We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Garden Gate

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
14 South End Road | Hampstead, London NW3 2QE, England
+44 20 7435 4938
Website
Today
10:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

We used to come here a lot when I worked at the nearby Royal Free Hospital so when I came to Hampstead to meet a friend for lunch it was the obvious choice for us. The menu seemed quite limited with not many choices compared to how it used to be. We had the beef burgers which at £13.50 were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden Gate. We have been undergoing some menu changes recently, so I suspect the day you visited us we had a reduced menu. We would love for you to come back and visit us now the new menu is fully up and running. We have some great Sandwiches on the... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

I went to the Garden Gate for Saturday lunch with 7 other friends. I had the crab cakes special as a main, a diet coke and then a cappuccino after. The crab cakes were extremely bland - not sure I'd be able to identify they were crab if it was a blind taste test! Then I found plastic packaging in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katiekeene
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Hi Katie, Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with us. Our Crab Cakes are freshly prepared on site and we pride ourselves on our high standards of hygiene. Unfortunately in this case the chef preparing the Crab Cakes has clearly missed the foreign body in your food. I have brought this to the... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the Garden Gate for a friend's birthday, dining as a group of 8. The atmosphere and decor give the perfect pub feel.... however, the food did not live up to the high expectations we had. Firstly, we were surprised to discover no table service available - we would have expected this at the prices being charged. Secondly, the food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellpett
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and I would like to apologise that your recent visit did not meet your expectations. We are happy to let you know that we have just launched a New Menu and we now offer Full Table Service. As part of this, the Team have undergone further training to ensure the highest standards of guest... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

This is a cosy very English pub and handy for a meal after a good walk through Hampstead Heath. We came for Sunday lunch and enjoyed a fine roast ( not outstanding but enjoyable). The atmosphere is good. Service OK. Nice place to be a tourist away from bustling central London.

Helpful?
Thank aka_fitzy
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Hi aka_fitzy, Many thanks for your review, we are constantly trying to improve our food and service and we will be revamping both in mid October so hopefully you can return and enjoy your experience even more! Thanks again for the review! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

I ate here twice on my most recent trip to London - and, although the food was okay for pub food, was quite put out by the crowds and length of time to obtain service. Not my favourite spot in the neighborhood, but it is convenient!

Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmimi99
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review! We are currently reviewing our menu and service cycle and are hoping that once complete we will be able offer faster service and more quality food! I hope that you will return soon once both are up and running. Again, many thanks for your review! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped for a drink on a Sunday afternoon. Nice location,old classic pub with a lovely garden to have lunch and dinner. Nice staff. We will come back to try the food.

Helpful?
Thank valvaneragonzalez
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I will pass on your comments to the team, apologies for the delayed response but I have just taken over as general manager here at the Garden Gate. Hopefully we will see you here again soon! Thanks again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

We are locals and have often been into the Garden Gate for a drink on a summer evening but today we chose to have lunch. What an experience! We ordered a burger from the BBQ with a side order of quinoa salad. The side cost £3.50 and was so mean - a heaped tablespoon in quantity - that we sent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SJBUPR
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Hi there, As the new manager of the Garden Gate, I've only just started, it saddens me to read comments of this type and we have clearly let you down hugely on this occasion. Although our BBQ has now been packed up for winter, the menu is under review and we will come back with bigger and better next year!... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Really lovely beer garden and good selection of drinks. Friendly staff. Food is ok but nothing amazing and a bit bland. Nice on a sunny day after a walk on the Heath

Helpful?
Thank Roxy-Edamame
GENERAL MANAGER A, Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, glad to here you enjoyed your visit, please come again More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We tried the beef burger from the bbq menu and it was terrible. Most of it was totally inedible. Nice pub but expensive and poor quality food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rach K
GENERAL MANAGER A, Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear you did not enjoy the BBQ we have reduced the price this summer from £13 to £8, food can always be exchanged or refunded if its not to your liking. Food quality is very important to us that why we source fresh British ingredients and our burgers are the most popular items... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I visited this pub on Saturday and I appreciated how Georgia made sure we had everything we needed and that it was to our taste. She had a very good knowledge of gluten free food on the menu, which is something I always struggle with when eating out. Top points for that! The bar staff were also very helpful when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
GENERAL MANAGER A, Manager at The Garden Gate, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your positive feedback, we'll be sure to reward Georgia for her efforts, so thanks for mentioning her. We're very pleased you enjoyed our range of Gluten free dishes and are happy to hear you had a positive experience with us. Apologies for the toilet smell, we have a new staff cleaning rota that should have the issue... More 

Travellers who viewed The Garden Gate also viewed

 

Been to The Garden Gate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 South End Road | Hampstead, London NW3 2QE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7435 4938
Description
Welcome to The Garden Gate, the front door to the best alfresco fun in north London. Our beer garden is one of the city's finest, while inside is pretty inspiring, too. This 19th century pub has a long tradition of accommodating weary walkers and lovely locals from Hampstead Heath, and today we're doing it in style with fresh, home-cooked pub food, a stunning choice of speciality drinks and an ultra-relaxed atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Garden Gate and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Garden Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?