We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Willow Tree

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Condor Way, Torquay TQ2 7TG, England
+44 1803 615245
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 388: English reviews
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A few friends and I decided to go for all you can eat breakfast, as food establishments can't get that wrong and they didn't it was all fresh and very hot, very tasty and lots to choose from, well done willow tree I will be returning soon.

Helpful?
Thank Simon K
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you Simon Glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Claire More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Since this pub has been taken over it is awful. We waited over an hour for our food to be told it would take another 45 minutes. Have to add we left and asked for a full refund which we never got just got a refund on our drinks. I would not return as it has gone badly downhill since... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carenza C
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening Carenza This is not the standard I would accept my team to deliver and I can only apologise for the service you received on your recent visit. I am away from the business until Wednesday but if you would like to give me a call then I on 01803 715245 I will be more than happy to discuss... More 

Goodrington, Paignton
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

we went for a meal on wednesday my partner ordered the carvery i ordered off the menu, he said he would wait to get his when mine came we waited and waited in the end i told him to get his he had finished which he did say was very nice and mine still hadnt come(a fishfinger bap) i ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank E173ERpeterh
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good morning E173ERpeterh My duty manager did explain the situation that occured on your recent visit when we worked together on our next shift. It disappoints me that you had such a long wait for your fish finger bap and I have discussed ticket management with the kitchen manager, who is in the process of addressing with the whole kitchen... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am forced to frequent this establishment as my bargain hunting grandparents like the cheap prices. The service is terrible.. they have no basic customer service skills and sometimes it feels like the staff go out of their way to make your experience less enjoyable.. the food is different every time I come and ranges from disgusting to inedible.. each... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chesh9
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening chesh9 I shall be addressing the points you have raised regarding the service that you say you receive from my team. We were unable to the serve the carvery on the 19-21 December due to extraction failure. I shall investigate who was working on those evenings and discuss your comments with them. Kind regards Claire More 

Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This place has been re-branded in recent months....supposed to be more up market....truth is, it's just an excuse to put the prices up. Visited yesterday for breakfast, car park was empty (now I know why).....dirty plates, luke warm to cold food, skeleton staff (grumpy), items not available without a considerable wait, music too loud, won't be going back anytime soon.....we... More 

Helpful?
Thank brixhamrfc
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening brixhamrfc Since we rebranded to Stonehouse our breakfast prices have remained the same. We offer an all you can eat breakfast for £4.29, and you just pay for drinks on top. Our tea and coffee, which is refillable is £1.69. Some of our food items such as eggs which do not hold well get cooked in small batches... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to live two minutes walk away from this place when it was a Big Steak pub in the late 90s. I used to love it then. We would quite often have a meal at home then walk down for dessert and a couple of drinks. I don't get the current obsession with dirt cheap carveries though. You get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Dave. Having only moved to Torquay a few months ago I can't comment on what the pub used to be like, all I can say is that all I expect of the team to is to give great service be it for food or even a few pints. Next time you pop in make yourself... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friends and I have been coming here for years, today's the last time! The waitress behind the count was so rude when asking for a kids meal (which I've had for years as I don't eat more than 1 slice of meat) she agreed for my to later find out she's charged me for an adults. When I called... More 

Helpful?
Thank nvo298
General Manager A, Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening, I am sorry that you feel this way about your recent visit. Our regular carvery is priced at £7.99 on a Sunday, however we do offer our carvery during the week at a discounted price of £5.49, or for guests with a smaller appetite we can offer a saver carvery at £4.99. Regarding your comments about the food... More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a family meal as ever it was busy at lunch time. We want pizza and chicken etc, not carvery. As we got to the counter to order we where inform that is was only carvery available. I assume this was due to the lack off staff working. The food was very nice, however let people know before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ianbbest48
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening Ianbest48 Since joining the business 3 months ago I have worked to ensure staffing levels were correct, last Monday being an exception where we were much busier than we anticipated. However plans were put into place to move us forward and to ensure it didn't happen again. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and see you sometime... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well impressed enjoyed our lunch. Kids loved there Pizza vanished in mins the burgars are lush .thanks

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Thank you Dave for your review. The team and I are glad you enjoyed your meals. Kind regards Claire More 

Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The carvery was nice - hot and well cooked. The man serving the carvery was happy and pleasant but the lady on the pizza section was rude and grumpy. The sundae dessert was well made and the brownie was lovely and chewy but the ice cream was crumbly and the cream on top just dissolved when you touched it. Overall... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank N H
General Manager A, General Manager at The Willow Tree, responded to this review

Good evening N H Thank you for leaving us a review here on trip advisor. Your comments will be shared with the team so that we can try to make improvements. Kind regards Claire More 

Travellers who viewed The Willow Tree also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Willow Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 10
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Television, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Condor Way, Torquay TQ2 7TG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 615245

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Willow Tree and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Willow Tree staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?