We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | Al1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
+44 1727 855053
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good21%
  • Average16%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible31%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (5 reviews)
“gammon steak” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | Al1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We pop into the Harvester and on the whole all been good for the money. Then a few months ago saw the prices had gone up and salad bar a bit iffy but still frequent. Then popped in last night to find the restaurant empty...More

1  Thank Angela M
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hi Angela M, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. If you could please contact us on 01727 855053 I would love to discuss this...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

we booked a table for 14 for a 40th birthday party we booked this 2 weeks in advance on arrival they had set out separate tables for us we said that this is not what we booked and had booked a table for 14 not...More

1  Thank wrx374
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Wrx374 thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I shall be personally investigating what happened on this occasion with my team. I have just returned today from my holiday and am sad to read these comments. I have a...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Have just arrived home after having an early supper at our local Harvester at the Ancient Britain St Albans.. I have reviewed before favourably and I have no reason to change that opinion...i did have to mess the booking up and change times due to...More

Thank M G
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I called in on one of the recent very hot days for a cold refreshing drink. It was a Wednesday lunchtime. There were people eating in the restaurant, so I headed over to the bar area and waited to be served. During the first five...More

Thank johnparslow
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear johnparslow, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this vital feedback. We are sorry that we have left this lasting impression of us and we shall definitely be looking at staffing levels to ensure that this is not a regular occurrence. If...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

A mixed age group; all of whom found a meal from the menu that they enjoyed. The service was attentive, pleasant and punctual throughout. The children were well-catered for.

Thank Noel and Verena Y
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Decided to go to this harvester as we had been given a free voucher after having a bad experience at the stevenage harvester and was definitely worth the drive. Staff were all friendly, service was good and food was yummy. The refill drinks machine wasn't...More

Thank Charwii
Reviewed 24 April 2017

After visiting the Ancient Briton for a family meal on Saturday 22nd April, I feel I must make some observations, firstly we were waiting for what seemed an age before being shown to our seats, it wasn't that busy, the staff were friendly and helpful...More

Thank Jackie T
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Jackie T, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I hope that you'll...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

8 of us visited for a 90th birthday. The staff were really helpful in giving us a table which was easy for older people to access and sit at. Our waiter, Liam, could not do enough for us. He impressed us that he did not...More

Thank Suzina B
Reviewed 29 March 2017

A very surprising pleasant tasty lunch. Having the early bird menu consisting of Grilled chicken and scampi with chips was served hot and with plenty of accompaniments including the famous salad bar. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful . The restaurant was clean...More

Thank Mike D
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Mike D, Thank you very much for your positive review. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to write your lovely comments. We will look into improving the comments mentioned about the cutlery and hopefully we can turn your...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Great value. Our deal included a free voucher for Mother's Day Main Meal. They were rushed off their feet but service with some smile We were half an hour late getting to table having booked on line. It gave us the opportunity to drink send...More

Thank oakhart
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Oakheart. thank you for your kind words and yes Mothers day was spectacularly busy for us and I'm glad that although you had a wait for your booked table ,you managed to still enjoy yourself in the bar area. We hope to see you...More

Nearby Restaurants
Saute Grill
145 reviews
1.16 km away
Anastasias Greek Restaurant
763 reviews
1.18 km away
Bar Meze
794 reviews
1.21 km away
The Meating Room
264 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Farmers Market
17 reviews
1.55 km away
Alban Arena
71 reviews
1.40 km away
Champneys St Albans
71 reviews
1.55 km away
68 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris M
28 August 2016|
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Unfortunately at this time we only allow assistance dogs in the restaurant. However we do have a large garden area where we do allow all dogs.
Chris M
28 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
Thank you
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 20
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | Al1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855053
At The Ancient Briton Harvester in St Albans food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing