We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chatwins

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
+44 1244 344068
Website
Today
08:00 - 18:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A very busy Saturday in Chester we found this fabulous little cafe with lovely home made products We opted for scones with jam and clotted cream with a pot of tea each. The scones were light and full of fruit one of the best I've had would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Jelsef
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Must have cost quite a bit to reduce this once great cafe to a bog standard mostly self service place. New furniture - fine but if you want a meal try eating it off a low coffee table ( the place isn't that big and used to fill up quickly - probably not so much now though!!) .If you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAM13972
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

First of all, thanks for your review. We always appreciate hearing from customers...even if we've done something that doesn't make them happy, it helps us a great deal. We worried a lot about the changes to the cafe and what the reaction would be. The reason for the changes is that sales had declined over time to the point where... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is definitely the absolute worst customer service I have ever received in my life. I went into Chatwins bakery today to grab a quick meal for my lunch break and was served by a short, blonde girl who honestly shouldn't be dealing with people at all. As I asked her if I could order something, she proceeded to stare... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rowaann
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, even if we have done something wrong, it is good hear from our customers so we can deal with the issue. I apologise in the manner in which you were served. We pride ourselves on our level of service, and it is a disappointed to myself, and I am sure those that work in our... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch here instead of pret our usual stop when in town, the place is super busy, the staff seem young and a bit all over the place. Food was fine but I wouldn't go back. It isn't cheap either....

Helpful?
Thank Kep2015
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, and for paying us a visit rather than your usual, Pret. It is always difficult for a small local baker to compete with a national chain such as Pret and Starbucks and we appreciate you giving us a chance. Although it is good to hear that we were super busy, I am sorry that the... More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter just loves the pork and apple pasties here and I used to love coming for the earl grey and the waitress service but since that has gone so has the atmosphere and the place just seems so cold. The menu does seem to have shrunk and for vegetarians seems very limited. I doubt that we will come here... More 

Helpful?
Thank westgate123
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we always appreciate feedback, it helps us a great deal. I am sorry you don't like the changes. We worried a lot about the changes to the cafe and what the reaction would be. The reason for the changes is that sales had declined over time to the point where we... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Chatwins deco nice ,most staff pleasant ,would think they sell rye /soda bread even gluten free products ,no decaf tea or coffee or skimmed or soya milk ,also I've noticed at a few chatwins ,staff don't wear plastic gloves when making sandwiches ,which I thought this a recommendation when handling food ?

Helpful?
Thank Angel1234x
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry if you left disappointed. We are a Craft Bakery and make a number of speciality breads including Sourdough, Olive Bread, Cheese and Onion Bread and from next week Walnut and Cranberry. We have made Rye bread in the past, but unfortunately there was not much demand for this product so we discontinued... More 

Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being visitors to Chester we had no previous experience of this establishment. We popped in to have a look and decided to eat here but had to ask another customer if we could go upstairs or do we order downstairs as no clear signage to advise. When upstairs even more confused as we didn't know we had to go to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JAMcC2014
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Our apologises for confusion with ordering. We will look to improve our signage to help customers. As you rightly point out, this was a particularly busy day with it being graduation and half term holidays. We did have extra staff, but by the sounds still not enough to offer the service you should expect. Thanks you for the feedback, it... More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Came for a coffee and for something to eat nobody serving had to go down and ask if there was anybody in. Someone came from down stairs didn't seen organised .coffee just ok a bit bitter and food was nice. Will still use but not the cafe.

Helpful?
Thank Tockyno2
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Very sorry that no one was available to serve you upstairs. We normally staff upstairs between 9 am and between 4-5pm depending how busy the day is. Before or after those times then we encourage customers to eat downstairs. If the time you visited was between those times, then I do apologise if there was nobody at the counter to... More 

cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Oh dear my husband and I visited Chatwins today Thursday 18th for our usual lunch but were very disappointed!! We discovered it has been revamped and the lovely old fashioned service has gone. Such a shame , nobody to show us to our seat, no-one to take our order which you now have to trail to the counter to do.... More 

Helpful?
Thank granCheshire
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

First of all, thanks for your review. We always appreciate hearing from customers...even if we've done something that doesn't make them happy, it helps us a great deal. We worried a lot about the changes to the cafe and what the reaction would be. The reason for the changes is that sales had declined over time to the point where... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Chatwins has just had an extensive refit and it looks fantastic. We have been going there for years. Why? The staff! They are so friendly and it is coupled with good food which is excellent value for money. Try there meat and potato pasty!

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I know the staff read the reviews on Trip Advisor and will appreciate your kind words. More 

Travellers who viewed Chatwins also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 

Been to Chatwins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 18:00
Thursday
08:00 - 18:00
Friday
08:00 - 18:00
Saturday
08:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 344068
Description
Estblished in 1913, this family Bakers have been serving the people of South Cheshire with award winning Bakery products for over 100 years.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chatwins and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Runcorn, United Kingdom
20 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chatwins staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?