We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

212 Fulham Road | Chelsea, London SW10 9PJ, England
+44 20 7349 9901
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
19 Oct 2015
“Gorgeous food exceptionally well presented.”
16 Oct 2014
“Cant believe these high reviews”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
212 Fulham Road | Chelsea, London SW10 9PJ, England
All Details
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2015

Gorgeous food exceptionally well presented. Just returned from The Penny Black, nicest meal my husband and I have eaten in a long time. Food was beautifully presented, lots of it and tasted fabulous. Barman very friendly and checked with us everything that everything was ok...More

Thank Gemma345
Reviewed 17 October 2014 via mobile

Sorry. Avoid avoid avoid. Read these reviews but I have some serious doubts. Tough fatty lamb. No one else in the place on a Sunday when Londoners pack the best places for lunch. When I saw how empty they were I should have left as...More

3  Thank Andi2012Jam
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Madam It is a fact of modern-day life that any person can now go online and write reviews, about all sorts of topics. We at Penny of course love positive reviews, but believe it or not we also appreciate criticism and we have often...More

Reviewed 14 October 2014

Top marks for this team. We were looked after so well the experience was not simply food and drink but all encompassing hospitality. Hype re beef Wellington? Fully deserved and thoroughly recommended. Cocktails were inspired - no need for a menu, we were asked for...More

1  Thank Mickeyblueeyes-12
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Sir Thank you for the kind and effusive comments. We try to be as hospitable as we can and are glad that this has come across in your dining experience with us. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future....More

Reviewed 5 October 2014

Today was our first time visit to try their Sunday Roast and I must say everything was delicious. The roast was cooked perfectly and good cuts of meat were chosen rather than the cheap cuts one often finds in sadly most of the restaurants in...More

1  Thank Dan s
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your kind comments on our Sunday roast. We hope that you will find the time to visit us again in the near future. With kindest regards

Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Penny Black now several times and have never been disappointed. I found out about it through Tastecard, which offers a 2 4 1 deal. The food is delicious with great quality meat and fish, which is cooked to perfection! The...More

Thank DrSaz12
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Thank you so much for your continued custom! We hope you will visit us again to try the new items added to the menu over the last week. With kindest regards

Reviewed 2 October 2014

Went there spur of the moment went to another resturant service was terrible ended up in penny black and was so glad we did the service was fantastic , the food was out standing especially the scallops . And for main beef Wellington, only down...More

Thank Mich1975
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are sorry that we do not have a dedicated children's menu, but as you now know we do offer child portions of our regular a la carte dishes, or we will try and cook something specific for the...More

Reviewed 30 September 2014

I've reviewed Penny Black before but that was for Sunday lunch and this time we went for a mid-week evening meal. Again the service was very good, granted the it was early and we were more or less the only ones there, but the staff...More

Thank Steve D
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Sir Thank you for your kind comments and hope that we will continue to see you here at the restaurant. With kindest regards

Reviewed 27 September 2014

This place is special to us for a number of reasons that I won't go into for times sake. My boyfriend and I ate here this evening and while it was not the perfect meal, due to some issues with sides and accompaniments, we were...More

Thank ajtempest
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Miss Tempest Thank you for your kind and warming review. I am so glad that you have returned to Penny on many occasions since and I am again sorry that not every element of your dinner with us was as perfect as it should...More

Reviewed 23 September 2014

No fault can be found at this wonderful establishment our evening was amazing food exceptional the chef very flexible due to a fuss eater in our group the staff amazing could teach many an establishment how to meet their customers needs. Food was perfect beautifully...More

Thank millymo2014
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Madam Thank you so much for such a lovely and kind review. I am so glad that you trusted us enough to allow us to make some special dishes to accommodate your guest's dietary requirements and I hope that our efforts go some way...More

Reviewed 9 September 2014

Tasty food and great wine selection. Suitable for romantic dinners. In the heart of Fulham. Lovely helpful staff. Would defo recommend.

Thank Anastasija B
Penny_Black_Manager, Manager at The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Dear Madam Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you back at Penny soon. With kindest regards

Nearby
Chelsea
Wealth courses through The King's Road, Chelsea's
upmarket artery of West London life packed with shops,
eateries and glitzy nightspots. For people-watching at
its best and luxury retail therapy that's largely
unrivalled, this area cannot be missed. But if this
showy street starts to overwhelm or a moment of price
tag shock sends you reeling, a quick detour down
pretty much any of many King's Road veins will reveal
...More
Nearby Restaurants
maze Grill Park Walk
280 reviews
.06 km away
GOAT
314 reviews
.06 km away
Rossopomodoro - Chelsea
386 reviews
.07 km away
Hache Chelsea
363 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brompton Cemetery
134 reviews
.22 km away
Bluebird-The King's Road Gastrodrome
63 reviews
.39 km away
The Drayton Arms Theatre
9 reviews
.58 km away
Context London Tours
230 reviews
.55 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 35
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 00:00
Thursday
17:00 - 00:00
Friday
17:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
17:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 212 Fulham Road | Chelsea, London SW10 9PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Chelsea
  • Neighbourhood: Chelsea
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7349 9901
  • E-mail
Description
The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar is at the forefront of British dining in the Chelsea area. Located on the "Beach" area of the Fulham Road, the Penny Black was established in early 2011 and has garnered an enviable reputation for making food that you simply want to eat! With an extensive menu famous for Beef Wellington and one of the best Sunday roasts in London, the Penny Black offers a casual yet sophisticated dining experience with unrivalled service standards. A new buzzing bar at the front of the restaurant shows off world-class cocktails and a wine list featuring almost 100 wines all available by the glass or half bottle carafe. The cosy bar tables in particular are always in high demand so booking is essential. A private dining floor seating up to 32 guests complements a bespoke events service and a renowned external catering division. The Penny Black Restaurant & Bar is truly the place to be for those in the know!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing