We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Unicorn Harvester

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
160 Plymouth Road, Plymouth PL74NE, England
+44 1752 337939
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 579: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I was very pleased with my visit today at the harvester. The food was hot and on time. Our waitress Amber was attentive, friendly and always had a smile on her face. Will definitely visit again and recommend to family and friends!

Helpful?
Thank KarenWilliams46
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review amber will be pleased we look forward to seeing you soon More 

Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went for a meal as a family get together. It was a memorable meal for all the wrong reasons. The service was very slow. I know there were several of us but these restaurants are designed round large gatherings. Gave our drink orders after several minutes came back and said one of the drinks a draught beer was unavailable but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetravelling757
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

We would like to apologise for the steak not being the best on the day this has been taken up with our supplier, I would also like to apologise if you thought the manager was not helpful on the Day. All feedback is used to train and coach the whole team to prevent this happening again. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm not sure where to begin. 1st we called an we're told that if we could get there soon we wouldn't need to book as they were quiet. Arrived an there were no tables free so had to sit in the bar which was fine although now wishing we'd stuck with a drink an left. We had to order at... More 

Helpful?
Thank ProudMummyOfTwo
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review this has already been replied to as you left the same response on Facebook I'd like to thank you again for your feed back More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

This must be the worst place I have had food. The food was horrible , cold , mess, slapped in a dish .

Helpful?
Thank steve c
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review please contact me at the Unicorn to discuss this further More 

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

having not booked, we were able to get a table for two, great, drinks ordered and arrived promptly, told about the salad bar, which i must say, was great, really enjoyable, then the main meals arrived, my husband really enjoyed his gammon steak, i had the buttermilk chicken wrap, which was really heavy handed with the advocado, but o.k. the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review we take all comments on board More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our visiting family here for a meal last night as The Harvester is 'child friendly' and there were four of them. First shock was how prices had risen after recent refurb - but it was our treat for family and we were not going to spoil it. Free salad bar - very poor selection of dishes that looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasione301
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

We would like to apologise if you thought the food was not up to our normal high standards I do not understand that the salad was not fresh as we had a chef on salad bar all evening so it was constantly being refilled all evening. There is always more than one Duty Manager on shift who would have been... More 

Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the harvester after a long day at Paignton Zoo and seeing as there were 14 of us, we were pleased they could fit us in. My starter of halloumi skewers didn't taste of halloumi and were as greasy as anything. My husbands potato skins were greasy, oily and were served in a cereal bowl which I found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare K
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to us there is always a duty manager on shift that would have been more than happy to rectify any issues at the time More 

Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I returned with my family to celebrate my youngest niece turning 1. The kids in the family love the salad and for us adults the booze is cheap and the food comes in big hearty portions. I have seen plenty of reviews here saying the food isn't the best - but I do wonder what they are judging the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liam B
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a meal told no tables in restaurant but 3 empty so we sat in the bar area starter I wanted they didn't have had mixed grill for main sauce I wanted they didn't have complained to waitress about mixed grill never come back were not attentive avoid

Helpful?
Thank nancylewtiger
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us the restaurant can have empty tables at times this is because they have been booked on line.There is always a duty manager on shift that would have been more than happy to rectify any issues at the time More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food, although had to wait a while for waitress after being seated and had to leave table to find waitress to ask for the bill. When we received the bill it was incorrect, but the management amended it whilst we waited patiently. Will go again as usually receive excellent service and food.

Helpful?
Thank G Michelle L
General Manager A, Manager at The Unicorn Harvester, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your food and we will continue to train our team on service thank you for taking the time to leave your review More 

Travellers who viewed The Unicorn Harvester also viewed

 

Been to The Unicorn Harvester? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 19
Cuisine
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 160 Plymouth Road, Plymouth PL74NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 337939
Description
At The Unicorn Harvester in Plymouth food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Plymouth, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Plympton, Marsh Mills and Eggbuckland, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Unicorn Harvester and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Unicorn Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?