We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

#2,525 of 15,190 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Chinese
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (7,298)
Filter reviews
6,887 results
Traveller rating
3,550
1,546
894
484
413
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
3,550
1,546
894
484
413
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck dim sum soft shell crab dumplings cuttlefish chilli prawns pancakes spring rolls tasting menu fries red lantern window table chinese food special occasion set menu birthday lunch
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Stunning view of London on a beautiful sunny day. Food was fantastic, colourful dim sum presentation and scrumptious roast duck. We wrote of wishes on red tags and hang them on a tree which located in the center of restaurant. Not to mention, warm welcome...service from Michaela and Francesco. Francesco has excellent photography skills! Some great photos taken. Souvenirs of a very happy memorable lunch!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 days ago

If you are gluten free do not go to this venue . My party had set menu . Very little for gluten free they said they could adjust a couple of dishes but much more expensive than the set meal . No starters availability at...all . The worst customer service was the desert we all had which was a tiny mango sorbet and the only gluten free desert was £13.50 as I could not order from the set meals View obviously is tremendous Service goodMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Patsy, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly apologise for any inconvenience you experienced regarding the limited gluten-free options. We will address this issue with our team to ensure better accommodations in the future. We appreciate your honest review and hope...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I really enjoyed Hutong. The food was good: authentic duck, delicious dim sum, and the soft shell crab was so tasty. I liked the drinks however, I would have preferred if the wine was poured at the table, rather than brought out. It would have...been nice to see the bottle and taste it, and considering the price, I would have expected it to be poured in that way. Great view, and we also had a few lovely wait staff. Thank youMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jace, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Hutong. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service overall. Your suggestion regarding the wine service has been noted and passed on to our team. We hope to see you again soon!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Marico was amazing got the pics we wanted and the food was incredible! Thank you very much for such a lovely birthday meal

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Lizzie, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that Marico provided you with the perfect birthday celebration. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing dining experience. Kindest regards, Hutong

