We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Atina Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
103 Foregate Street | City Centre, Chester CH1 1HE, England (Formerly 103 Foregate Street)
+44 1244 320894
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:30 - 16:00
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely dinner here a week ago. Food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. I had rump of lamb and my husband had the veggie stack. Both cooked to perfection. Lovely ambience and the staff couldn't make you feel more comfortable or welcome. A complimentary limoncello liqueur finished off the meal perfectly. Will return next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison O
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely environment, great salads. Male waiter could be a little more enthusiastic. Great drinks selection.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Always good food and excellent service. Coffee is to die for, and waitress Alison always very friendly and chatty. I find the breakfast a bit to pricey as its just full English. Other than that is a place to visit!

Helpful?
Thank 1991mia
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Liked the look of Atina on TA and decided to give it a go with our children while visiting Chester. LOVED it, very friendly staff, quaint and VERY good food. Burgers and Pasta were as good as they looked in the photos and don't be put off by The Lebanese wine as a fan of Chateau Musar we decided to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 66BJF
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear BJF , thanks for the excellent review , always good to get such a high rating from a seasoned ( level 6) reviewer. That Lebanese wine was a real find for us - from the Beka valley rather than the coastal hills - glad you really enjoyed it . Hope to see you and the family next time More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had to try here for brunch after reading such great reviews in trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Had thought we would have eggs benedict as everyone raved about them but I was drawn to hangover (scrambled eggs, with chorizo and ragu sauce in Tortilla wrap). and my husband had bacon sandwich. God was great as was the service.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Maggielew15
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear Maggielew, thanks for the great review. All our tea is made with loose leaves and therefore can take a bit of time to mash/ stew/ infuse .It sounds as if your tea had not been left long enough to infuse properly- if you had mentioned we would of course have remedied the situation. Glad you enjoyed everything else though... More 

Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were staying in Chester on a Thursday night, we looked at places to eat and Atina Kitchen seemed promising. However, this was our experience... we ordered a starter and main course from the menu and also a bottle of wine, after the waiter had taken the order I noticed on the wall that there was £5... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Stuart and wife , sorry you did not have the best of experiences at Atina. I know sometimes when things go wrong at the start , it does tend to leave a bitter taste in your mouth and then nothing seems to go or taste quite right. Addressing each of your points briefly if I may: - the offer... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting many eateries in Chester and been disappointed Atina is well worth a visit. Came here again and had a very good lunch. We look forward to returning.

Helpful?
2 Thank oracle54
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear Oracle, glad you found us eventually! Yes I can see from other reviews that you have not had the best of experiences with lunching in Chester, so now you have found us no double we will be seeing more of you. Thanks for the great review More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hmmm - lovely decor, friendly staff. Food was mixed. homemade humous was tasteless, but rest of mean was really good

Helpful?
1 Thank Linsloo
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Linsloo, thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry you found the humous a bit tasteless , as you say we make it all ourselves from basics , so it will vary a bit from the standard bought in varieties. Really pleased you found everything else so enjoyable though More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant on a Saturday night whilst visiting chester for a weekend break. Found it on trip advisor while searching for places to eat and it definitely didn't disappoint. Food was lovely and well presented and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Lovely atmosphere and very cosy!

Helpful?
3 Thank LBBlondie
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear LBBlondie, thanks for visiting Atina during your dip into England , glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for the great review and we hope to be able to serve you again soon More 

manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service lovely helpful staff. Small menu but good choice of meals. The restaurant layout is in 3 parts and is a lot bigger than you think from the front. The decor is very old style with cookbooks around the place quite different. The seating includes wooden pews thankfully these have cushions to sit on, a bit of a squeeze... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank melodymoon
Atina K, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear Melodymoon ( great name by the way ) , glad you enjoyed yourself and thanks for the great review. The semifredo has become our most popular dessert beating all the standard favourites, good to see you took the chance on something a bit different ! More 

Travellers who viewed Atina Kitchen also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Atina Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 25
Cuisine
Italian, Mediterranean, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:30
Thursday
09:00 - 21:30
Friday
09:00 - 21:30
Saturday
09:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 103 Foregate Street | City Centre, Chester CH1 1HE, England (Formerly 103 Foregate Street)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 320894
Description
Enjoying & sharing great food, drink & conversation with family, friends & even strangers (at times) is where we take our influence from. It's how we grew up. Although our roots are firmly in Italian cooking techniques, we love all cuisines & cooking styles at Atina Kitchen & this is reflected throughout our menus.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Atina Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?