We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Terrace at the Headland

Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
+44 1637 872211
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (21 reviews)
“clotted cream” (4 reviews)
“cake” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

the three adults of our party decided to have a good meal whist waiting for the teenagers to come back from boardmasters my friend has real issues with allergies and for once we were asked for allergy information without having to offer it. The menu...More

Thank alitravls
Reviewed 5 days ago

The afternoon tea was to be a highlight in our year, always wanted to try one and went to this hotel with friends with high expectations. The sandwiches were not made with a quality bread, the fillings were as basic and tasteless as they could...More

Thank JoannaBlogs
Reviewed 1 week ago

A big cheer for the staff who served us for lunch at this lovely hotel they were excellent. Our visit was off the cuff but I came way feeling really spoilt after a tasty lunch, in a stunning setting served by friendly professional staff. I’m...More

Thank marcia s
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Marcia What a wonderful review - and thank you so much for your recommendation . I have passed your comments onto the Team and they are delighted. Best wishes Lucy

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in here for refreshments as we were on a afternoon walk around newquay, My hubby and dad had drinks and mum and myself has cream teas.The scones were very nice and the waiter was very friendly and chatty. We sat outside and the...More

Thank tracetml
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. On your next walk, do pop by again and next time you must try one of our delicious Full Afternoon Teas - they are glorious. Best wishes Lucy

Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to have dinner here due to the lovely setting and reports of good food. However, the first problem we encountered was in trying to book. The person we spoke to originally said they didn't take restaurant bookings unless you were a resident, but...More

Thank IndigoStar79
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your feedback. Your comments are extremely constructive and have been shared across the Terrace and Kitchen teams. I can assure you the comments you have shared above have been duly noted and I can assure you, your next review will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Service here is erratic and inconsistent. Have visited at all times of day and they are all over the place on service. Initially all over the customer then forgetful and shirty when pulled up on it. Utterly rude when changing the service terms one night....More

Thank JaniceDerbyshire
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Janice Thank you for your review and I am appalled you were spoken to this like this. Please be assured action has been taken regarding this. Should you decide to return to The Terrace and I truly hope you do, please contact lucy.trescothick@headlandhotel.co.uk and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit at The Terrace, food was ok for the price. The ambiance is nice with a lovely view of the ocean. Unfortunately what spoils it a bit is the service: the staff is polite but not too attentive. On both our...More

Thank KCMH1
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am sorry for the delay with your orders, I can assure you folding napkins are certainly not a priority - especially over our guests! please be assured this feedback has been been acknowledged and action taken by our Terrace Manager. Best wishes Lucy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had cream tea here with 9 other people. Real treat. It was a tad expensive £18 each but well worth it. Little scones were home made. Sandwiches assorted and little cakes. Would def recommend it.

Thank chris m
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Chris Thank you for a fantastic review and recommendation. We have a range of fabulous full afternoon tea's however should you fancy something smaller we do have just the traditional cream tea's available which can be enjoyed throughout the day. Best wishes Lucy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you manage to gut it: full afternoon Tea is very good - but you have to book it in advance. If yo come with kids and take the kids menu: check the bill, we experienced twice, that the menu it was calculated as single...More

Thank Oliver T
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Oliver Thank you for your review and we do always recommend to book in advance to avoid disappointment. As you rightly feedback, the offering is very generous however we do offer to package up anything left over so you can enjoy later. Our menus...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Come on the headland please get your act together ! After a poor visit 3 days ago in the afternoon we decided to give the terrace restaurant another try as previous visits over the years have been good , however this year extremely disappointed 😞...More

4  Thank Paula C
TheHeadlandHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Terrace at the Headland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paula Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you describe. I will most certainly pass all your comments to the Terrace Manager. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best wishes Wyn

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 hotels in Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4,150 reviews
.01 km away
Carnmarth Hotel
578 reviews
.37 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
1,111 reviews
.54 km away
Key West Hotel
10 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fish House - Fistral
1,494 reviews
.20 km away
Box & Barber Coffeehouse
207 reviews
.76 km away
Harbour Fish and Grill
816 reviews
.70 km away
Little Italy
704 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fistral Beach
3,692 reviews
.27 km away
Fistral Beach Surf School
295 reviews
.27 km away
Quiksilver Surf School Newquay
527 reviews
.99 km away
Vertical Descents Cornwall
294 reviews
.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Terrace at the Headland staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 32
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 872211
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing