We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Philharmonic Dining Rooms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
As featured in My Magical Mystery Tour..
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
36 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BX, England
+44 151 707 2837
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We came to the resturant to check the toilets. (as we know they are well and truly amaing) and then we stayed to eat before going on the Shiverpool tour. Our waitress was Anita and she could not do enough for us, she was not only friendly, she made sure that we had everything we needed, stopped and took time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annmarie R
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Annmarie, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Philharmonic Dining Rooms. We are so happy that you enjoyed your service for Anita. We hope to see you again soon here at the Philharmonic. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A few words the worst meal I have had in my life.Firstly the meal for my great grandson Who is 7 ordered chicken&chips when it came his Dad said he would cut the chicken up For him it was a 100% raw in the middle.Then one of the meals was wrong,steak over cooked and forgot to send a garlic bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for contacting us regarding your visit to The Philharmonic Dining Rooms. Audrey F, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. I am truly sorry that we didn't meet your expectation. I hope that if you do visit again soon these issues will have been rectified and... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just want to say I was in philhPhilhomanic on Tuesday night wen we got there it was busy night we got ask to wait because we I never booked the table but wen we finely got a table I had the steak its was the best steak I have ever had I said tel the chef that steak was Delish... More 

Helpful?
Thank ditchieefc
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Ditchieefc. We are delighted that you enjoyed your steak with us and we will pass on your comments to the chef that served you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner dined here last night and the food was delicious :) the staff really friendly and presentation was great too! Was really happy with our meals and service, will definitely be back!!

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Stephanie M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon here at the Philharmonic. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As we have tried before to eat here in an evening and it has always been full, we knew that they must be doing something right. We went yesterday early this time and got a table without any problem. There were no gluten free options, so I chose sea bass without the sauces and which only served with potatoes. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne M
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks Anne M, for leaving us this response. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal. I am really sorry that we didn't have the dessert choices that you wanted at the time. Hope to see you again soon and all the desserts will be available for you to try. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was at the Philharmonic recently for Sunday roast with my girlfriend, first of all the place is beautiful. It's like stepping back in time, high ceilings, mahogany walls etc, the place is great and is a must if you wish to visit, even if it's for a drink. The dining room is set out great, there are two small... More 

Helpful?
Thank S-T-Barnsley
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks S-t-barnsley, for leaving us this response. We are happy that you enjoyed your Sunday roast with us. We hope to see you again soon. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Great for tourists as the building is spectacular! Although had a few flat pints lately and lacking atmosphere but alright place other than that!

Helpful?
Thank MegLorc G
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we will be sure to rectify these points that you have brought to my attention so when you visit again you can have a better and enjoyable experience with us here at the Philharmonic. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great place for traditional fish and chips done to restaurant quality. They have other things on the menu too and the decor is as interesting and traditional as the bar downstairs. Good place to take overseas visitors wanting to try a good fish and chips in style.

Helpful?
Thank A1854CKpauld
PhilharmonicTeam, General Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

A1854ckpauld, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Philharmonic Dining Rooms. We are so happy that you enjoyed your first and chips with us. We hope to see you here again soon. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

derbyshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

thought this was a great word for this stunning pub! well worth a visit even for just a drink! we eat and thought the food was great! I had a lovley pie with a shortcrust pastry base and puff pastry lid!! it has a very comfortable feel..and with one of my favourite wines on the menu! vino Verdi from Portugal..i... More 

Helpful?
Thank andyfab
PhilharmonicTeam, Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks Andyfab, for leaving us this response. Thank your for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again here soon. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

A wonderful place to stop by for some lunch or for a few drinks. I've been here a couple of times and have enjoyed. Amazing decor and building. Definitely looking forward to coming back.

Helpful?
Thank Jordan D B
PhilharmonicTeam, General Manager at The Philharmonic Dining Rooms, responded to this review

We always love to receive great feedback, so much that we love guests like you that leave happy and have enjoyed your visit here in the Philharmonic. We hope to see you again soon. Coelina Chapman General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Philharmonic Dining Rooms also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Philharmonic Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 707 2837
Description
You will find The Philharmonic Dining Rooms in Liverpool within a short stroll of Hardman Street, Myrtle Street and Hope Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Philharmonic Dining Rooms is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Philharmonic Dining Rooms and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Southport, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Cleveland, Ohio

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Philharmonic Dining Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?