We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vestry Restaurant & Bar

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, European, British
61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
+44 23 8023 1101
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“chorizo” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The Vestry is a must for unwinding and the perfect start to the weekend. Instantly started to feels relaxed with the impressive live music set which begins from early evening on a Friday and creates the perfect ambience. The daiquiri cocktails are made to the...More

Thank sylviamunday
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to say the meal was very good, and the staff were excellent, the girls were pleasant upstairs. My only complaint was the greeting we got when we entered the restaurant, there was nothing, the girl was on computer and we had to...More

Thank as535498
Reviewed 1 week ago

Super fantastic venue , great service and choice of beverage. It was a little quiet until the theatre close and every one crossed the road for a drink or two.

Thank Damonwalker666
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you walk in this restaurant looks amazing. However I have never been so cold in a restaurant. Would definitely not recommend it in the winter, this is due to the high ceilings. The food was good, but I was too cold to enjoy it.More

Thank Pat999_12
Jade M, Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to review the Vestry. We are glad you enjoyed the food, we do thrive to make sure our customers leave happy after their visit to us. We have been experiencing some issues with our heaters, however we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I booked the Vestry for a pre show dinner at the Mayflower. I researched the menu beforehand, as it's quite limited, but seemed good value for £22 for 2 courses. We arrived and waited at the 'wait to be seated' stand awkwardly...More

Thank 0alicross0
Jade M, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. My apologies that your visit with us was not what you anticipated! We are currently working on a few key changes in our menu, and your points have been duly noted. If...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We met our daughter and granddaughter for lunch before they went to a matinee at the mayflower. A wonderful location opposite the theatre. We went upstairs we had a lovely table the atmosphere was amazing. We had a two course lunch the food was exceptional...More

Thank Ann B
Jade M, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ann, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience! We are glad to see you had a good time, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Jade

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We celebrated our daughters 21st birthday at the Vestry on the 25th. All i can say is that they could not have done enough for us. We arrived to a table that was decorated lovely and with our waitress wishing her a happy birthday. We...More

Thank David R
Jade M, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David, Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review! And we are glad your daughter had a special 21st birthday. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Jade Mitchell

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a beautiful conversion they've done on this gorgeous church. Great location for dinner and drinks pre or post the Theatre (Mayflower). Only reservation - its a little cold when not full of people. Drinks are reasonable prices and i can't wait to go back!

Thank Hannah W
Jade M, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Hannah, Thank you for your review! We can't wait to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Jade Mitchell

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok - so where do I start. I think the first thing I should say is that we have always booked a table at The Vestry for a pre matinee lunch before crossing the road and taking our seats for a performance at the Mayflower...More

1  Thank Bluryde
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We went to The Vestry in Southampton when visiting the Mayflower Theatre for a matinee production for a pre-theatre visit. It is ideally situated right opposite the theatre. The atmosphere is brilliant being an old church with high ceilings, balcony restaurant and arched beams. The...More

Thank bonjgb1009
Jade M, General Manager at The Vestry Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us, we hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Jade Mitchell

PreviousNext
12345674
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Southampton
Premier Inn Southampton (Cumberland Place)
8 reviews
.26 km away
Novotel Southampton
1,839 reviews
.48 km away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
1,444 reviews
.48 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
1,046 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Soleto
411 reviews
.10 km away
CXO Bar & Bistro
266 reviews
.16 km away
Yuri Cottage
66 reviews
.05 km away
Taj Mahal Restaurant Southampton
154 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mayflower Theatre
1,907 reviews
.06 km away
SeaCity Museum
1,152 reviews
.23 km away
Westquay
321 reviews
.49 km away
Southampton City Art Gallery
161 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
angela61-28-10
24 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Jade M | Property representative |
Good afternoon, I hope you are well, thank you for your enquiry, yes we do organize this sort of parties too, If you would like to talk about it in more detail, please feel free to email us and we will get back to you... More
0
Votes
Jessica T
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jade M | Property representative |
Yes we do, within the ladies toilets
0
Votes
59jackie
21 June 2016|
Answer
Response from karen g | Reviewed this property |
It's not really a burger and chips place. Allow about £19 for a two course meal excluding drinks.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 24 - US$ 32
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8023 1101
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing