In the past the atmosphere , smell, interior and dishes was more traditional, like tandoori and Tikka masala, naan bread , these traditional dishes are now gone to be changed...with something new and for me to fancy versions of the Indian kitchen. Notting wrong with the food, but what happens to the traditional dishes they had 5-10 years ago. Missed also Indian beer to the food, they didn’t provide this anymore. The dresscode policy is sadly not enforced at this restaurant , come as you are. Nice restaurant, but to fancy and unpersonal for me.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Preman M, General Manager at Veeraswamy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Peder Thank you for your feedback. The Veeraswamy that you refer to is of decades past. The restaurant today is set in plush setting and is in keeping with historical past with regal interiors. Veeraswamy now show cases Indian cuisine of the highest quality...More

Reviewed 11 August 2022

Booked a table to visit here and checked the dress code. As it was going to be one of the hottest days of the year we wanted to see if we could where shorts, the website stated "no torn shorts” great, we'll dress smart in...tailored shorts. We arrived on time and joined a small queue, where then greeted by the doorman who let us in and then joined the queue for the lift, aster a few minutes waiting we got in the lift... This is when the doorman shouted at us that we can't go in as we had shorts on (No idea how he had not seem this already). We politely informed him of what it said on their website "no torn shorts". Only for him to tell us we were wrong and that the rule is "No Shorts". We are promptly ask to leave as we would not be aloud in the restaurant. I noted that the next day the website had been updated to state "Tailored shorts are acceptable until 30th August.” I wouldn't trust this as thats what we were wearing! We've been eating in top restaurant for years and we've never been treated like this. I would recommend people avoid eating her until they sort out their customer service. For a MICHELIN star restaurant, I'd expect this to be top notch but this was just laughable.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Preman M, General Manager at Veeraswamy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your feedback, which we were most concerned to read. We apologise deeply for the inconvenience caused. We have investigated the complaint and accept there were failings on our part. We have put measures in place to minimise this repeating in...More

Reviewed 11 August 2022 via mobile

So I can’t actually review the restaurant only the doorman and his attitude My brother and I have not seen each other for a very long time so planned a special evening at this restaurant. As it was a very hot day we both planned...to wear shorts but knowing that the restaurant had a dress code we checked first . The only reference to shorts is that they must not be ripped shorts . We were both wearing smart tailored shorts . We spoke to the doorman about our booking who let us in we then got into the lift but before we could close the doors he told us we are not allowed in as we are wearing shorts ? We questioned this and the advice on the website but he was adamant we were not going in . My brother and I are both very disappointed and the doorman’s attitude to us was very poor . If this is the policy then clearer advice needs to be put on the website especially when it’s over 30 degrees outside!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Preman M, General Manager at Veeraswamy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your feedback, which we were most concerned to read. We apologise deeply for the inconvenience caused. We have investigated the complaint and accept there were failings on our part. We have put measures in place to minimise this repeating in...More

Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

This was a special family reunion across two families friends living in different continents. There were seven of us. It was a brilliant experience on the eve of two upcoming g birthdays this week. Attentive waiters, courteous manager, sumptuous tasty food with great attention to...detail while allowing time to chat, relax and catch up without waiters too distant or literally too close. I could not fault any dish— the lamb shank, fish and prawn, chicken, biryani, daal and the vegetables— chorchori, daal and jeera aloo were excellent. An outstanding memorable meal at a top restaurant which was better than meals at so many Michelin* restaurants. The default great Indian food experience is owned by “ Veeraswamy”.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2022

I enquired about booking a private dining room for a lunch for my and my partner's family. I hadn't asked about a nut allergy, but without even me asking their standard reply said they don't cater to nut allergy sufferers at all. This was disappointing,...and even infuriating. No indian restaurant we have been to has ever turned my partner (who is allergic to nuts) away even though nuts are integral to indian cuisine. All of them make an effort to at least make one nut free dish. Even casual cafes make an effort. Let alone a place that's supposedly fine dining. We have been turned away a handful of times before, usually random deliveroo eateries that can't be bothered to make an effort. For an allergy sufferer, meals are hard enough as it is. To be turned away when hungry is a gut wrenching experience. I wasn't going to leave a review at first because I emailed them and wanted to see their response. Then I checked this site and saw the pretty audacious replies they gave to other nut allergy sufferers - putting the blame on them, making them feel bad for expecting to be catered to. I'm sure the response to my review will be something similar. Just a complete lack of empathy. Hence I decided to leave this review as I hope this prevents other allergy sufferers, and others who don't feel this is right, from eating here.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Preman M, General Manager at Veeraswamy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Thank you for your feedback. Incidentally, your email, to which I have responded, only arrived after you have posted this review. I have reproduced the same response below. Our blanket nut policy is applicable only to Peanuts and not to other nuts. I would like...More

Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

Without doubt this has got to be the tastiest meal we have ever bought. The service was impeccable, the setting on Regent's Street is amazing, but most of all the food was just the tastiest, freshest, well cooked meal you could eat. By no means...was this a cheap meal, but for a special occasion it's was worth the every penny. Will certainly be looking forward to eating here again.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

Classic fine dining with regalia of the Maharaja in central London. Awesome interiors compliment the best in class service and tasty food served with a smile. The rice and chettinad vegetable korma were Awesome so were the Paneer and Lamb chops. Highly recommend if you...are in that part of the town. Advance reservations are a must and proper dress code.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 July 2022 via mobile

