We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Regent Hotel Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British, European
Borrans Rd, Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
+44 15394 32254
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (9 reviews)
“potatoes” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Borrans Rd, Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Regent Hotel for 2 nights & had such a good meal the first night booked the restaurant for the second night & wasn't dissappointed. Small menu & also a special menu which chaged each night. Excellent srvice & very cosy dining room.

Thank Gary M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was rather surprised to read the restaurant report dated 29th October 2017 on the Regent Hotel, Ambleside. My wife and I were also dining in the restaurant on that particular evening, sitting adjacent to this somewhat unhappy diner. We too were celebrating a birthday...More

Thank 427blane18
RegentLakes, Food And Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I cannot tell you how much we appreciate your review . i have passed your lovely comments to all our staff.Thanks again. Kind regards , Paul Muresan

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this restaurant 29.10.2017 for a birthday celebration. Our intention was to have a three course meal but unfortunately this was not to be the case. The first course of bread & oils was sent back as the bread was stale ! We had...More

1  Thank Janey2727
RegentLakes, Food And Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It would be such an understatement to say we are disappointed with this review . For someone who can write a long ,and I would say, articulate review , your choice of words used to describe the food in our restaurant was absolutely appalling. It...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We called in here for drinks as the hotel looked really appealing from outside and it is certainly modern and fresh when you enter the building. We made our way to the bar and were surprised by how small it was. My partner asked for...More

Thank MD-FatDonkey
RegentLakes, Food And Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for taking time to write such a comprehensive review , we did congratulate the member of staff who went the extra mile providing the extra items for your gin & tonic. Kind regards , Paul Muresan

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We were staying in Waterhead Bay in an apartment and this restaurant was very close by - we visited a couple of times during our stay as the food was good, the service attentive and not too expensive. There are other more expensive restaurants in...More

Thank eps0msilverlady
RegentLakes, Food And Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Lovely review, thank you very much .We would love to see you again when you're visiting The Lakes. Kind regards, Paul Muresan

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had a splendid meal here. Nice relaxed ambience and excellent service. There was a good wine list. Food was nicely presented, although not too fussy. Vegetables were nicely cooked (and still a bit crunchy) although the potato fondant was slightly underdone. Portion sizes were...More

Thank 301lisa33
RegentLakes, Food And Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again when in Ambleside . Kind regards , Paul Muresan

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Took the ferry from Bowness to Ambleside and found this outside eating area of the Regent Hotel. The staff were friendly enough so we decided to stop and have a meal and drinks. We ordered the sharing platter as well as a soup starter and...More

Thank Harry W
RegentLakes, Food and Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent experience on The Deck, we are very happy that you enjoyed the sharing board. Se you again. Paul Muresan

Reviewed 17 September 2017

My friend and I had dinner here whilst staying in Ambleside. We found the restaurant to be very stylish with a lovely seating area to enjoy a pre dinner drink. The menu was reasonably varied and the food we chose was delicious, very well presented...More

Thank JulesTribe
RegentLakes, Food and Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the lovely review."Stylish, lovely, delicious, well presented and served with a smile ".You made our day , thanks. Paul Muresan

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We had a light supper outside on The Deck with a lovely view of the lake. The evening was mild but the staff offered to turn the standing heaters on if needed. We had the Cumbria Sharing Board. It was small (very small) tidbits of...More

Thank CatherineEG
RegentLakes, Food and Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing your experience on The Deck. We are very pleased that you received good service and you enjoyed the local ale, and disappointed that you didn't like our Cumbrian sharing board , definitely one of the most popular dishes ,with all the...More

Reviewed 24 August 2017

We only chose this restaurant as we were staying at a sister hotel. The service was superb and the food was really enjoyable

Thank ave13
RegentLakes, Food and Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review. Great choice of words , see you again. Paul Muresan

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mr H's
168 reviews
.95 km away
The Lily
327 reviews
.92 km away
Fresher's Cafe
45 reviews
.79 km away
Waterhead Coffee Shop
257 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ambleside Waterhead
432 reviews
.27 km away
Bridge House
273 reviews
1.31 km away
Ambleside Climbing Wall
179 reviews
.89 km away
Hayes Garden World Ambleside
135 reviews
.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dawn A
1 April 2017|
Answer
Response from RegentLakes | Property representative |
Hello Dawn , No problem ,please let us know when you arrive ,our Head Chef Mark is more than happy to help. See you soon
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ambleside

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Borrans Rd, Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Ambleside
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 32254
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing