We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cafe Rouge Brighton

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24 Prince Albert Street, Brighton BN1 1HF, England
+44 1273 774422
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 396: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to cafe rouge for a staff party and had an amazing time. Thank you so much Shannan for taking care of us and being patient. Amazing service by Shannan and the food was great. Everyone had a great time. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mayna R
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stopped here for a quick lunch due to having to drive a fair distance. We ate off the 2 courses deal. Service very good. Food was ok nothing special one main came out warm but not hot. However we didn't complain as we needed to get going. Would visit again but would eat off the full menu.

Helpful?
Thank HelenBubloz
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

i have been before and it has a very homely feel to it, its small and cosy and there is no pressure to leave your table before you are ready. James provided excellent service

Helpful?
Thank kathyb1245
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, so are particularly delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks so much Kathy for taking the time to let us know, we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great birthday/family meal today at Brighton Cafe Rouge. The staff - especially James - made it a very pleasant experience. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Wonderstuff_10
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent visit - we are so pleased your family/birthday get together was such a pleasant experience for you made more special by James. He will be thrilled with the feedback i'm sure. Thanks again, we do hope to see you again, Best wishes More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Have the stew - served with a spoon. But the tarte tatin was disappointing - lacking in flavour and very solid. French sounding staff were very keen to please.

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne J
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you Vivienne for your feedback - great to hear overall this was a pleasant experience and the staff were friendly and attentive, I will most certainly pass your additional comments to the development chef. Thanks again for letting us know best wishes More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked dinner at Cafe Rouge using a voucher from Virgin. It offered three courses plus wine for two.On arrival we were shown to our table and given the full menu. My wife gave the waitress the voucher and the menus were replaced with "Menu B" printed on A4 paper. Menu B says it all, it sounds like and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jetlagged55
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

firstly, thank you for taking the time and care to review your recent visit with us. You have raised a variety of points for us to consider, so I will most certainly be passing your comments to the relevant people both at our support office and the restaurant manager. We do value all feedback, it is by listening to our... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our first recent visit resulted in the worst rib-eye steaks we have ever eaten. The service was good though. Our second recent visit was not good. I thought I would risk the rib-eye again and it was ok. My partner ordered a fillet and got a sirloin. We sent it back and by the time her meal arrived I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank janeburrage5WC
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you Jane for taking the opportunity to let us know your recent visit - we value all feedback no matter how disappointing it is for us to read. We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, it is clear however on this occasion we have failed to deliver our usual high standard of both food... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very Nice but Small Restaurant where we received excellent service form both of the people we were served by. They were very attentive and cherry!! The food was very good served quickly and very tasty. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Rafick E
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you Rafick for your great review - All the team at Brighton will be thrilled with your feedback, as we all are of course ! Thanks so much for letting us know, it's always great to hear when we get things right. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

When it's a dense chocolate cake - no ooze. Indifferent staff, acceptable food, lovely dining room - very, very french.

Helpful?
Thank Lisabn3
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, so are disappointed to learn neither were to the usual high standards found at this restaurant. So we may look into your visit further and provide a more appropriate and personal response, we would welcome some additional details of your visit at our contact page -(caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit). Thank you... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the duck I had here. It was perfectly succulent. I normally avoid franchises, but It was a lovely meal.

Helpful?
Thank Duru Ö
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review - great to hear you enjoyed one of our signature and most popular dishes - the slow cooked Brittany duck leg ! Thanks so much, we do hope after this experience you will visit again Best wishes More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 66
Cuisine
French, European, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Prince Albert Street, Brighton BN1 1HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 774422
Description
Brighton Lanes, in the historic quarter, is a labyrinth of winding alleyways. Located just a stone's throw from Brighton beach and the Royal Pavilion, this quaint area is bursting with history, shops and places to eat. Soak up the atmosphere of The Lanes at Café Rouge. With a great location just minutes away from the seafront, it's the perfect place to grab a meal after working up an appetite enjoying all that Brighton has to offer.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Rouge Brighton and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hove

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Rouge Brighton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?