We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tolldown, Dyrham SN14 8HZ, England
+44 1225 891166
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 231: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited before Christmas for dinner with my brother and elderly parents as we have passed so many times and never stopped. So glad we finally did! We had a lovely evening - really good food; particular mention for the chicken which was super and the pork belly special which my brother said was the best he'd had! The waiting time... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm glad that you had a nice time. David and I have a myriad of 'war stories' to share with people if they're interested! More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here after a dog walk at Dyrham Park, nice pub with a homely feel inside with lovely open fires. We hadn't booked and there was 6 of us, a 2 year old and a baby but we waited for 15 minutes and they found a table for us. Food was ok - hit and miss. I had a burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Swalkee
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a shame that your burger was lacklustre, as it is generally one of our best received dishes in my experience. However, it does depend on who makes them, and perhaps we had a more junior member of the kitchen team preparing them this time. Come back another time and I'm sure that you'll... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a table about an hour before we got there. On arrival we were seated quickly and the staff was friendly and efficient. The pub is a nice old building just of the A46 and certainly beats a motorway services any time for atmosphere. Our drinks came pretty fast and we found out they had a scheme for drivers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica H
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your overall positive review and I have passed the comment about grittiness on to the chef to see what he thinks the issue was. I look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table here for our Christmas Day dinner. The first time we have ever decided to dine out on Xmas day and we are so pleased we did. The food and service was amazing. Very impressed. So stress free, relaxing with a lovely atmosphere. Looking forward to booking for Xmas day 2017.

Helpful?
Thank sjkandcgn
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words; Christmas Day is actually one of the easier services of the year as it shows the value of booking and pre-orders - the easier it is for us, the better everything is for you! Have a good new year and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a table for a quick dinner stop on our way up to wales. I explained the situation and I was assured that there would be no problem. We arrived and sat down, made our choice quickly having reiterated that we were travelling up to wales that evening and we waited... The pub was not at all busy. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pingalu
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had a long wait for food; sometimes due to the layout of the pub it is not always obvious how busy we are, but you should be informed of any long waits. A normal wait for sausages and a burger would be around 15 minutes assuming the kitchen was not too busy, 25-30 minutes if we... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I bought my family here for a Xmas meal. Normally fantastic service but not tonight . It seems one member of staff really could not be bothered .Four times I had to go to the bar, and once waited at least five minutes whilst they were all chatting in the kitchen. It's such a shame that the manager ,who was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindyBristol
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

I apologise for whatever happened this evening - if it's not too busy I am sometimes in the office doing paperwork. Could you let me know which night this was so I can find out who was working and investigate? Once in a while we might drop the ball but not caring is unacceptable behaviour. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table for four as near Christmas but there were empty tables - even so the pub was warm and cosy when we arrived on a foggy night. Our order was taken promptly although the waiter did not return with the requested jug of water even though our bar drinks were served. 3 of the party had starters which... More 

Helpful?
Thank 107Kimbo
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

It sounds like the waitress didn't make a note on our list that you wanted desserts later, as we keep a list at the bar of what stage each table is at, so I apologise for this oversight. We do have an influx of seasonal team members around Christmas who are perhaps less sharp than the regular team, but this... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Waiter didn't check that everything was OK and forgot are sides and my sherry with my cheese Chicken fricassee was cooked well nice mash. Order side's if your very hungry we will return next time we're passing but will speak up as I think the waiter has a hearing problems or they wanted to close the kitchen as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank deko f
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

I am sorry that the waiter failed to hear/forgot your sides and sherry, I don't really know what to say to this other than it's not like us, and perhaps he was rushed and forgot. Closing the kitchen early doesn't happen, and it wouldn't make any difference to the waiter anyway as the bar is open until 11pm, so I... More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

passed there this morning on way to bath shopping on our return we decided to go there as it said food served all day? we walked in and asked for a table for two, the waiter asked have we booked, taking into account there was a total of twelve people sat in there and none of them were eating, he... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulmuf
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

This is the sort of review that really harms the credibility of Tripadvisor. You turned up on a Sunday lunchtime nearing Christmas without booking (we only have 20 tables so booking is always advised). No problem in itself, but to take exception when you are told that we were fully booked (with all of our tables arriving in the next... More 

Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

The worst meal we have ever had. Greasy frozen fish & chips. Sticky toffee pudding was a slice of dry cake put in the microwave & served with a small puddle of sickly sauce & some mediocre ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank June B
Matthew C, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

I am sorry that your fish and chips was not up to standard, but it is not frozen and the greasiness would have been from it not being drained properly after removal from the fryer. I'm sorry that your sticky toffee pudding was also not up to scratch, as it is the best selling dessert we do. As for the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Tormarton, Gloucestershire
 
Dyrham, Gloucestershire
Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 45
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tolldown, Dyrham SN14 8HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Dyrham
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 891166
Description
Situated just off the A46, a mere stone's throw from the M4, The Crown is a quintessential English Country Inn. Serving great food all day, every day our thoughtfully prepared menu emphasises the best in fresh English produce. Enjoy one of Wadworth's great cask ales or choose a selection from our extensive wine list while relaxing next to one of our roaring fires.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?