We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse - CLOSED

Leicester Lane | Desford, Leicester LE9 9JJ, England
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good13%
  • Average6%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible40%
8 Nov 2014
“when will you be open???????”
11 Jul 2014
“Change of Menu?”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Leicester Lane | Desford, Leicester LE9 9JJ, England
More restaurants in Leicester
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2014

just seen review from kirbyfox.... its now 9.11.2014 still closed.. and waiting for my sunday roast again,lol,never thought of the place being in need of work,seeing as all the work they had done ??? meals always nice and big,and nice to eat.... it was a...More

9  Thank kevin h
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Been using the white horse for a few years and the choice on the menu was always really good and the standard of the food was always very high. This has all seemed to change. After a recent visit for my parents anniversary we found...More

2  Thank Alex P
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently had lunch at the this restaurant had great service and received very good quality food at a decent price in nice surroundings.

2  Thank TeagleEye1953
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For two days running the pub has been closed at lunch and do not believe it has been open in the evening. No notice on door, no explanation, nothing. Very poor communication by new management. What is happening to this once thriving pub ? We...More

3  Thank KirbyFox
WhiteHorseDesford, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi, Unfortunately we have taken over the pub with it in quite an outdated and poor state left by the previous owners whom have been praised so highly on Tripadvisor. In order to allow the pub to be in a fighting chance for surviving we...More

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been using the restaurant off and on for the last three years without issue/incident. However the Sunday lunch we has on the 06.07.14 was not what we had come to expect. The prawns in the prawn cocktail starter were watery. The beef was...More

2  Thank LEE029
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After being a regular here for a number of years, the change of ownership has resulted in a distinct lack of atmosphere, now unfortunately reflected in the lack of vehicles in the car park over a lunchtime. Tried to give it a go, but with...More

5  Thank Jimmyh432014
WhiteHorseDesford, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi, Unfortunately Terry and Di no longer work at this pub. It is nice to see that so many of their friends have stayed loyal and are putting down the new owners. If you would like contact details for where Terry and Di now work...More

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been going to the pub for our Sunday lunch once a month. Decided to go Sunday lunch on 29th June. greeted by the same friendly staff and the new manager, all 4 of us had the same meals that we always enjoy. Could...More

1  Thank 2,81,264
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Iv been a customer at the white horse for nearly 10 years even from the very beginning with terry and di... So you can imagine my disappointment when we fount out they packed it all in.... Anyway we recently returned on the 1st of July...More

3  Thank Seanjohnfahy
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am new to this site, but after our experience I feel that I must share it with others. Saturday night and my wife and I decided to go out for a drink. We chose the white horse, upon our arrival I noticed that the...More

1  Thank Johnandstacey-1985
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Heard lots of good things in the past about this place, but the reviews on here do no justice. First of all I must comment on the young bar tender, absolutely smashing lad with a great personality and a very jazzy shirt. We were greeted...More

1  Thank Moaning-hawk123
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pesto at the White Horse
498 reviews
.56 km away
The Royal Oak
137 reviews
3.08 km away
Elephant and Castle
36 reviews
3.50 km away
The Old Dairy Restaurant
7 reviews
4.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tropical Birdland
641 reviews
2.47 km away
Kirby Muxloe Castle
69 reviews
3.45 km away
Mallory Park Racing Circuit
31 reviews
4.52 km away
Thornton Reservoir
50 reviews
5.64 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leicester Lane | Desford, Leicester LE9 9JJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Leicester
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional pub and restaurant located in Desford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing