We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bishop on the Bridge

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
441962855111
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 400: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited many times along with a wheelchair user. While not easy to access the staff were always helpful to the extreme. Food very good and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank ron b
surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good efficient service. Food was pricey for what we had sausage and mash was very nice but didn't taste cider or apple as described. Enjoyed the meal but felt it was expensive for what we had. however we chose this pub as in the summer it is packed due to location. On a November afternoon was quiet. Would not bother... More 

Helpful?
Thank sue s
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite being fireworks night (Saturday), we managed to find a table on an ultra busy night at 5.30pm. Tables indoors and in the garden were very busy. Friends got drinks, and we managed to get a table inside shortly after, despite not having reserved a table that evening. Food arrived very quickly - we had burgers, and it tasted very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zena3101
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had coronation chicken wrap, which infortunately had a piece of chicken uncooked in it. I am awaiting response from my complaint. The staff were very spologetic amd clesrly embarrassed, but that is just not acceptable. Thsnk god i spotted it, and thankfully hadnt esten any raw chicken...

Helpful?
Thank 32june
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

I did actually I responded precisely 2 hours and 20 minutes after you e-mailed me... Also on the day of the day of your visit the meal was refunded as well as verifying what appeared to be a pink tinge was from the bone/knuckle of the chicken, and you replied saying that you were pleased with my response. June, I... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usually visit for drinks as this is an excellent place on a sunny afternoon spent outside in the glorious courtyard overlooking the river, however finally tried out the menu, and it didn't disappoint. Visited on a very busy Sunday lunchtime, and we were very lucky to get a table - shall definitely book next time. Really not a fan of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.... I feel that the ordering at the bar leans us away from being too pretentious, as we are after all just a high street pub, albeit serving delicious food! I must point out that the 2 massive blackboards that talk about our roasts, (hahaha) do say that they are all served with The Chef's... More 

West Bay, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for our large family . This was our third visit and we had high expectations, unfortunately I was very disappointed. To start with we felt as though we were in the way and using too much space. My meal was cold, and I feel that standards have slipped since our last visit. However, the waiting staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank seasidegirl_12
Jane D, Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

I must apologise for the cold food. That is not great at all. Another amazingly busy Sunday for us though, however I had no problem in relocating another booking so as to give you an extra table for you to be more comfortable. Its a shame that you did not mention when asked about your meal, as we would have... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to Winchester on a day out and booked a table as the pub is right on the river. All 4 of us ordered the burgers 2 with cheese and bacon 2 with mushroom and Stilton. VERY mediocre burgers. The base bun was cold, obviously kept in the fridge and not warmed before being served. The bacon was hard, tough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mingra6
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

Hey that's not great news.... we normally have great reviews about our burgers. So I'm really sorry about... Glad that the rest of the experience was positive.... next time your passing, drop in and I will see if I can change your opinion about the burgers!! More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never been here before and was delighted to discover a warming atmosphere and delicious food! Service was excellent and the food and drink well priced for the quality! Might even make it my local!

Helpful?
Thank kryzwakley45
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

Hey that's great...there's always room for more locals!!! More 

South Shore, Quebec
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a short day trip, after a brisk walk in the beautiful City of King Alfred, we settled for lunch in this pub, having had a quick looksee of the menu posted outdoors. Once inside, our Host, Milo gave us sound advice about the fare and then my wife & I selected sandwiches of pulled pork that we would share,... More 

Helpful?
Thank smartgrandpa
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we kind of love our pub too, the fact that it is beautifully located is an added bonus! More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It´s always so crowded we had to try it. The food is good, typical pub food with good quality On sundays they have live music and it was spectacular. It was very cold outside but very nice inside. Despite the amount of people we were serve quick. We will repeat

Helpful?
Thank silurica
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this review

We absolutely love Sundays, great food and an amazing atmosphere with the live accoustics from 3.30pm. More 

Travellers who viewed The Bishop on the Bridge also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bishop on the Bridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: 441962855111

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bishop on the Bridge and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Poole, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bishop on the Bridge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?