We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mitre in Lancaster Gate

#448 of 18,255 Restaurants in London
₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
24 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QH, England
+44 20 7262 5240
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good45%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (44 reviews)
“pie” (22 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QH, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mitre in Lancaster Gate offers you a variety of typical food you can find in many pubs in the Uk. But here the food was very nice. The Burger was huge and fresh and I enjoyed the big selection of beers. This place is...More

Thank Axn0
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, Thanks you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. The burger is a particular favourite of all the staff so it is taste tested daily to ensure top quality! I hope to see you again next time you are in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staff were lovely, but food was poor. I ordered a portion of winter vegetables which consisted of a plate of cabbage. I also ordered quid which was a portion of batter with very little squid.More

Thank BernadetteM869
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Bernadette, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry for you poor experience with our food the other day. Our winter vegetables should have been sauteed cabbage, kale and fennel. So I am not sure what happened there. It also sounds like a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good light fare and pints here for the night before our flight home. Pub was busy but after asking at the bar a server took a table order and we got food and pints quickly. Shared pies were a bit dear but well prepared....More

Thank OlVirginny
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, This is james, the general manager of the Mitre. Thanks for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to look after you so quickly. I look forward to seeing you here again sometime soon Kind regards...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A Very Nice Place with a Well sorted bar. And a really interesting snack menu. The staff were charming and helpful. We had to wait for 30min to get a table when arriving around 20:00pm on a Friday.More

Thank Jörgen E
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jorgen, Thanks for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Mitre. I am also sorry we didn't get the music volume correct. This is actually the second time someone has been unhappy with the music volume on tripadvisor so...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this pub after a long trip from Italy, by car, plane and metro from Heathrow. We were tired and so we decided to go to the nearest restaurant we managed to find. The Mitre is a typical English pub, really beautiful. We...More

Thank daniela g
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, this is James the general manager. I am so pleased you had such a great time here and we helped you to relax after your journey. I hope to see you here again at your next visit Kind regards james

Reviewed 9 December 2017

We fell in love with The Mitre. My husband was in town for business for a few days, I joined him at the end of his trip and we stayed a few more days. He raved about The Mitre, and had eaten there every day...More

Thank aliciaosullivan
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi Alicia, Thank you so much for your lovely review. i am so pleased you enjoyed all the food, drinks and service we offer. We would love to see you again if you are ever back in the area Kind regards James

Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed for 1 drink, the music was overloud and tinny, we couldn't make conversation, and the barman was more interested in chatting up a lady customer than serving us. A pity, because it really has a lot of potential as a historic-type pub. It's...More

Thank AVD122017
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. We regularly change the music volume to get the atmosphere right depending on how busy we are but we obviously didn't have it correct that night With regards to the...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017

During my stay at a hotel close by I visited the pub twice during my stay, the food was good, the atmosphere in the pub was great, some travellers passed through but we met up with some local people as well. The overall experience was...More

Thank Zuanda R
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi Zuanda, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the pub on both occasions. I hope to see you back here if you are in the area again Kind regards James General manager

Reviewed 3 December 2017

I've walked past a few times over the past few years but always in a bit of a rush, nipped in this trip for a swift pint, nice interior, read the bit of history about the place which is interesting, good decent pint of bitter,...More

Thank TR6-KID
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi, This is James the general manager. I am so pleased you have finally popped in for a drink. I hope this may be the start of a new regular! I look forward to meeting you soon Kind regards James

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Been there several times. Mediocre food, the rude guy at the bar. Better go to swan nearby. Not recommendedMore

Thank дрон д
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi, This is James, the general manager of the Mitre I am so sorry you are unhappy with the Mitre. It sounds like you have lost all confidence in the pub I would love to be able to do something to change this or at...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,076 hotels in London
Elysee Hotel
661 reviews
.03 km away
Best Western Mornington Hotel
862 reviews
.03 km away
The Oxford Hotel
301 reviews
.07 km away
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
4,155 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bel Canto Restaurant
1,063 reviews
.11 km away
Nipa Thai
579 reviews
.22 km away
Island Grill & Bar
1,253 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kensington Gardens
3,731 reviews
.60 km away
Paddington Station
1,081 reviews
.49 km away
Italian Gardens
95 reviews
.27 km away
Peter Pan Statue
108 reviews
.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JNelson70
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 20 answers
Response from GillianSouthWales | Reviewed this property |
It's against the law to smoke in A public place in the UK
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7262 5240
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing