We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 01/10
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
About
Welcome to Carluccio's Italian restaurant in Portsmouth, within Gunwharf Quays
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
551
361
156
71
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
551
361
156
71
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood linguine antipasti tiramisu sea bass salad two courses lovely meal gunwharf branch olives
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The various local Carluccio’s restaurants all seem to have been closed down in recent years so we were delighted to see that the one at Gunwharf is still open. We will promptly shown to our outdoor patio table overlooking the water and had a thoroughly...enjoyable meal and drinks. We shared a plate of lightly battered calamari to start with and then each had a pasta dish as a main. Service with a smile, prompt and efficient.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi BobSki-UK Thank you for taking the time to review us. We much appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. Looking forward seeing you soon. Thank You Carluccio's Management

Reviewed 26 August 2022 via mobile

Popped in to get takeaway coffees and pain chocolate for the ferry and the drinks were delicious as expected but the pastries were definitely yesterday’s - soft and day-old rather than flaky and fresh. Disappointing.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi P1235PWsophieb I'm sorry to hear about your experience and that you been let down by our pastries on that day. We are acknowledging all our guests feedback and we intent to do better. I hope you will stop by our restaurant again and we...More

Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

We were saying in Gunwharf quays Marina on our boat and wanted to have a nice cooked breakfast. I chose Carluccio’s because we’ve never been there before and the menu looked good, particularly the pancetta rather than the usual bacon. After sitting down I had...a quick scan through TripAdvisor only to find some awful reviews and wondered if I’ve made a bad mistake. However quite the opposite happened. The service we had was very good even though we decided to change table locations twice to keep out of the Sun and away from the wind. Our waitress was very patient and charming throughout. The food came quickly and I have to say it was very tasty indeed. This is definitely one of our better breakfasts and I wouldn’t hesitate to go back. I suspect that like all restaurants they are suffering from difficulties recruiting staff and perhaps at the busiest times the service might not be as good. My experience was that they were trying very hard to provide a good service and there was no question that the food was very good. Hopefully not everybody will be put off by the poor reviews and would give Carluccio’s a try, especially at the less busy times and if you do so you could well be rewarded with a very good meal.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2022

Thank you for your lovely comments. These will be passed onto our team! We are happy to hear that your visit with us exceeded your expectations. We can't wait to see you in the near future. Kind Regards, Carluccio's Portsmouth.

Reviewed 11 August 2022 via mobile

We were extremely disappointed with our recent visit to Carllucios. Having booked because we presumed it would be busy, we found that people were being turned away at the door. This was not because the restaurant was full or fully booked but because there were...only two members of staff available to serve tables. The bar was piled high with dirty glasses and several tables had not been cleared from the previous customers yet there was only 3 of 4 tables occupied. The general cleanliness was poor and floor dirty. Our waiter clearly had little or no training and was so laid back he was almost horizontal and lacked any motivation or enthusiasm whatsoever. Our water and wine glasses were water marked, service slow and food average. A big disappointment for what used to be our restaurant of choice in Portsmouth. We will not be returning again.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2022

Hi Karena C Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with Carluccios Portsmouth, I would like to apologies for the experience you has with us. A review will commence with the team working on the day to improve the standard of cleanliness and service...More

Reviewed 9 August 2022

Came by impromptu on a Monday night at 6pm, to take the girlfriend for dinner.... wish I didn't bother. No one at the front desk, three tables of guests in the restaurant, no server to be seen when sat at the table. And you had...4 servers on the floor (you weren't rushed off your feet, I work in hospitality) Don't bother with the generic 'we hope this one time visit does not deter you from returning and we do hope you would consider us again in the near future' standard response. You need to up your game, Loch Fyne next door took our money instead, and we had a most enjoyable evening!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2022

Hi Michael L Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant in regards to your visit on Monday, I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with the service, Your comment will be taken on board so a situation can not...More

Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

Booked a Sunday morning breakfast with friends. The coffees arrived first and were barely luke warm. Three of the four breakfasts included salmon and eggs on sourdough which was stale and so hard it was impossible to cut. Replacement bread was brought after we complained...but this was in a smaller quantity. We ate in the exterior area which was littered with rubbish on the floor. £2.50 was taken off each bill but only after we asked. Come on Carluccio Portsmouth you can do better than this.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2022

Hi iancraig1, I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience with ourselves at Carluccios Portsmouth. Food quality is something that we like to take pride in. I will relay your comments to all our team so we can improve for next time. Your mention...More

Reviewed 6 August 2022 via mobile

We arrived at 955 today. One table of two people in the whole restaurant, kitchen open. One of the three waiting staff came over and told us they weren’t taking walk ins as no staff. Website accepts bookings and says walkins are available. We didn’t...argue as it hardly boded well for service did it?More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2022

Hi alisonfL5846PR I would first like to apologies for us refusing your service on the day you visited. An investigation as to why this could of happened is ongoing so a situation such as this will not happen again. , Please do not allow this...More

Reviewed 23 July 2022

Usual place for catchup Been going since restaurant opened never a problem not tonight. Arrived for our booking lovely waitress took our drinks order . Drinks arrived then starters order which arrived within 10 minutes. After that took 1 hour for mains to arrive. 1...pasta dish cold 1 risotto without chicken in it 1 tuna steak which was like rubber steak that was ordered with house salad instead of potatoes was just a pile of rocket.Our pork waitress got these dishes replace and called the manager over.He said he was sorry but the restaurant was busy we have seen it much busier He did take a a considerable sum off the bill but poor food did spoil the night The bar area was piled up with dirty glasses which didn't look good. Won't be back unless reviews she food standards have improved there are plenty of restaurants in Gunwharf. Don't know standards have have been allowed to slip.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2022

Hi There, I am sorry that your recent visit with us wasn't up to our usual standards. Customer service is something that we like to take pride in. I will relay your comments to the team so we can improve for next time. We do...More

Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

Oh dear. Arrived at 11.50 intending to sample the all day menu. Seated and ordered drinks but then told by waiter that he couldn't take an order until noon as that would 'upset' the kitchen. Eventually, at 12.10 the waiter took the order and all...seemed well. The food appeared at 12.30 and that's when the fun began. Had ordered a basic Lasagne. Dish arrived spread over a plate having obviously been microwaved. As it looked cool, i tested with a finger only to find that the pork and beef ragu sauce was cold. I sent the lasagne back and discussed with the manager. He advised that the pasta dishes were prepared in house but then reheated in the microwave for service. The meal was not charged for but hey !More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2022

Hi MarkE101, I would like to apologise that your visit with us wasn't up to our usual standards; customer service is something we like to take pride in. I have relayed your comments to the Kitchen team scheduled when you visited us to ensure instances...More

Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

Visited for lunch as shopping in GWQ - plenty of room and choice of tables. Opted for the set priced 2 course menu, good value and selection. Starter and main both arrived super quick, my wife however had opted for a dessert over a starter...- over a 30 minute wait and needed to chase twice. What was meant to be a quick lunch stop was becoming way too long. Waitress advised they were short staffed ( 2 plus manager) hence delay in Ice cream coming out, I questioned they had got starter mains out super quick so why a delay with a simple scope of ice cream ? Other guests were having same issue. The issue appeared to be more no one taking responsibility in the kitchen for desserts rather than a waiting staff shortage given mains coming out really quickly. We than had another 15-20 min wait to pay as the actress could not process a gift voucher and this had to handed off to the Manager. Overall a poor experience from a service perspective, food was tasty though, and restaurant is well located with outside tables offering good views.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2022

Hi There, I would like to apologise that your visit with us wasn't up to our usual standards; customer service is something we like to take pride in. I have relayed your comments to the Kitchen team scheduled when you visited us to ensure instances...More

Reviewed 13 July 2022 via mobile

Empty restaurant, arrogant balding Italian waiter told us we needed reservation. When we asked why considering the number of empty tables, he walked away telling us to speak to the chef if we don't believe him. Disgusting service from one of life's losers.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2022

Thank you for your comments - we will make sure they get passed onto the team. Hope you have a lovely day. Kind Regards, Carluccio's Portsmouth.

Reviewed 11 July 2022

I have dined here on at least three other occasions over time, and as I recall it was extremely enjoyable. That's the prime reason I took my good friend there on Saturday 09th July !! I want to try to be as fair and as...objective as I can, without resorting to easy and hurtful quips !! On the upside our waiter and the manageress were both polite and helpful as one could possibly be. The view from the restaurant over looking the harbour is outstanding !! So if you're into beautiful marine views, I cannot recommend a table in Carluccio's highly enough !! However .... and on this particular occasion, the upsides ended there !! May I say at this stage, that when we arrived at approximately 2015 the restaurant appeared virtually empty as I recall. So service should be brilliant !! Evening got off to not the best of starts when the beer I ordered ( IPA I recall ) was not available. Not a problem, these things happen. For starters I ordered a soup consisting of an assortment of various mushrooms. Quite delicious to be honest although rather a severe brown in colour and far from easy on the eye !! Not a criticism, just an observation !! For my main course I ordered Chicken breast, and this is when the evening started to go pear shaped !! After at least thirty minutes no food had arrived and we asked the waiter if all was well. Off he went and returned within five minutes with my Chicken breast .... which had now morphed into what I think was a rump steak with a delicious side of roast potatoes !! Dear of dear, when my chicken breast eventually arrived it looked nothing like a chicken breast at all and if I was a betting man I'd say it had journeyed from the freezer to the microwave oven and onto my plate. It was accompanied by a sprinkling of dry plain leaves, possibly lettuce and about four tiny tomatoes which at some stage were hot, but no longer !! The whole thing was bland, dry and utterly tasteless and I gave up half way through. By now the manageress had come over to our table and was utterly charming. She did not charge me for the chicken breast which was a good thing because I would have refused to pay for it, even if they had called the police !! Anyhow, I'll leave it at that !! I'm not going to comment on my friends lasagne because he was starving so managed to finish it off.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hello Simon164, Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us on Saturday 09th July. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not go to plan, customer service and food quality is something we like to take pride in. I will ensure...More

Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Visited last night , it’s a great setting to watch the sunset on a warm summers evening , however , the food is awful ! I ordered the minute steak , which , on the menu is apparently served pink. It wasn’t , it was...cooked within an inch of its life . My husband ordered seafood linguine , which he described as eating tinned spaghetti hoops , with a bit of fish . Not a good experienceMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us on the evening on the 9th of July . We are happy that you enjoyed the sunset view from our Terrance, however we are sorry to hear that you visit with us didn't quite go...More

Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Poor service Cold food Drinks menu poor as half of it not avaliable Excuses.....food medicore....very very disappointed Over priced Cleaning behind seats had rotton food, needs a health inspectionMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us on Saturday 4th. We are sorry to hear that you visit with us didn't quite go to plan - customer service and food quality is something we like to take pride in. I will pass...More

Reviewed 5 July 2022 via mobile

Arrived with a large parry Food was all pre ordered so certainly expected better. Service was pretty good although glasses were filthy and some even sent back. My started of prawn marinara consisted of 3 Prawns, loads of chopped cherry tomatoes and a slab of...dry bread. The main- at least 6 of us ordered beef ragu. I seriously thought they'd sent us kids portions. When mentioned to the staff the lack of beef and infact the meal as a whole the answer was 'because a lot of you ordered it we had to be sparingly to make sure we had enough to go round'. We pre ordered, surely they knew how much to order/make. Shocking really considering the bill was £700 and we definitely didn't get our monies worth, intact we were all still hungry and had to eat in the way back to the hotel 😕More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alex, General Manager at Carluccio's - Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Hi bettsy4, Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us on Monday 4th. We are sorry to hear that you visit with us didn't quite go to plan - customer service and food quality is something we like to take pride in. I...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, an IHG Hotel
1,788 reviews
.24 km away
The Ship Leopard Boutique Hotel
61 reviews
.39 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Dockyard hotel
316 reviews
.57 km away
The George Hotel
534 reviews
.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Loch Fyne Seafood & Grill Restaurant
3,190 reviews
.07 km away
Bella Italia
1,247 reviews
.11 km away
All Bar One Portsmouth
1,751 reviews
.06 km away
Frankie & Benny's
1,868 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
HMS Warrior 1860
2,508 reviews
.47 km away
Old Portsmouth
550 reviews
.46 km away
Solent Cruises Limited
47 reviews
.25 km away
Spinnaker Tower
5,562 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Camper718551
2 May 2021|
Answer
Response from managerportsmouth | Property representative |
Hi there, we have two outside areas available in our restaurant. One area, the 'patio' is dog friendly. Simply state when booking that you will have a dog with you and we can ensure you are located in the correct area. many... More
0
Votes
Escape14360911363
31 January 2020|
Answer
Response from debraphillips2016 | Reviewed this property |
I visited this restaurant recently there are steps into the main restaurant I can’t remember If there was a disabled lift. I would e mail them direct.
0
Votes
daviesalec
19 December 2018|
Answer
Response from bemorepanda | Property representative |
Yes 9-10pm
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CARLUCCIO'S - PORTSMOUTH - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Carluccio's - Portsmouth

Carluccio's - Portsmouth is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4