A nice meal but not great value. A warm welcome, good cocktails and a nice table overlooking Regent st. Evident that the dress code etc is a load of nonsense with quite a few people in t shirts and trainers - no problem with that...but why have a dress code anyway? 2/3 starters were really good - a memorable spinach was the best course of the day. Delicious soft Chicken Samosas. Scallops were very small and drowned a bit by unsubtle spicing- Rogan Josh and Biryani were fine - very spicy, Nan bread fine but couldn’t separate from a really good Indian restaurant on the high street. Sorbet to finish completely forgettable and indistinguishable from any good brand from the supermarket. Overall it felt like bar 2 of the starters they just went through the motions producing ok food with little creativity or invention. Food 4/5 ; service became more absent as meal went on 4/5 ; value expensive given the quality of food and service at £90 plus a head with wine and drinks. 2/5 If I could give 3.5/5 then I would. Good to visit for the history and a tasty meal but don’t expect a top end experience. Overall the cost let’s it down a bit.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2022 via mobile

One of the best Indian restaurant visited lately. Excellent food, great ambience, top notch service. Big shout out to their manager Karthik for making our visit memorable.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2022 via mobile

If you use TripAdvisor to gain an insight on a restaurant before you book, then this is the review you want to read! Quite simply ignore the novelty that this restaurant is the oldest Indian restaurant in the UK, and concentrate on just how good...the food is in this establishment. It has a Michelin star for a reason. Okay, with its prime location overlooking Regent Street, then you’re going to expect that this place is not cheap. If it’s going to be an expensive experience then you want the food to be cooked not only perfectly, but with curiosity and tantalising your taste buds in ways that your local curry house would not provide. I can categorically confirm that this delightful restaurant packs a punch flavour with every mouthful. And with unique concoctions or aromas and taste. What we loved was the fact that everything had a different taste, and with fresh cooking, you can tell a lot of love and enthusiasm was sort for perfection in every dish. We had a large table and decided to order plenty of options to share with starters including samosas, chicken tikka, momas, scallops and griddled lamb. But the highlight was certainly the chaat which was presented in an eclectic format to normal, and the absolutely perfectly cooked juicy tiger prawns in this coriander, lime and chilli marinade that is worth returning for on its own. We were of course very excited about the mains, including chicken makhani, rogan Josh, duck vindaloo, daal, and highly imaginable crab biryani. However the stars of the show was the lamb shank served in filo pastry, the heavenly lamb chops that were fleshy and melted in your mouth, but the turbot was something I’ve never had and the king of sea was mouthwatering and very eclectic. This was a showcase of passion, taste and understanding flavours. Not every curry should be the same, and it was a privilege to dine here. Fabulous.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Hidden away on the arch from Regents Street into Swallow street. Blink and you miss it. Had the Traditional “set menu” with a few Extras added in. Fantastic meal. A proper high end Indian restaurant. Not fancy like Benares (which is also good) but more...traditional. Not a massive menu, 5-6 main dishes. But beautiful well cooked food from all over India. Biryanis, Lamb Rogan Josh and Chicken Makanhi. Fantastic attentive service. Thoroughly recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 July 2022 via mobile

Haven’t been here in 35 years but it’s exactly what I remember (in all positive ways). The food remains very simple, very very good, and the staff and the environment compliment it perfectly. Much the best, most approachable Indian food around. Love this place all...over again.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

I would leave zero stars if I could. The food is mediocre for the price and to make it even worse it is not even close to authentic. You should not call yourself an Indian restaurant. The vibe, music, and food feels ridiculously whitewashed. The...sever Tanya was so unkept and scruffy, clumsy as spilled food everywhere and kept banging into the chairs. She must of been on some commission for the wine because was trying to force my wife to buy some for over 10 mins. My wife is pregnant so kept declining but was wholly kept pushed to drink some wine by Tanya. We had a special occasion and the restaurant was literally empty and first option was a table in a corridor. But was moved after I was insistent. Overall avoid and how does it have a Michelin star, I think the judges must of drank too much of Tanya wine. One of the worst experiences, food below average and very poor service overall.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Preman M, General Manager at Veeraswamy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2022

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review, which we are most concerned to read. You have already shared your feedback with us via our normal feedback channel and we have responded to you. I reproduce below the response: You have raised several issues. With all...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to
world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed
thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of
London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is
haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is
vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic
streets will reveal that Michelin stars and
chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Cafe Royal
2,260 reviews
.11 km away
The Dilly
3,539 reviews
.13 km away
Karma Sanctum Soho
1,040 reviews
.18 km away
The Cavendish London
4,992 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gaucho Piccadilly
4,572 reviews
.03 km away
Bentley's Oyster Bar & Grill
2,199 reviews
.06 km away
FishWorks
1,121 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St James's Church
154 reviews
.13 km away
3 Savile Row
44 reviews
.14 km away
Our Lady of the Assumption and Saint Gregory
6 reviews
.13 km away
Aquascutum
16 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
897khalids
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Preman M | Property representative |
In relation to Veeraswamy, there are restrictions on Children, out of consideration to the other guests. High chairs are not available and we regret that we are unable to accommodate prams and push chairs. For Lunch Monday... More
0
Votes
Felixmonster
25 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Poppysixty | Reviewed this property |
Have no idea suggest you go onto website or phone restaurant.
0
Votes
TibiSam
3 November 2016|
Answer
Response from nafade | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes the same menu, piece of art dishes,expensive of course,enjoy it.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

VEERASWAMY, London - Mayfair - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Veeraswamy

Veeraswamy is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5