We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Philharmonic Dining Rooms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
36 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BX, England
+44 151 707 2837
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (24 reviews)
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“beef” (16 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
36 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BX, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We came here as bright young things (I wish?) in the sixties and was bowled over then by the atmosphere. A real pub! Opened the door and people fell out! Went back today for lunch and it was just as I remembered it, thanks for...More

Thank llo1846
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for such a fantastic review :) we look forward to yor return x

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best to reserve table, fills up quickly. Good choice on menu. Food and service very good. Staff friendly. Will visit here again

Thank Sussan-108
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sussan-108, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Philharmonic Dining Rooms! We are happy that we will be seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely atmospheric place. Food good and great value also. Had ribeye steak which was succulent. Service good. Have a peek in the gents at the original Victorian urinals (if they are unoccupied)!

Thank jayjayholmfirth
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jayjay thank you for this great review. We are happy you had a great experience with us. We look forward to your return.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just arrived back home from a trip to the Philharmonic pub....review= used to be well known for the toilets,,,BUT,,,,,toilets smelled of stale wee,,,lost everything about them!!!!! if you don't believe have a look yourself!! so called Cask ale,,,,but sorry choice is awful and not well...More

1  Thank BLV22
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

BLv22 thank you for your review. The toilets are currently being looked at but due to them being 120 years old we have to be careful without destroying them. Our ales are well kept and looked after! The choice you may have choosen might not...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 3 day pre-Christmas trip to Liverpool, just to get us into the festive mood. As we had taken our small dog, Harvey with us, we knew we would be restricted in eating out in the evening. Not so at...More

1  Thank philipivory
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Philip thank you for this lovely review. We loved having yourselves and Harvey were so lovely to have as customers. All lovely comments will be passed on to katie, annette and shannon. We look forwrd to seeing you and Harvey again here soon :)

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We walked in and the place is amazing, but the food is not. Burgers looked good. But they forgot onion rings, has stated on menu. The fish wasn’t special certainly wasn’t £12 special. And the fish pie was smaller then I expected, so ask for...More

Thank Jojo550
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jojo sorry that you didnt have a great experiance with us. We do apoligise for this. We hope to see you again here soon.

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Visited for the first time with friends. Very interesting architecture, friendly staff, good beer but the food let it down. Quality of food was poor and unappetising. Shame as the building is worth visiting if you are in the city.

Thank John C
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

John sorry that you didnt have a great food experiance with us. We let you down which we shouldnt have. All comments have been passed on to the kitchen team to see where we went wrong. We do hope to see you again here soon.

Reviewed 10 December 2017

We were in Liverpool for a short break and to go to a concert at the Philharmonic Hall and had a pre-concert meal at these dining rooms. It is a fascinating place, a beautiful old building full of character and has a warm welcoming atmosphere....More

Thank ELIZABETH B
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Elizabeth, Thank you for this great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again here soon :)

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

The food was basic pub grub and nothing special. Despite its proximity to the RLPO there was no pre concert menu or service which was disappointing and left us rushing to finish our meal and no time for dessert.More

Thank Mary J
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Mary J thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. If you would like to speak about your visit in more detail please give us a call on 0151 7072837b and we will be happy to discuss in more detail....More

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

What can I say. We didn't eat as the place was packed. Found a seat in the main hall. I'm a plasterer (name gives it away lol ) and OMG.its just amazing. Loved the ceilings, loved the tiling. And, gents when you go the loo....More

Thank plastermick451
General Manager A, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you so much for your high rating! We look forward to your return!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 99 hotels in Liverpool
hope street hotel
2,115 reviews
.07 km away
Roscoe House
347 reviews
.17 km away
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
626 reviews
.25 km away
24 Catharine Street Hotel
48 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Art School
1,240 reviews
.12 km away
Grilla
960 reviews
.10 km away
Remora
684 reviews
.09 km away
Free State Kitchen
462 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King Liverpool
2,332 reviews
.29 km away
The Hardmans' House
134 reviews
.29 km away
Everyman Theatre
88 reviews
.01 km away
Unity Theatre
41 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ann S
12 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Carl S | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry but we never had wine of food so I can’t help
0
Votes
mikemo19
29 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Adrian B | Reviewed this property |
Menu is available on the internet
0
Votes
yessiral
21 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Wayne151 | Reviewed this property |
The City Explorer open top bus stops right outside. The stop after the RC Cathedral
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 17
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 707 2837
  • E-mail
Description
You will find The Philharmonic Dining Rooms in Liverpool within a short stroll of Hardman Street, Myrtle Street and Hope Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Philharmonic Dining Rooms is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing