We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tenshi

) #10,246 of 18,191 Restaurants in London ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Japanese, Sushi, Asian
61 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 0NY, England
+44 20 7226 4665
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (13 reviews)
“sushi” (48 reviews)
“okonomiyaki” (9 reviews)
Open Now
17:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 0NY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

One of the my favorite restaurant in london. I like this place, because it's cozy, good taste and reasonable price. I have oderded bara chirashi sushi was very yummy and fresh. I highly recommended this place.

Thank Chichi S
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Chichi S, thank you for your kind words. I've shared your comments with our staff and I'm sure they will be very pleased that their efforts are appreciated.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Was told by the rude and unhelpful staff that our table would be ready in 40 minutes. Came back and was sent away and told to come back 40 minutes later. Then we were greeted by the most clueless waitress ever who said "it could...More

1  Thank Konrad G
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Konrad G, do you really think using offensive language in a review just because you couldn't get a table when you wanted to is acceptable? And what is your statement 'she was lucky I was in a pleasant mood' supposed to mean? That you would...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My friend and i went to the restaurant to get take out and the service was horrible. It was a long wait, they forgot items of our order, and the food tasted aweful. Would not recommend it, especially with so many other great restaurants in...More

Thank Merpaulien86
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Merpaulien, I have asked my staff about this incident in details. They confirmed that you did not receive the prawn tempura avocado roll, and nor were you charged for it. This is because the staff forgot to include it in the order, and for...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Saturday evening meal with friends. You can't reserve on a Saturday night, but 3 of us turned up at 8 on a busy summer Saturday evening and were seated immediately upstairs. Cosy atmosphere, food was lovely, mixture of sushi, dumplings, pork and a chicken curry....More

Thank GeorgeandVerity
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Georgeandverity, I'm very happy that you had a good time at Tenshi and sampled a broad range of items from our menu. Thank you for your kind words. I will pass your comments on to the staff.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nipped in here with a friend for a quick bite to eat and we were not disappointed! We had chicken, vegetable and shrimp dumplings, chicken skewers and spicy tuna sushi rolls, quite expensive (around £30 each with no alcoholic drinks) as they included a service...More

Thank 186402Emma
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was not bad, but not impressive either. I ordered Salmon Teriyaki from the main course and was really surprised that it was served without a rice. Just the fish and salad. Seriously?Usually Japanese restaurants serves free tea, include Miso soup to your order...More

Thank Polina M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food here was pretty good. We had the fried chicken potstickers, and even ordered a second after quickly eating the first plate. Surprisingly filling, we were only able to try the spicy tuna roll, the inside out yellowfin tuna roll, the salmon with spicy...More

Thank Azelyaze
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Last night a friend and I were tempted by the softly lit vibe of Tenshi. We sat just inside the entrance, near the open, front window. Our menus we're provided fairly promptly, and drink orders taken in a likewise, swift manner. After that, things we're...More

Thank Tim G
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Tenshi has a really nice intimate feel. I had udon and sushi because I wanted to try both. The udon was really good and the sushi was ok- yummy but nothing spectacular .

Thank jawbarn
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I recently ate at Tenshi for the 1st time with my partner - there are 2 good things about this place, one - the food, and secondly - the atmosphere of this small but friendly restaurant. I recommend the Sashimi which was very fresh and...More

Thank Danielspaniel
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Vivo
252 reviews
.04 km away
The Breakfast Club
353 reviews
.06 km away
Kipferl
227 reviews
.06 km away
Byron Islington
236 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camden Passage
96 reviews
.04 km away
King's Head Theatre
83 reviews
.31 km away
Business Design Centre
58 reviews
.09 km away
Everyman Cinemas Screen on the Green
36 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tenshi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 0NY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7226 4665
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing