We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mascara

101 Western Road, Brighton BN1 2AA, England
+44 1273 278185
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good26%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tagine” (22 reviews)
“lamb” (39 reviews)
“baklava” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Moroccan, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
101 Western Road, Brighton BN1 2AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Saturday for friends birthday meal in a group of 12. The decor in the restaurant was lovely and made you feel you were in a genuine restaurant in Morocco. Service was excellent and with bring your own booze, was cheap night too. They...More

1  Thank shiZZle69er
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Very quiet whilst we were here, but don’t let that put you off. The food was amazing. Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank 0SimonH0
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This is the third time we've visited Mascara, each time we've been to Brighton for a trip over the last few years, and every time it is fantastic. The food is incredible and the staff very helpful and friendly. We couldn't recommend this place enough.

1  Thank Christopher D
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Discovered mascara, while we were staying at the holiday Inn, as a lover of Arabic food, this was a real treat great restaurant beautiful lighting and food out of this world, the sausage!! Ohh my just an explosion of flavour, we ordered two terrines, the...More

1  Thank davec507
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with friends who had been before. For a Friday evening it was very quiet, 2 other people in there at 7:30pm, which initially set my bells ringing. However the food was very good and the staff were polite and friendly. It’s a...More

Thank Shane W
Haroun Xavier M, Manager at Mascara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear customer, Thank you very much for your review. I’m very glad that you’ve all enjoyed your dinner. Regarding the corkage fee and the service charge both are mentioned in the menu. Either if it was for large table or small we still have very...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Saw positive reviews on trip advisor so decided to book here while we were down in Brighton. The place is beautiful and so cosy, however husband found it quite uncomfortable as the chairs are reeeally low and he's quite tall. It was a bit odd...More

1  Thank Melliebobs
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Had a delicious meal here, I chose the Okra Tajine and it was cooked perfectly. Look forward to going again!

1  Thank R W
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I went many times in this restaurant and I've never been disappointed. The service, the quality of the food, the place , everything is perfect ! Un endroit où aller manger encore et encore !! Merciii !

2  Thank MBn2
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Just visited Mascara tonight for a friends birthday meal and this is the best choice ever! Firstly, the food was amazing. There was 20 of us in the group and everyone was saying how delicious the food was. Considering there was a large group they...More

1  Thank MaisiePhillips
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I first visited mascara back in 2013 and had one of the best meals I'd ever eaten in Brighton. While I'd talked about it again and again I didn't make it back again until this weekend and it did not disappoint. The fish tagine was...More

1  Thank Emily H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 44 hotels in Brighton
Britannia Study Hotel
293 reviews
.21 km away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1,978 reviews
.26 km away
Prince Regent Hotel
181 reviews
.28 km away
The Brighton Hotel
1,390 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
A Taste of Sahara
762 reviews
.00 km away
bankers
557 reviews
.11 km away
Kambis Lebanese
223 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Market
88 reviews
.29 km away
The Bees Mouth
34 reviews
.21 km away
Brighton Bodyworks
10 reviews
.23 km away
Genting Casino Brighton
70 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
brightonbelle2015
12 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Haroun Xavier M | Property representative |
Hi there! Belly dancer is no longer in the restaurant. Sorry for any inconvenience. Many thanks
0
Votes
Libby H
6 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Haroun Xavier M | Property representative |
Hi!! We charge £3 corkage per bottle of wine , 50p for beers and £3 for bottle of spirit. Or when it’s large group we charge £3 per head regardless what you are bringing. Thanks
0
Votes
DevanikSaha
9 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Haroun Xavier M | Property representative |
Yes we do. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 24 - US$ 33
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Western Road, Brighton BN1 2AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 278185
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;