We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Goshawk

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Goshawk Station Road, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
+44 1928 740900
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 459: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a very good meal off the Christmas Menu. Nice soup, perfectly cooked sea trout and a lovely cheesecake. Friendly staff and a cosy little pub. Good selection of real ales.

Helpful?
1 Thank JEN7072OJ
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Having visited this last summer my wife wanted us to celebrate her birthday here over Sunday lunch. We were running 30 mins late but the staff were very accommodating and rather unhurried. This was a surprise as all through the online booking process there were constant reminders that we only had the table for 2 hours; in the end we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ar2000d
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Evening ar2000d, Thank you for a fabulous review. Im so glad you were able to enjoy your birthday celebrations and that you enjoyed one of our new pies. The sticky toffee pudding is defiantly a well worth it sugar fest and i am glad you enjoyed it. The girls will be very pleased that you like the decorations they... More 

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a meal with friends, both the food and service where excellent. Staff also excellent as is the pub its self.

Helpful?
1 Thank pat z
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Evening pat z, Thank you for your lovely review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed both the food and the service given by the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Jennifer More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really good meal with friends on Friday night. The pub was really busy with a good atmosphere. Staff were really well organised and friendly. The food was all excellent. Among our food choices were scallops which were beautiful, also the lamb rump, duck and steak. Looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Evening Graham T, Thank you for your lovely review. I am please to see that you enjoyed our new menu and the wide selection of dishes available. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards The Goshawk More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I reserved a table for 6.00pm for five people to celebrate my grandson's birthday. When we arrived the restaurant was empty, our order was taken for drinks and food. Our drinks arrived and as we waited for our food the other tables became occupied. The diners on the other tables received their drinks and starters and we waited. They then... More 

Helpful?
Thank jac161
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Morning jac161, I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit with us and if possible could you contact me direct to discuss this further. Regards Aidan Buckley The Goshawk 01928 740 900 goshawk@hydesbrewery.co.uk More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked our table online and when we arrived we were seated very quickly followed by a drinks order. The food was amazing. Service was fantastic, Sophie our waitress looked after us very well. Thank you Sophie we will be returning very soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Morning Jordan C, What a fantastic review and I am so glad you had a really enjoyable evening with us. I will let Sophie know what a fab time you had as she will be very pleased. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards The Goshawk More 

Gettysburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been coming here for years ! It holds a special place in my heart. My grandad built their old play area and as a nipper I'd nag him to take me there with my only slightly older uncle to play. I called in as I regularly do last Saturday ! The service and food was simply superb. However the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owain M
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Morning Owain M, I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with fellow patrons on Saturday. If you could contact me direct so that i can get more information from you and then pass it on to the relevant authorities. I am pleased that you still enjoyed your meal and the service and hope that you come... More 

Dunham on the Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are local to the area however after reading recent comments on this site we were reluctant to go back. We were getting the train to Chester for a night out so we decided to call in to have a few drinks bearing in mind the real ale selection is normally good, but to our disappointment the bar man stated... More 

Helpful?
Thank bill p
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Morning sam1980478, I am sorry to hear about your visit on Friday night and the lack of ales available. As standard we run with 3 ales, to ensure we offer high quality beer. We would welcome more feedback on this, to better understand what was said and to help us ensure that this situation does not occur again. Please... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The pub is lovely, great setting, good service but poor food unfortunately. All 3 adults went for the Special soup of the day to start, French Onion, this was really awful. We assumed as it was a special it would have been prepared in advance but we waited half an hour for boiled onion water. The chef clearly had never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hellybelly224
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Morning Hellybelly224, I sincerely apologise for the disappointing visit with us on Sunday. We took the soup off as soon as your table sent it back as we realised that it wasn't appropriate to serve to our customers. We are changing the menu this weekend and hope that the dishes that myself and our head chef have created now... More 

cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There have been some staff and menu changes. New staff are friendly but would benefit from quality training. Menu range is good,would like some more options for low fat / non dairy requirements. Staff member was quick to spot opportunities for swaps. However even she did not know that there was a milk/ cheese sauce on the haddock. There is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hermioneCheshire
Aidan_Buckley, Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Good Evening hermioneCheshire, Thank you for your feedback. We will look into some more staff training and we are going through a huge menu change this weekend and this will give us opportunity to do extra training with our team especially on each dish. Hopefully this menu gives you more choice for dietary requirements if not we will always endeavour... More 

Travellers who viewed The Goshawk also viewed

 

Been to The Goshawk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 16 - US$ 40
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Goshawk Station Road, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1928 740900

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Goshawk staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?