We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Willow Tree

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Condor Way, Torquay TQ2 7TG, England
+44 1803 615245
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 371: English reviews
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ok carvery go early to avoid dried up meat & veggies the waitress was nice just lots of problems with starters & the desserts must off been a new chef in the end we all had to laugh about it and too be fair they gave us all free coffees by way of applogy

Helpful?
Thank John G
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good afternoon John G Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, apologies for the confusion with your starters and desserts, I will ensure further training is carried out the the team. Kind regards Claire More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The all you can eat carvery is great and can be very fresh and tasty if you go early enough as on many occasions I was faced with dried up food which doesn't look to inviting, the carvery is exactly what you would expect and is presented well and a choice of three meats and loads of veg on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon K
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good afternoon Simon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have been working closely with my kitchen manager to improve our food quality on quieter shifts since joining the business so I do hope on your future visits you will see an improvement. Kind regards Claire More 

Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a Christmas festive menu last week with 10 friends, but it was a bit disappointing. One of the starters didn't come out and everyone had eaten theirs before the last one came out and it was wrong. Chicken strips were ordered but chicken nuggets came out. As this meal had been pre ordered five days previously it should... More 

Helpful?
Thank balletteDevon
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

I apologise that your recent visit wasn't to the standard that both you and I expect of the Willow Tree. I will be discussing this closely with the team. Kind regards Claire More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great refit, good management and staff. Food was clean and good value for money. Much better than the old, stale, carvery. The serving area behind the carvery is light and clean. A far cry from the previous owners.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good morning, Richard M. Thank you for taking the time time to leave this review. I will be sharing this with the team. Thanks again, Claire More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit this restaurant regularly and we are never disappointed. We normally have the fish which is freshly cooked to order and has only a coating of batter, it is the best fish that we have had in the area. You can help yourself to as much veg. or salad that you want and all the food is fresh. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChTaboo
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review ChTaboo, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Claire More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really boring soggy pizza plenty of toppings though no kind of crust dire probably the worst Pizza I've ever paid for

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good morning Steven M I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your pizza when you ate with us recently, we would of happily replaced your meals for you had we been made aware of any problems. Apologies again Claire More 

Swindon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the willow tree this morning for breakfast arrived at 8.15 am 13/10/16 breakfast was out ready looking very inviting , laid out lovely, we were the first customers of the day, very polite service , think it was Dan who promptly got us some fried eggs so we're freshly cooked , all in all breakfast was delicious, first... More 

Helpful?
Thank scattygirl52
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Hi scattygirl52 Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast visit with us on the 13th. I am certain Dan and the rest of the team working will be pleased. Kind regards Claire More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here for many years, when it was crown carveries, never had any issues, since change over, food is cold, dried up, grey in colour and what I would describe as "stale" service terrible and wouldn't bother returning any longer :( sad as spent a good 9 years here. Very poor service and food now

Helpful?
Thank wardywardy80
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening wardywardy80 Since joining the Willow Tree four weeks ago I have been working closely with my kitchen manager to improve the quality of our food. I am sorry that your recent visit wasn't to the standard I am looking for but I will be discussing the matter with my kitchen manager in more detail. Apologies again Claire More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't go anywhere else for breakfast! The Willow Tree can't be beaten for value. All the breakfast items are cooked just right. The staff are friendly and polite and Willow Tree serves lovely coffee, who could ask for more?

Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Christopher W, the team will be pleased when I show them. Kind regards Claire More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten here for many years. Just lately it has been given a much needed refurbishment and it is now very light airy and welcoming. The carvery is great with so much choice. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the other main considerations is the price - terrific value for money. We often make the journey from Exeter... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzyblue31
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good morning suzyblue31 Thank you for taking the team to leave us your review, I will be certain to make the team aware of your comments. Kind regards Claire More 

Travellers who viewed The Willow Tree also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Willow Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 10
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Television, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Condor Way, Torquay TQ2 7TG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 615245

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Willow Tree and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Willow Tree staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?