We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zengi Restaurant.

44 Commercial Street, London E1 6LT, England
+44 20 7426 0700
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (12 reviews)
“tabbouleh” (7 reviews)
“cold mezze” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44 Commercial Street, London E1 6LT, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Zengi with my fiancé on a warm Saturday night. Was greeted by two lovely waitresses, service was super fast, and overall very reasonably priced. The Baba Ganoush along with the Baklava are absolutely delightful. Highly recommended.

Thank Damien M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A hidden gem surrounded by over-priced dross. Great hospitality, made to feel very welcome, met the owners (look out for Ali - he made us feel at home), delicious food at great prices. Don't bother looking anywhere else for Middle Eastern/Mediterranean cuisine. Thank you.

Thank William S
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I was not told that you could bring your own bottles of alcohols with a £5 fee for each bottle to the venue. This meant I paid double to host drinks for my party guests from their Maine menu!!😥 There were no free complimentary bread...More

Thank Inji A
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The food at zengi is just incredible! You can taste the quality of the meat and the freshness of the ingredients. Staff are attentive and it's all great value for money. A party of twelve ate and we didnt have to wait ages to be...More

Thank rickytanna
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Poor food, even poorer welcome, miserable staff, Very unadventurous menu. Would recommend people to keep away

Thank Joanna B
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I have reviewed and used trip advisor on many occasions and I think in order for it to work reviewers should try to review places, after looking at the whole picture, so here goes. Me and my partner stopped off at Zengi for just a...More

Thank Jenna K
Ali N, Owner at Zengi Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear Jenna K Thank you for your feedback. We're upset to hear about your experience and send our sincerest apologies that it wasn't handled in the manner you expected. Unfortunately, due to recent building works next door, there have been a few mice in the...More

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Celebrated our daughter's birthday here as a family get together. Everything was amazing from the food & drinks to the service. The starters were full of flavour, both of the vegetarian and non veg dishes we chose. The recommendations the owner made for the mains...More

Thank DavidSen53
Ali N, Owner at Zengi Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear DavidSen53 Thank you for your lovely review and kind words. We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us - it was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your family. We hope to see you all again very soon! All the best,...More

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We had a family party here for 12 people and everything was perfect. Service was fantastic, food was delicious and great value... I'll be coming back from work as it's so close to the city.

Thank RSen2015
Ali N, Owner at Zengi Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear RSen2015 Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed the food and service and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best wishes, Ali

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We had our Christmas work dinner here last week and it met all my expectations. Relaxed accommodating with great service and attention to the group. Food was fantastic and it really set us up for a great night in neighbouring Shoreditch. Such a great find.

Thank Kar33m0
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I had the most extraordinary experience with this restaurant, unlike anything else before. Trusting the good reviews, I decided to go there with friends after an early concert on Sunday. The restaurant's website says it is open Tuesdays to Sundays. I booked a table, through...More

Thank Wilhelm S
Nearby
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world
class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to
be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of
Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the
Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious
legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour
groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden
squares, these days you're more likely to catch a
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,081 hotels in London
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
4,272 reviews
.16 km away
Arbor City Hotel
838 reviews
.24 km away
Hub by Premier Inn London Spitalfields, Brick Lane
1,475 reviews
.29 km away
ETL Residence
4 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Yuu Kitchen
676 reviews
.06 km away
Trade
260 reviews
.07 km away
Absurd Bird Spitalfields
511 reviews
.07 km away
Hotbox
265 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whitechapel Gallery
196 reviews
.24 km away
Whitechapel Road
39 reviews
.16 km away
Raven Row
5 reviews
.27 km away
Petticoat Lane
243 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BrianDavies
11 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Goldeneye64 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know, how about checking out their website for a menu?
0
Votes
alaingogarty
26 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from TheFoodLover2015 | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it, but you can always call and ask. they did have a good wine selection
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 Commercial Street, London E1 6LT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Whitechapel
  • Neighbourhood: Whitechapel
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7426 0700
  • E-mail
Description
A cosy hideaway in Shoreditch, fusing eclectic flavours from across the Middle East with unique dishes brought to you from our Arabian kitchen. What better way to continue your journey with us but by enjoying shisha in our outside heated area and indoor E-shisha basement.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;