We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

steam bar

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
The Great Western, Newquay R7 2NE, England
+44 1637 872010
Call
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (17 reviews)
“coleslaw” (4 reviews)
“mussels” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Great Western, Newquay R7 2NE, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Used the most for meals a good food selection, plenty of out door seating , a good on route beer stop from beach, pet friendly

Thank Chrisone1502
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your 5*review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Family lunch on Christmas Day and have to say it was very good, Staff were competent, organised, and worked hard. Food was served in a timely fashion but not rushed at all. We sat by the window where you see around the bay which was...More

Thank leggie
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for reviewing the meal you had with us on Christmas day. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and that the staff will be happy to hear your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went with my friends for lunch. Perhaps they were getting prepared for the evening dinners. My BLT was wilted. Bacon freezing. Crisps vegatable, salad seen better days. . Looked un attractive. Did complain but was told I should have ask for the bacon to be...More

Thank gillie888gillie
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I’m sorry to hear you wasn’t impressed with the food. However, the manager you had spoken with did get our kitchen staff to make you a fresh BLT with the hot bacon as requested,...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We're staying at the Best Western Hotel This is part of it . Breakfast was plenty , hot also Good Quality food but it is pricy for what it is But so far no complaints nest thing is you can sit by windows in a...More

Thank neil r
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The food was great but the service was unacceptably slow. Very extensive menu with a lot of local seafood

Thank David W
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Steam bar, It’s always wonderful to hear that the food was great, I am however sorry to hear the service was slow. I hope this hasn’t put you off visiting us in the future.

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stunning views of the beach from the back of the restaurant. Good selection of traditional pub food with local variations. I had the venison bangers and mash and he had the halloumi burger which were both good. Lots of local beers and the popular rattler...More

Thank Sam3314
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Steam bar, we are ever so happy to hear you did enjoy your visit to us. The views are incredible, we feel very lucky to be able to have them on our doorstep! We hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

We were attracted by the Monday special offer - two ten ounce steaks and a bottle of red wine for £30. Didn't expect too much but it was surprisingly very good, and the wine was very nice too. Order at the bar and waitress service...More

Thank 186378Phil
Reviewed 11 October 2017

so good to be able to sit out and enjoy the views,dog bowls,kids play area,good service,if the weather not so good,huge indoor bar area

1  Thank mandyCornwall
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Steam, I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Well view stunning.food very basic. But ok.shock dog in owners arms wow no big deal.bar man with dark hair no logo on black shirt pats the dog and dog licks his fingers then serves them 1 beer 1 coke .Did was hands ? But wipe...More

Thank spikler
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Steam, I am ever so sorry to hear about the incident that happened on site. I will be speaking with the staff to ensure they know that this is unacceptable, and to remind them of hygiene.

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Went here as a change before returning home on Sunday, what a lovely view we had from the restaurant and the food is also nice. My husband recommends the steak!

Thank Gillian L
StAustellManagement, Manager at steam bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Steam bar, the view is amazing we are very lucky! I’m glad to hear you did enjoy your visit to us, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

PreviousNext
12345639
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 37 hotels in Newquay
Great Western Hotel
940 reviews
.03 km away
Eliot Hotel
238 reviews
.14 km away
Bay Beresford Hotel
902 reviews
.14 km away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
519 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kahuna
1,211 reviews
.13 km away
The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop
810 reviews
.13 km away
Butchers Bistro
646 reviews
.09 km away
Maharajah Indian Restaurant
2,258 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
EBO Adventure
62 reviews
.41 km away
Tolcarne Beach
415 reviews
.13 km away
Blue Reef Aquarium
1,355 reviews
.61 km away
Towan Beach
98 reviews
.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Smiffy500
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Dawn D | Reviewed this property |
yes I have seen dogs inside and out
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Great Western, Newquay R7 2NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 872010
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing