We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fish on the Harbour

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
+44 1598 753600
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Good fish and chips, homemade tartar sauce, nice pot of tea, just opposite harbour. Really enjoyed our lunch and great value compared to London prices.

Helpful?
Thank KAW687
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your meal, and hope to see you again soon. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were staying locally for a few nights so popped along for lunch. The service was very friendly and warm but we, having dreamt of seaside fish n chips, were rather disappointed by the cod which was far from freshly caught. Generally you enjoy the fish in its entirely but ours was a small loin (mine without... More 

Helpful?
Thank jemwalk
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal,however i am confused as to what it is that you are saying,you state that you normally enjoy a fish in its entirety,all fish and chip shops batter fillets of fish not whole fish. yes it is very quiet this time of year but that does not effect the freshness or... More 

Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Really enjoyed fish and chip meal with my family in the resturant. Lovely meal, couldn't find any faults with it. Fish was great, batter light and even enjoyed the chips (don't normally eat chips). Friendly staff, good service and clean restaurant. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Well cooked and tasty food on a wet and windy afternoon. Nice staff and good selection of food. Worth a try

Helpful?
1 Thank Dst45
Newnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Had lunch here today. Lovely pot of crab, salad, bread and butter and side of chips. Staff very friendly and helpful, lots of people enjoying amazing portions of fish and chips and other tasty looking things. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank wookeroo
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

Visited here twice now, and I've always found the fish and chips to be excellent. The fish is cooked in a light and non-greasy batter which doesn't drown out the flavour of the fish like the usual stodgy chip-shop batter. My partner enjoyed his beetroot and goat's cheese burger. Portion sizes are decent and the service was good. We've always... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kittycatem
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Delicious crab sandwiches and tasty chips. But pricy but great location and ideal if you have dogs. Added bonus of being licensed.

Helpful?
1 Thank SneekyPeek
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stopped here to get some fish and chips to eat on the beach. There was a bit of a wait for the food, but I guess its cooked fresh to order as it was quite late on in the evening. The food was great and piping hot and resonably priced. No complaints from us or our dogs, who had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curiousginger
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

When in here for a crab sandwich. Unfortunately the menu didn't actually say I was getting the crab plus the shell. Every bite was full of crab shell. This is very amateurish preparation of food as leaving shell in the food you serve is a school boy error. We also had the deep fried fish platter which was over cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Family holiday and was disappointed with the rock cafe as we were told there chef was on holiday so only sandwich available so wandered across the bridge to the fish on the harbour. Best choice we made all week. Great food delivered promptly and all together and for our extended family of 9 the total bill was £75.60. Well done... More 

Helpful?
Thank WowOrOuch

Travellers who viewed Fish on the Harbour also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Fish on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1598 753600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fish on the Harbour and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fish on the Harbour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?