We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
+44 1752 671100
Today
08:00 - 15:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My dad used to do this so I think it is amazing you see all the ships view Cornwall amazing to do drinks on board you got to try to see how lovely it is

Helpful?
Thank Lee B
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

So sorry for the delay in replying to you! Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review for us. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you aain soon. Kind Regards Kirstin More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

I went to this cafe when in town with my friends as a small stop to compliment my day. As I walked in, I was greeted by a good smell, and instantly felt warm and comfortable inside the building. I asked for a cup of tea, and the girl at the counter was quick and efficient in making the drink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank smithy21200
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review! We really appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards Kirstin More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Arrived mid morning for breakfast and coffee with my wife and 2 friends. The coffees arrived promptly and the waitresses were very friendly, which was excellent for a small and busy cafe. After a short wait our breakfasts arrived and they were delicious, we particularly liked how the tomatoes were fresh and not canned. Coffee was of good quality, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David16758
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your food and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kirstin More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

I have visited twice in the last month. Once for a take away bacon sandwich on brown bread, delivered on white bread, the girl offered to change it and I asked if that was just a swap the bread exercise to which she replied "Yes". Second visit was for coffee and two bowls of chips, Coffee appeared after a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank d152599a
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with us .... I do remember offering to change your sandwich for you, but would certainly have made you a fresh sandwich and not just swapped the bread, I must have misunderstood what you said and for that I sincerely apologise. With regard to the coffee and chips, our chips... More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016

It was a year to the day since I visited last. I was looking forward to the same great breakfast after 3 days of sailing over from Chichester, but unfortunately I was somewhat disappointed. The fried egg was overcooked, mushrooms dried up (actually crispy) and toast was burnt. I am not sure what has happened, but I didn't expect the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Havant
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm really sorry that you were disappointed when you last came to us. We are trialling new cooks at the moment and it is possible that that was the reason why. Your breakfast should have been checked before it went out and if you had pointed it out then we would have replaced... More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The girl taking the order seemed very confused by our simple order of one Captains breakfast, one full English and a tea and a coffee. It was not helped by her not having a pen and having to borrow mine, which she then failed to return! She then had the problem of trying to calculate how much change to give... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisK303
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, at this time we were training a new Saturday girl and unfortunately new staff make mistakes and can be disorganised, while this is no excuse for your bad experience we hope that you will understand and that you will visit again to give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.... More 

Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend visited Sound Bites very friendly welcome Newspaper's to read great views of Plymouth Sound. We had a light Breakfast and a Coffee. And passed our time there with a Lovely Lady who served us well worth a visit. Enjoy your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mal S
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed you visit and that the service you received was good as well as the food and drink. We hope to see you again soon Bob and his team More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015

Visited for breakfast after finishing the Fastnet with our crew. A rapidly served breakfast was the order of the day and enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel_Havant
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Bob and his team More 

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Stopped off here with my family for lunch, friendly staff and great service. Food was great and nothing was to much trouble. Great place with a great view. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe F
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you Zoe F for your kind review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. We have spent time improving the business but it is an ongoing project so we hope that you come and visit us in the future and hopefully be pleased with the result. Thank you again and all the best Bob and... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2015

I was really impressed with the updated cafe. Andy's food was lovely, well cooked and the service was really quick. Wonderful coffee and a lovely tucked away location. Perfect place to escape for a good breakfast in the peace and quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We have taken some time to improve things and whilst it's been a difficult journey I believe that we are nearly there. Thank you again and I hope we have the pleasure in serving you again in the future Bob and his team More 

Travellers who viewed Sound Bites also viewed

 

Been to Sound Bites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 10
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Parking Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Takeout, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 671100
Description
Small, friendly waterside cafe offering Full English cooked breakfasts, lunches, sandwiches, cakes, and snacks, some Vegetarian and Gluten free options are available. We have outside seating with wonderful views across the Sound and 2 hours free parking is available. Children and dogs are very welcome.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sound Bites and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Devon
over a year ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Devon
3 months ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sound Bites staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?