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a disappointment! I have been back after almost 2 years and what a terrible difference 2 years made. Sadly. Went to Hutong for a special occasion bragging about this restaurant to my guests. The food was excellent, however the music was horrendous, the choice...of music was awful (second rated London club type) so loud you could not have a conversation at the tables. Everyone was basically screaming trying to talk to each other. The lighting was soo dark everyone in the restaurant had to use the phone torches to see the menus or what they were eating. Furthermore, we all had the peony set menu. Again the food was delicious. However they changed the desert without warning us or telling us, serving us something we did not like or wanted. When I complaint to the waiter, the manager came to tell me we had to have that one because they had ran out of the chocolate tarts. I explained that if that was the case they should have warned us or at least explain and let us know, out of courtesy and politeness considering the costs associated with all we ate. The manager started telling us that we do not understand…. And then all went south rather quickly. I asked not to speak to us in the language and that if I order a set menu I am expecting to receive the set menu or to be told why not and receive apologies for it. All was resolved when we did not have a desert from a set menus and the costs of the dessert was removed from our final bill, but the manners of the waiters and managers of this ‘high-end’ expensive restaurant at the shard were appalling. We spent a total of over £800 between bar services and restaurant. I would never make the effort to go to Hutong again. What a disappointment.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JastFab, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Hutong. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. We're working with our team to address the issues you've mentioned to ensure a better dining experience for all our guests in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent!! Everything was perfect! Exceptional friendly and professional staff. The food a dream! Waiting time perfect!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Liza, thank you for the amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a perfect experience with our friendly and professional staff, delicious food, and quick service. Your feedback means a lot to us and we hope to see you again soon!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visit this restaurant frequently and the food is amazing, the decor is lovely and the view is amazing. The only negative I would give is we have on occasions felt rushed with dinner & reminded that the tables are reserved for 2 hours. I...understand that this is quite normal for a restaurant but it’s a rush for a 3 course meal. However, that’s not enough to put us off as the food is so good & so is the food!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We're glad to hear that you enjoy our food, decor, and view. We appreciate your understanding regarding the table reservation time limit and will take your comments into consideration to ensure a more relaxed dining experience...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my fiancé's birthday and I thought to give him a romantic dinner of his favourite cuisine. Despite having a reservation confirmed for 9:30 PM, we had to wait until 10:00 PM for our table, causing significant inconvenience and frustration. When we arrived, we...were asked to wait at the bar, but no one was there to attend to us. After seating ourselves and waiting for a considerable time without any acknowledgment from the staff, we had to call the waiter three to four times before he reluctantly approached us. When he finally did, he threw the menus on the table without a word or a smile, setting a very negative tone for the evening. The experience only worsened from there. When we ordered drinks, they took 15 minutes to arrive, and only then were we informed that our table was ready. The service we received when placing our food order was even more appalling. An elderly waiter, who seemed completely uninterested and unhappy to be there, took our order without offering any suggestions or explanations. He disappeared in the middle of taking our order without excusing himself, leaving us feeling ignored and disrespected. My partner had to stand up and approach him to complete our order, as he began assisting another table without acknowledging us. Throughout the meal, we had to repeatedly ask for cutlery and our plates were never changed between courses. When we requested noodles to accompany our mains, the server confused us and a lady rudely dumped the noodles on our table, causing the serving spoon to fall. She didn't even look back to correct the situation. To add to the disappointment, despite specifically requesting a romantic table for a birthday celebration, we were given a round table for four, which completely ruined the intimate atmosphere we were hoping for. The ambiance of the restaurant was also a letdown; it was so dark that we struggled to read the menu. As someone who works in a management position at a five-star hotel, I am acutely aware of the standards expected at such establishments. The service we received at your restaurant was far below acceptable standards. Although the food was good, the poor service and inadequate management overshadowed everything. Moreover, the enforcement of dress code policies seemed non-existent, as we observed many patrons in hoodies and sports shoes despite your email stating otherwise. Given the numerous issues we encountered, I requested the removal of the service charge, which I believe was more than justified. This experience was one of the worst we have ever had, and it is particularly disheartening considering the occasion. I hope you will take this feedback seriously and address these severe shortcomings to prevent future guests from enduring such a disappointing experience.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tanvin, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience, we are sorry that you were not happy with the service during your visit to Hutong. We would like to hear more about what went wrong, please kindly provide us with more information...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for our anniversary meal and we were so glad we chose hutong. The views and table was breathtaking, the food was fabulous quality the duck was to die for. We chose a la carte rather than the set. My only complaints were 2...dishes were cold and did not specify! But the waiter kindly removed one from the bill as we did not eat it. The waiter made our experience 10/10 he was faultless and added to the experience, they even bought us a surprise desert that said happy anniversary which was a lovely touch. Thank you so much we wil return again soon.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Natalie! Thank you so much for choosing Hutong to celebrate your anniversary. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking views, fabulous food, and excellent service from our waiter. We apologize for the cold dishes, but we're glad our staff was able to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I phoned the restaurant earlier in the day to say we may be delayed re trains and yes we were running late due to the trains and security airport style downstairs only by 20 minutes but was told abruptly to be out by 8 30...so not a great start ! I was also told had to spend £70 per person minimum on food new rules !!! this put me off being honest as well. Portions are small which is fine re the type of restaurant however the crispy beef and cod were ridiculously small barely two mouthfuls. Rest of the food was good to be fair. We felt rushed as well so didn’t bother to order wine The waiter was however pleasant and made an effort which helped the occasion. Overall wouldn’t return to expensive I feelMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jason, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your honesty and will pass along your comments to our team for review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your experience and apologize for any inconvenience caused. Your input...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The view - of course - is spectacular, but the food is much better elsewhere. The shredded beef was paltry in size given the cost. Soft-shelled crab was very good though. So only 3 stars for the food but as an all round experience it’s...four stars but be aware you will easily pay £100 per person before alcohol! So it’s a major splurge.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the view and the soft-shelled crab. We appreciate your comments on the food, and we'll definitely take them into consideration to improve. We hope to see you again for an even...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The service, food, and views were all excellent! Pablo is the perfect waiter—attentive and helpful. We did one of the tasting menus, which I highly recommend. Starters and beef dish are particularly superb. This restaurant is expensive, but this reflects the excellent level of service....A true highlight of our trip to London.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear William, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our service, food, and views. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Pablo. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to...More

Reviewed 16 May 2024

Horrible food, horrible attitude. Not worth a penny! We do fine dinning all the time. We came to London to enjoy the opening Abba Concert in 08/2022 and was told this was the place to go. Beef were chewy like rubber, shrimps were spicy impossible...to taste, We left more than 3/4 of the food and paid probably $ 400 and went over to nearby restaurant to enjoy drinks, dessert, the view and much nicer staff. Uggg. Just didn't have time to review until now.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Explorer0822, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your visit fell short of expectations. We value your feedback and will address these concerns with our team to ensure a better experience for all our guests. Thank you...More

Reviewed 12 May 2024

Went to Hutong for a family birthday and the location is great with views across London. We had the Peony tasting menu that consists of eight courses. The food was lovely but it was served over four course and seemed to be a little rushed....The bar is very small and part of the restaurant adjoins this and we had to ask to move to the other side as it was just so noisy. Also the ambiance is not really Chinese as the music constantly being played was not appropriate and added nothing to the experience. With drinks or bill was £800 for three and although the food and staff were good I am in no hurry to repeat the evening. Also during my drink at the bar the bottom just fell out my glass when I picked it up pouring a G&T all over me. I had to go to the toilet to wash it off and although they cleared the mess up and replaced my drink I had to suggest that I wasn’t going to pay for that round of drinks. I know it was an accident but I feel they could have been more forthcoming with an apology.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Dear Jeffrey, thank you for sharing your experience at Hutong for your family birthday celebration. We appreciate your feedback regarding the service and ambiance. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and will address your concerns with our team to ensure a better experience in...More

Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

Our 2nd visit here and brought friends this time who loved it just as much as we do. Had a fabulous table with stunning views of London. We shared the Peking Duck to start which they carve at your table, so tasty. The sweet and...sour chicken was delicious and plenty of it. Staff were really friendly and ensured our glasses were topped up at all times. Great restaurant, we will be back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua Reception, Owner at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2024

Dear Helen! Thank you for your wonderful review and for bringing your friends along for another visit. We're thrilled to hear that you all enjoyed the Peking Duck and sweet and sour chicken, as well as the views of London. We look forward to welcoming...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard,
the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond
any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some
time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved
browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street,
foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old
foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks
of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Shangri-La The Shard, London
7,366 reviews
.03 km away
London Bridge Hotel
3,268 reviews
.16 km away
Hilton London Tower Bridge
5,909 reviews
.27 km away
The LaLiT London
1,470 reviews
.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
GONG Bar
1,902 reviews
.02 km away
TING Restaurant & Lounge
3,464 reviews
.04 km away
Oblix
6,194 reviews
.01 km away
Aqua Shard
17,631 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The View from The Shard
19,486 reviews
.03 km away
Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret
814 reviews
.17 km away
The Shard
1,112 reviews
.03 km away
Science Gallery London
37 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rachelmE2567MN
11 February 2024|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 3Dundee3 | Reviewed this property |
There is no restriction on footwear. Trainers are perfectly acceptable. Assuming they don’t look like you’ve just played football in them.
1
Vote
Vanessa P
11 January 2023|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BurlsGurth | Reviewed this property |
It depends on where you are seated - it is a fair way from the Eye.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HUTONG, London - Southwark - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hutong

Yes, Hutong is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hutong is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5