We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Goshawk

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
The Goshawk Station Road | Mouldsworth, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
+44 1928 740900
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (14 reviews)
“lamb shank” (15 reviews)
“prawns” (13 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Goshawk Station Road | Mouldsworth, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 555 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Haven't been to the Goshawk for some time. We both enjoyed our lunch. I chose the roast lamb which was flavoursome and accompanied with a lovely selection of vegetables. My husband chose a chicken dish with orzo, which he thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were welcoming...More

Thank vanessahelsby
Reviewed 3 days ago

Was very disappointed with our latest visit to The Goshawk. Both ordered sunday lunch, the beef was totally overcooked and the vegetables undercooked. The pub talks proudly of their Yorkshire puddings and ours were burnt. We complained and changed the beef to the lamb but...More

Thank Sara M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having eaten here at least 10 times over the years, food and service has always been top notch. Unfortunately tonight was an all round fail on the food and service front. 1. Forgotten drinks which had to be reordered. 2. Long wait for a cheesy...More

Thank Chris G
JenPatz89, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon Chris G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit. I apologise that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. All your comments on the food have been passed on to the kitchen team. You placed your complaint...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to try here after a lovely walk at delamere. Was very quiet when we arrived- I felt very uncomfortable in the restaurant area as there was no background music so everyone was trying to have private conversations without over hearing eachother. The menu was...More

Thank RK89
JenPatz89, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Rk89, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your latest visit was poor. I have passed all your comments on to the kitchen and FOH team, so that training can be done in the areas you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with our meal. We have eaten here 3 times previously this year and, generally been satisfied with the standard of cooking. The menu has changed, with less choice but some interesting ideas. I chose the soup which came only lukewarm. This was changed...More

Thank 2015Ric
JenPatz89, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon 2015Ric Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All your comments have been passed to on to the chefs again. I am glad the supervisor dealt with your issue quickly and you were happy with what was offered. Again i...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ordered the hake and winter ratatouille. It came as hake with roasted root veg. I queried this with the waitress. The message from the chef - it was his take on ratatouille!! It was tasty and the fish delicious but chef - it was...More

Thank pickyg44
JenPatz89, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon pickyg44 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the fish and will pass on your comments about our winter ratatouille on to our development chef. We hope you will visit us again. Regards...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to be greeted by our waitress who tbh was subdued to say the least. Moody and not happy with her job would be more appropriate. The first course food arrived before we had returned from the bar to order it¿ The main Sunday...More

Thank Paultheboat
JenPatz89, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning Paultheboat, I am sorry that at your last visit you were disappointed. I apologise that you found your waitress to be moody as this is not how our staff are, they are usually full of life and personality. I will pass on your...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

No longer how we remember it from several previous occasions. It is still a nice pub in a lovely setting but the standard has diminished significantly whilst the prices are high for what you get. Too many dishes have been "mucked" about with to make...More

Thank Dettorifan
JenPatz89, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning Dettorifan, I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed. I have passed on your comments to the chefs in regards to gravy and ice cream scoop size. I do hope that you give us another go. If you would like to...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

First impression was "wow" this is a wonderful old inn! We decided to eat here before we had even read the menu. It is everything you could possibly look for in an old English Inn. The staff were excellent and very helpful. We only wanted...More

Thank SheMel32
JenPatz89, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Good Afternoon SheMel32, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you like the pub and the staff. I am pleased to read that your husband enjoyed his steak. I am sorry to see that you sadly did not enjoy...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped off on way back from Chester and even though hadn’t booked and having ten of us we were seated within 5 minutes.. The menu was wonderful with so many selections and went for a fish pie,boring selection you might say but as tasty as...More

Thank City4evr
JenPatz89, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Good Afternoon City4evr Thank you for the amazing review. We are so glad you and your party enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards The Goshawk

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak Restaurant
369 reviews
2.79 km away
The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
408 reviews
4.01 km away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
125 reviews
4.51 km away
The Hornsmill at Helsby
1,403 reviews
4.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
J F Polo Academy
89 reviews
2.63 km away
Tarvin Sands
47 reviews
2.90 km away
Delamere Forest
657 reviews
4.45 km away
Helsby Hill
23 reviews
5.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Goshawk staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 16 - US$ 40
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Goshawk Station Road | Mouldsworth, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1928 740900
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing