We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hain Line

) #87 of 104 Restaurants in St Ives , British,
Tregenna Place, St Ives, England
+44 1736 792920
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good37%
  • Average23%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (8 reviews)
“rice” (5 reviews)
“curry” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tregenna Place, St Ives, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Ordered food for four adults and two kids. The kids meal consisted of a main meal, a piece of fruit and a drink. The staff member 'forgot' the fruit option and I had to prompt him to provide it. Another staff member with blue hair...More

Thank Jess L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited twice in two weeks- not really up to the standard you would expect for Wetherspoons chain. Waited 10 minutes for a meal to be corrected on one occasion- gave it second chance but wished we hadn't! Dirty tables, sticky menus, food on the floor...More

Thank Dave H
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that your visit to the pub was not up to standard. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We decided to give this place another chance after calling in a long time ago intending to eat and declining.We had a drink whilst looking at the menu.However,upon seeing the state of the place it put us right off eating.It was dirty,lots of uncleared tables...More

Thank Carol S
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that your visit to the pub was not up to standard. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Reviewed 13 July 2017

It's Wetherspoon's. They put a hash brown in a wrap. Menu includes calorie count. Does this make Baby Churro happier or sadder?

Thank BabyChurro
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Reviewed 8 July 2017

My wife and I often pop over to St Ives from neighbouring Penzance just for a change even though we have our own Wetherspoon Inn but on more than one occasion we have been disappointed in St Ives. We tend to do our eating out...More

Thank tangoelowann
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. Wetherspoons is always very competitive in price to pubs in that area. This may be why the prices are higher than in Penzance. For the area our prices are a lot cheaper than...More

Reviewed 6 July 2017

I had the veggie breakfast, almost all of it was cold, the eggs were hard and the mushroom was swimming in oil.The place was messy too, I did not complain as I was ewith my sons and they would have been embarrassed. Won't go again!

Thank cdw1956
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that your visit to the pub was not up to standard. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Not your typical wetherspoons. The service was extremely slow compared to other wetherspoons and tables were not cleared/cleaned quickly. A fair selection of beers and drinks at the welcoming cheaper prices than other St.Ives bars.

Thank Mez L
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that your visit to the pub was not up to standard. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

After having been to a number of Wetherspoons Hotels I truly am appalled at the state of this restaurant... dirty, messy and NO WAY the usual status of other restaurants. Staff lacked professionalism and did not show any pride in their jobs.. The restrooms reflected...More

Thank UK714
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that your visit to the pub was not up to standard. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Had an evening meal, i had steak which was very well cooked and thoroughly enjoyed....my huband had mixed grill which was nice but the steak was overcooked!! Great prices and good service!!

Thank Kerran B
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am happy you had a good visit to the pub.

Reviewed 25 June 2017

We have stayed in St Ives for the past six years at least once each year, and always visited this pub. generally it is OK for a breakfast and coffee, but we noticed it had declined since last year. Service is terribly slow, staff don't...More

Thank potters21
wilcey33, Manager at The Hain Line, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that your visit to the pub was not up to standard. I will go through your comments with the staff to improve on these issues.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cornish Deli
510 reviews
.06 km away
The Mex
618 reviews
.03 km away
The Hidden Kitchen & Dining
171 reviews
.11 km away
Back Street Bistro
742 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Porthminster Beach
1,190 reviews
.19 km away
Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden
1,057 reviews
.18 km away
Kidz R Us
170 reviews
.13 km away
St Ives Bay
144 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hain Line staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tregenna Place, St Ives, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 792920
Description
It's a Wetherspoons pub
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing