We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Savoy Grill

#418 of 17,567 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Neighbourhood:
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
91 Strand | The Savoy Hotel, London WC2R 0EU, England
+44 20 7420 2065
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,841 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,589: English reviews
Chichester, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

It has taken me a couple of weeks to decide just how to review the Savoy Grill as the restaurant experience was excellent, but the hotel let it down greatly. We arrived early, in time to enjoy drinks in the Beaufort bar before dinner. The hotel would not accept a reservation, even if we pre-ordered our champagne so we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChilliChef
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Husband bought me the voucher for my birthday and after originally booking in may we had to re book several times eventually going today, the voucher included 3 courses and a glass of champagne. We were presented with a bill at the end for £30 which included water (fair enough) but also charged us because we had eaten off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harbour87
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying within the hotel, we decided to try the Savoy Grill for dinner. We were hoping and expecting something great, but left feeling somewhat disappointed. The atmosphere, decor, service and ambience are absolutely perfect, but I visit restaurant primarily for their food, and this, unfortunately, was their downfall. We weren't particularly hungry, so opted for the two course set menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear James B, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambience, the service and also your starters and the turkey. However, I am sad to see that you've rated us only 3 stars because you were not satisfied with the roasted potatoes and moreover to understand that you did not mention anything on the day of your visit... More 

Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Anotrher Gordon Ramsey creation-- very good food---my only complaint was that they do not warn you in advance and charge you for bread & butter---are you kidding...I thought perhaps this had become routine in London but in fact, it is not---felt bad about it---initially was told they could take it off but(again) thought at the time it was standard....bad practice... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear John S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food. Thank you also for your point which I will make sure that it will be discussed with our management team. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, TS More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

So let me start with the bad to finish on the sweet as sweet as the pudding and excellent service. I had a business meeting planned to be in the American bar with customers. However the Savoy had taken the decision to close their venue for two days including most bars and restaurants HP must have spent a fortune to... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulDRSouthampton
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear PaulDRSouthampton, Thank you for your lovely review and we really appreciate your comments. We are delighted to know that you were very pleased with the overall experience even though the Hotel facilities were closed for a special event. We are very pleased to know that you are a returning customers and as regular we value your feedback so much.... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Before you even eat at the Grill you can start to sense the quality by the way your booking is taken and the care taken beforehand to check that the meal arrangements are just as you wish them to be. The reception area at The Savoy is very plush with lots of marble and in December a beautifully decorated Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Syd_The_Sloth
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear Syd_The_Sloth, Thank you for your outstanding review. Your excellent comments really make all our hard work so worthwhile. Our team is so passionate about what we do and I am sure that they will be more than happy to read your comments. We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed the whole dining experience so much and that's... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Inept service, cold food and guests rolling drunk in the restaurant. Arrived at 6pm, bars heaving and pushed into a corner table. In the restaurant at 7pm, other diners completely drunk. No need to dress up, Everyone in jeans and trainers. The starter was good smoked salmon. Then the waiter started to set the table for pudding !!!! We reminded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luckysquirrel4
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear Luckysquirrel4, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your dining experience was disappointing. Please accept our apologies and please be reassured that your comments have been discussed with our management team. Kind regards, TS More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We was so disappointed with our meal, I ordered the fish pie, I couldn't tell what fish it was or even if there was fish in it. Absolutely no sauce just a monumental amount of potato, I wouldn't have minded if it had been a nice fluffy and creamy mash, but sadly it was tasteless and dry. My husband ordered... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nickymaxine
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear Nickymaxine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service though. However, we are extremely sorry to know that the food let you down so much, and we wish that we could have done more for you on the day of your visit and replace immediately whatever was... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Pricey, crowded, noisy. The steaks were undercooked and expensive. Had to ask three times for a glass of champagne. The Savoy is a magnificent building, wonderfully appointed, go for the experience of seeing the architecture and location generally. Convenient if going to the theatre.

Helpful?
1 Thank Razzle D
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear Razzle D, We are extremely sorry to hear about your dining experience. I can guarantee you that your recent experience does not reflect our high standards of food and service. We take our customers feedback very seriously in order to improve daily our customer service and always try to deliver the most memorable dining experience and please accept our... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Too long waiting time before asked for the meny. Ordered the tasting meny. Did not look very inspiring. Steaks were overcooked and were returned to the kitchen. The staff were in this matter very proffsional.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jens S
GRG R, General Manager at The Savoy Grill, responded to this review

Dear Jens S, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Although we are pleased that in this occasion you found the service to be professional, we are sorry to hear that the food was disappointing. Our Tasting menus is very popular amongst our customers and we are sad to read that you found your steaks to be overcooked and... More 

Travellers who viewed The Savoy Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Savoy Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 101
Cuisine
French, European, British, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91 Strand | The Savoy Hotel, London WC2R 0EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
  • Neighbourhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7420 2065
Description
A fine Gordon Ramsay restaurant, The Savoy Grill offers a superb blend of classical French and British cuisine. Elegant and sophisticated, The Savoy Grill has a glamorous feel, with magnificent chandelier light fittings and exquisite décor. With stylish Art Deco design, The Savoy Grill has a striking rich red and black colour scheme and elegantly dressed booth tables. The Savoy Grill restaurant features an elegant private dining room with picturesque views over the Savoy courtyard and fountain, and there is also a chef's table with vibrant views of the glass panelled kitchen. Sumptuous dishes on the Savoy Grill menu include baked Hereford snails with parsley root purée, baked Orkney scallops with steamed leeks and shrimp butter or braised English hare with roasted saddle and buttered spätzle. The impressive wine list features a range of fine bottles. The Savoy Grill is an elegant fine dining restaurant in the heart of London. Charing Cross Rail Station is within easy reach.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Savoy Grill and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Savoy Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Trafalgar Square / Embankment

Neighbourhood Profile
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
With its iconic Nelson’s Column, majestic oversized lions and brightly-lit fountains, Trafalgar Square is not just considered the heart of this bustling London hub, but the very core of the city itself. Beyond this esteemed gathering place are more famous icons, as well as a disproportionate numbers of the city’s most popular cultural attractions including the National Gallery and many West End theaters. Along the way to these major sites are quiet lanes and antiquated pubs to discover, as well as riverside vistas to enjoy on the embankment. With a calendar full of celebratory events, any time of year is a fine time to visit.
Explore this neighbourhood