We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Globe Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
+44 1539 721852
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (15 reviews)
“lamb henry” (4 reviews)
“chilli” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Welcome from bar lady ordered braised steak. Sorry we have none. Wot sat nite. I'm by myself. 2 lots people came in and went. No chicken dishes on menu. Ordered pie of the day. What day. Anyway it was steak and mushroom which was good...More

Thank Gordon N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff, and customers very friendly, and helpful. Service was great. Food even better! I had chilli which was outstanding, and my partner had the meat pie, which he really enjoyed. Everything was served hot, as it should be. Generous portions.The plates were hot too. We...More

Thank christine226336
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Visited a second time with the kids during half term, this time they didn’t want McDonald’s, they wanted to go see the friendly staff at the Globe. Bit nervous this time as we had our dog but were pleasantly surprised to find he could come...More

Thank EJ567
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will fill the sweet tub to be ready

Reviewed 14 April 2018

Avoid this place. Staff behind bar rude standing eating crisps while serving , ordered bar meal. Hot roll which should have been crusty roll but was soggy and had been micro waved. Also ordered egg mayo sandwich came with tomatoes in it. When we pointed...More

1  Thank brianaitken85
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

When staff first meet customers there is a certain level of subservience to be upheld, but this goes both ways.There is no call for a customer to be surly or rude to staff . If staff are on the bar I would rather let them...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018

Upon our visit we were welcomed at teh door and whon upstairs ot an area dedicated for diners. This is a nice touch as travelling with family it's nice to be segragated from the drinkers. I thought hte food was pretty decent and in fact...More

Thank TEROMR L
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went to this pub for a murder mystery night for my daughters hen party. Vivienne and Peter (landlords) and Becky (bar person) were excellent hosts.They went all out to make our night really special adding some of their own special touches. We had the...More

Thank John H
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A great time was had by all. Including me. You are a cracking set of LADIES. Thank you for your comments Uncle Andrea says hello, or rather sings it. Regards Peter and Vivienne.

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Walku g past yesterday I noticed this pub was dog friendly , mentioned it to my friend and the guy putting the signs out told us that dogs were more than welcome , so we went back for lunch, it was lovely, I had the...More

Thank Diane H
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We popped in on a Saturday night and the guy couldn’t have done more for us all, he remembered all the kids names and made them feel special. The food was amazing, home cooked and very generous portions couldn’t ask for more ! Thank you...More

Thank Gailll3
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Food only served until 4pm although information on here and outside the pub said food served all day! The staff were standing outside front door smoking and looked very undressed for work. Advice... don't bother 👍More

1  Thank David R
peter R, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Why do people not read A Boards? Is it people assume that pub staff must work all day every day? David R must not have to go to work because he can swan about all day whilst others bend to his will. The a board...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch and loved the service here .. super friendly. We commented we had bought some lovely scones from a shop opposite but couldn’t find anywhere that sold clotted cream.. after a few minutes a tub of clotted cream was given to us...More

1  Thank Guy B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1,297 reviews
.25 km away
Riverside Hotel
1,179 reviews
.36 km away
County Hotel
312 reviews
.51 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1,973 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Relish
194 reviews
.03 km away
Baba Ganoush
399 reviews
.08 km away
1657 Chocolate House
196 reviews
.08 km away
Farrers Tea and coffee Shop
238 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brewery Arts Centre
346 reviews
.45 km away
Museum of Lakeland Life & Industry
112 reviews
.63 km away
The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
139 reviews
.21 km away
Kendal Parish Church
44 reviews
.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sakiko0703
15 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Chiefboy | Reviewed this property |
The Globe does not do rooms Try the Bridge on Stramongate they have rooms Just been taken over and is a good food pub
1
Vote
Arran W
11 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Chiefboy | Reviewed this property |
Beef burgers and vegetable burgers and a global burger with beef burger chicken burger bacon cheese and chorizo but no Stilton sauce
0
Votes
15Jimbo55
29 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chiefboy | Reviewed this property |
The Globe is in Kendal
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 13
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Market Place, Kendal LA9 4TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 721852
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;