We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kingsbridge Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Leechwell Street | Totnes, Devon, Totnes TQ9 5SY, England
+44 1803 866111
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Tue - Thu 10:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 249: English reviews
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this pub as it has a nice upstairs room and space for a live band. It was a adult birthday celebration party for around 50 people. Unfortunately it changed hands through the time of booking. The new temporary managers (who should be permanent) responded well to the booking and provided a decent hot buffet at £7.95 a head. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank TotnesReviewer
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited this lovely old pub last year whilst on holiday in Totnes so as we were back again in Oct/November this year we decided to go back since it is very close to our holiday cottage. The new owners seem friendly and chatty. We had some chips and a drink on the first evening, and just a drink on... More 

Helpful?
Thank A1963
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

First visited this pub o a Sunday evening,The menu was limited but we chose and it was fine.The atmosphere was OK chef and bar staff friendly.Not many people. We paid a return visit during the week.The place was empty we were told that if we had come to eat the menu was limited as the fridge hadbroken down.The menu in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Humulus
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

A previous review 'Gone Downhill' is right. Since when is it ok to serve wine in a tumbler... or not provide matching wine glasses and ask if you want to drink the cider from the bottle. Just shoddy. The food was expensive for what was on offer which was limited. Its time to decide... be a drinking pub and have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tippilongstocking
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We were hungry, happened to be by the sign for this pub so wandered up. It was early evening so the place was pretty empty. We looked at menu as we walked in and instantly the chef, who had been standing outside, popped over and said he had just changed the menu and it was all on a blackboard inside.... More 

Helpful?
Thank bluemonster
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

This used to be a charming old inn. The food is now ordinary and the service very slow. It took over an hour to serve a simple order. We were also left in a very poorly lit area.

Helpful?
Thank Andy F
gavin v, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this review

Hello Andy, May I ask when it was you came in? If we are busy we do tell people how long the wait will be as all our food is freshly prepared and cooked. This means it can take a bit longer for the food to come out. Especially if we are busy. I'm sorry you're not happy with the... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016

great pub hidden at the back of the village. we went for sunday lunch ,the food was excellent. would go back again

Helpful?
Thank nickswansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Very good pub grub. Looked packed from outside but plenty of room inside. We had 2Vegetarian curries a queniou burger and a leek and spinach queche. All excellent with the curries being outstanding. The desserts were also very good. The service was good but slow.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley Thomad H
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Only popped in for a nibble. Ordered some side orders to share amongst us and overall we weren't very impressed. The food we had was quite bland and just didn't taste great and although it may not reflect the rest of the food, we will not be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Dave2699
gavin v, Owner at The Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this review

Hello Dave, I am sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. May I ask when you visited us and what it was you ordered? We don't really have much in the way of sides except chips and homemade beer battered onion rings. I would like to know so we can ensure this doesn't happen again as its the first... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This place has recently changed owners again so we thought we would give it a try. The service was very welcoming and pleasant, price of the food was very good (especially for Totnes). The food itself was delicious, well cooked and plenty of it! Would recommend the Moroccan lamb! Definitley worth walking to the top of town for!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B

Travellers who viewed The Kingsbridge Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Kingsbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 23:00
Thursday
10:30 - 23:00
Friday
10:30 - 23:30
Saturday
10:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Leechwell Street | Totnes, Devon, Totnes TQ9 5SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 866111
Description
Under new ownership and re-opening 13th May. A very warm welcome awaits... The Kingsbridge Inn is the oldest pub in Totnes, dating back to the 17th Century. Every nook provides a little history and a lot of character. There is a private function room available upstairs which can be hired for wedding receptions, anniversaries or perhaps a business meeting. Whatever your requirements, the dedicated team will work with you to plan your event. You can even hire our Inn exclusively. Our log burner will keep you cosy on cold winter days, or you can soak up the rays during summer on our decked patio... We even welcome your well-behaved furry friends! Dog snacks available! Let The Kingsbridge Inn be your worst kept secret!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kingsbridge Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?