We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Avalon

#5,333 of 18,395 Restaurants in London
₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
16 Balham Hill, London SW12 9EB, England
+44 20 8675 8613
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
“pizza” (18 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Balham Hill, London SW12 9EB, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really disappointing meal here on a weekday night. Firstly, the acoustics are terrible. It is SO LOUD, absolutely impossible to hear anyone on your table unless they are yelling. Several things went awry; wrong starter, cold starter, 1.5 hour delay for main,...More

Thank thelondonette
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was amazing but staff were very slow and quite rude. We were completely ignored for most of our time there.More

Thank ncav13
Holly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that the service was not up to our usual standards on your visit. I will be sure to remind staff to ensure they provide excellent service at all times. If you wish to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Half decent food, nothing special. Service was absolutely dreadful, rushed the bill and was forced to leave our table after 1 1/4 hours with no option of desert.More

Thank Adam P
Holly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Adam, thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry to hear you received such awful service on your visit. This is totally unacceptable and I will discuss with the general manager today to ensure we don't see a repeat of this. If you...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went to The Avalon for a late lunch during our first day in London. While we appreciated the fast service, the burger we had was not the best. I think that this place is more for a drinks kind of day out.

Thank Eleonora Andree... D
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Ate here recently with my son who lives nearby and likes the place. Interesting to read the wide variety of reviews but all I can say is that we had a very enjoyable evening. It is a bit noisy as tables are pretty close together...More

Thank ThemaceSomerset
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The restaurant was full on a Saturday night.the table are close together the walls were tiles in white tiles with a high sky lit ceiling with ornate metal lighting fixtures. Nice to look at but the noise reverberated off every surface. We had to talk...More

1  Thank cathy777
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Don’t get me wrong, the food is a bit pricey and not overly consistent and the waiting staff are pretty stretched, but there’s a reason why this pub is rammed most evenings. It’s fantastic, interesting place, great atmosphere, full of likeminded people, decent beer, good...More

Thank Tom R
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I regularly visit The Avalon with friends due to the great location and food. We booked a table to have an early lunch and watch the rugby yesterday and the service received by our waiter was terrible. Not only was he outright rude but we...More

Thank KatieLK03
Holly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hi Laura, thank you very much for your review, sorry for my late reply. Would you be so kind to email me directly on holly@threecheers.co.uk so we can discuss this further? Many thanks, Holly

Reviewed 25 January 2018

Always seems to be busy but the noise level is awful and the double hamburger was barely warm.I will not be going backMore

Thank 773Gareth
Holly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi, thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear your food was not up to our usual high standards on your visit. I will ensure the chef is aware that you were served cold food and will ensure improvements are made. Best...More

Reviewed 9 December 2017

Food was below average, christmas set dinner for £30 consisting of a single slice of salmon, a steak served with literally 1 potato cut in half and lots of gristle, and a dessert which was basically a chocolate soup. Sitting in the back area we...More

Thank Mengplex
Holly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of The Avalon. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience on your visit. I have discussed your comments with the manager and he also sends his apologies. The...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,080 hotels in London
The Gateway Hotel
164 reviews
.05 km away
Euro Hotel Clapham
790 reviews
.47 km away
Windmill Clapham
614 reviews
.81 km away
Travelodge London Balham
606 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ciullosteria
247 reviews
.39 km away
Mango Bottoms
42 reviews
.51 km away
The Common Room
50 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hayman's Distillery
21 reviews
.69 km away
Clapham
27 reviews
1.40 km away
Northcote Road Antiques Market
15 reviews
1.27 km away
Gowing Private Guiding
113 reviews
.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Avalon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Balham Hill, London SW12 9EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8675 8613
  • E-mail
Description
Named after the mythical island in the legend of King Arthur, The Avalon is a majestic pub and dining room. Serving a bold British menu, fine wines, excellent cocktails and well kept cask ales, The Avalon also boasts one of London's biggest and most beautiful beer gardens plus a sensational private room. "The Avalon is the pub to beat in SW12" Time Out Eating & Drinking Guide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing