We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
+44 1223 353554
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good38%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (19 reviews)
“pudding” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Not welcoming, no service, no smile, no interest at all from the staff. Kitchen is ok but wine not. Good for a student party not more.

Thank lilie4561
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this place after a long day of meetings in Cambridge... Multiple levels with different ales on each level, amazing waterfront location with views and outdoor patio. Food was fantastic and the staff were great - fun, talkative, really made the evening great... Thanks a...More

Thank Jonathan H
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I am so proud of my team when they get it bang on and thank you for taking the time to review us, always appreciated and we look forward to your next round of meetings! Truly glad you had a great evening.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a friendly pub with several good ales. The restaurant managed 10 different meals on time and well cooked for simple pub stuff. Sausages and Fish and chips looked best. Shame the stench from the gents loo pervaded all of the ground floor and...More

Thank oxforddr
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While this pub has a great location with a nice view of the River Cam, the food was only OK. We were there on a Sunday and hoped to get the Sunday Roast, but none of it was available! Settled for the mushroom mac and...More

Thank Cdn_Traveller505
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to comment - our chef is up bright and breezy on Sundays so our roast are cooked freshly therefore once they are gone they are gone.... we do hope you pop in for a drink and maybe we can tempt...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is in a great spot , right on the river and great for watching all the punts. We visited here on a Saturday lunchtime and were met by a friendly helpful waitress . Great table right by the window. Sadly the food was...More

Thank Hargs74
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your feedback we have passed this back to our chef and hope that you do come to try our Autumn menu which is coming very soon. If you would like to inbox me with your details I would appreciate it. I am...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Anchor is at a perfect location looking over the Cam, but the prices are ridiculous £6.50 for a pint, come on. The toilets are filthy with cubicles that have broken locks. Shame it could be amazing.More

Thank youknowthescore
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your feedback on board and value your comments. Our most expensive pint is £6.05 which is our Golden Ale from Hawaii, Big Wave which is a craft ale and therefore this comes at a cost. We do have a more varied range...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautifully placed bar/restaurant. We only went for a drink on the terrace. It was lovely to see all the people on the punts in the river. But to be honest nothing else was particularly good. The barman was slow and uninterested. The price was way...More

Thank Phil H
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear that our team did not engage you it is certainly something we like to take as a given. Our toilets are checked on a regular basis to ensure we keep them tidy and clean but especially when it rains we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, we all recommend what we had, super food salad and chicken , ( but pricey) fish and chips , great portion of fish and batter was crispy just to my liking, and burger and chips, maybe a little pricey overall however it was...More

Thank mark_jacklin
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and now you know where we are we look forward to seeing you again soon! Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Try and sit outside and watch the beginners taking their punts out - you will,have a laugh or two! Interior has some Pink Floyd memorabilia and pictures on the wall as this is one of,the places that members of,this group,hung out before they became a...More

Thank SkyviewEdmonton
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to see you took the opportunity on your visit to appreciate our interior too! Sitting outside is just great especially on a lovely sunny day hope you enjoyed your beer!

Reviewed 16 August 2017

A lovely spot on the riverside terrace - definitely get there as early as possible to get a table by the water. Be prepared to give up your spare seats and have people sharing the table! So while the setting is great the food is...More

Thank hannahclarkson
anchor c, General Manager at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Great to see that you were happy to share your table and thanks for that, as you know tables are limited! Our chicken flatbread is super popular and wonder if you could mail us to let us know what the problem was. We are however...More

Nearby Restaurants
Bread & Meat
533 reviews
.31 km away
The Cambridge Chop House
1,459 reviews
.27 km away
687 reviews
.30 km away
Loch Fyne
1,215 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
King's College Chapel
2,495 reviews
.34 km away
Fitzwilliam Museum
2,544 reviews
.34 km away
King's College
455 reviews
.31 km away
Corpus Clock
369 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
3 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from anchor c | Property representative |
Hey Great to hear that you enjoyed your ales here. On the pump on Friday we had our Greene King IPA and Stedfast - both available at all times and we also had we believe as they they fly out Bishop Nicks 1555, Hop Stash... More
Amanda M
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from anchor c | Property representative |
Our apologies that we did not come back to you our account had been blocked and we were unaware! We have access at road level to our upper seating area but due to the nature of our old building there is no access anywhere... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 36
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Delivery, Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silver Street | Cambridge, Cambridge CB3 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 353554
  • E-mail
The Anchor Pub boasts an enviable location on the River Cam which proves an amazing spot to watch all the punters going by.

A great selection of real ales, craft beers from local brewers, a wine list from around the world with a great selection of soft drinks too. We have something for everyone!

Our menus change with the seasons and our dining room is very popular so make sure you make a reservation. Innovative food using seasonal & locally sourced ingredients.

Great for every occasion summer or winter we have it covered and we truly look forward to welcoming you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing