We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kent View, Kendal LA9 4DZ, England
+44 1539 729743
Website
Today
08:30 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 08:30 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Visited this cafe recently with friends. I had the Falafel burger with salads. Burger was so dry it was very difficult to eat and was tasteless. Friends had other dishes which they described as okay at best. When paying bill at the till observed the chef speaking to a waitress in an abrupt and rude manner, not good in an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlanKendal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had our son up from uni for the weekend he is vegan so we decided to take him for his dinner there is 5 of us in our family and the rest of us are all meat eaters but we all went with a open mind me and my son went for the falafel burger and I went for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alancapper
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a Kendalian and a regular before the cafe was closed by Storm Desmond, I'm sorry to admit that I haven't been here since it reopened in the winter. Popped in today on way into town and was surprised by the transformation. It has expanded into next door and modernised.. not necessarily a bad thing. The kitchen is open and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debdolittle
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a delightful cafe with lovely, welcoming staff. The coffee is very good and the vegetarian food is imaginative and delicious.Several different areas have been created with a bright play corner with tables for young families as well as sofas. It is all very inviting and much thought has been put into the decor and menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline N
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Pauline Thank you very much for your visit and fantastic feedback:)We are glad you liked our food and new decor Hope to see you soon again All the best Magda & the team More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017

First time we've been back since the floods and what a difference. Friendly staff who really looked after us. We both had the quiche with waterside salads and to follow the rhubarb crumble with creme anglaise and have to say it was absolutely delicious. Full marks to the chefs who were working their socks off. Can't wait to return for... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynne h
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

Hello thank you very much for your visit and fantastic feedback:) We are glad you enjoyed and hope to see you soon again all the best Magda & the team More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We decided to go out for breakfast and headed for the town centre. We had been once before just after it reopened following the floods. A bright airy and comfortable space that serves vegetarian and vegan food. We chose the House breakfast, which included a drink.This was freshly cooked and, of course, required a bit of wait. But, it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michael v
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Michael V Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed our Waterside breakfast. Hope to see you soon for lunch::) All the best Magda and the team More 

South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We visited here a couple of weeks ago. It is a brilliant place and we will return as soon as possible. We were warmly welcomed and throughout our visit the staff were all friendly and helpful. The range of food for vegans is excellent. The staff were all happy to spend time discussing what was on the menu and offering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joneseythedog K
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Joneseythedog K Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit in our Cafe:) We are currently working on new menu so might be more vegan options:) See you soon All the best Magda and the team More 

southport pr9 9ef
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

What a surprise called in today as the name suggests overlooking the River Kent and found the food excellent with vegetarian selections and salads that were so inviting coupled with homemade cakes etc Service excellent and value for money with high quality food

Helpful?
1 Thank GRHL
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for a lovely feedback. We are proud of our salads which are made fresh daily by our fantastic chefs:) Hope to see you soon All the best Magda and the team More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Came with couple of friends and we all were nicely surprised with the service and quality of food. Great portions, good prices (we have even said it was too cheap for the organic food), fantastic coffees and amazing selection of cakes (we could not manage to have any this time but will try next time ). So pretty and modern... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

hello Thank you very much for a fantastic review. Glad you enjoyed everything:) See you soon Magda and the team More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

I was waiting for this place to reopen since flooding but regret to say I was very disappointed with my visit one wet Saturday morning. Had a americano , (it was very weak and didn't taste like a Americano )and a little over priced " waterside breakfast "( choicen for vegan option with crispy tofu but a few minutes later... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crazy G
lanamay827, Owner at Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Crazy G Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies again. I have apologised you few times on that very wet Saturday (Sorry we could not do anything about the weather, we were also worried that the flood will happen again as the alert was on) and explained that we had a power cut in one of... More 

Travellers who viewed Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
08:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 16:00
Thursday
08:30 - 16:00
Friday
08:30 - 16:00
Saturday
08:30 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kent View, Kendal LA9 4DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 729743
Description
We are a family run vegetarian and vegan cafe offering delicious food at edible prices in a pleasant riverside setting just a few minutes walk from the town centre and just off the A6. We offer vegan, wheat and gluten free options freshly prepared on premises daily using the finest, largely organic and fair trade ingredients., All the food is sourced locally. Our eggs are sourced from free range "happy hens".

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterside Cafe and Food Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?