We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe

) #619 of 2,996 Restaurants in Auckland Region ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , , European
75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, New Zealand
+64 9-578 3327
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (74 reviews)
“ribs” (17 reviews)
“mission bay” (48 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Belgian, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 316 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Came here for the mussels. Since the name has Belgium, we expect great and cheap mussels and beer. Upon entering, a live band of four gentlemen were playing instruments and singing, very lively and joyful. The ground seating was quite full, so we went upstairs...More

Thank Melanie_Yeoh
Reviewed 2 days ago

Poor ...not sure if it's worth saying anything else...maybe ....overpriced average food at best served cold..... what service??? ..beyond getting shown to our table .... not asked how meal had been so just paid without bothering to waste emotional energy pointing out how rubbish this...More

Thank Neil C
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Neil, we are very sorry that your visit was such a letdown as obviously this is certainly not the standard we hope to achieve for our customers. We will be addressing your comments and thank you for raising them with us.

Reviewed 3 days ago

Really great location and lovely for a cold drink on a summers day. But the food is very average and service was disappointing. I personally would not return.

Thank Melissa B
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Melissa, we are very sorry that this was your experience and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope you'll give us another go so we can show you a much better experience second time around.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

An enjoyable special grilled Cajun chicken burger & fries with a side of balsamic mushrooms. Also an amazing selection of beers.

Thank Gaspar S
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review!

Reviewed 6 days ago

7 to the group and our total bill came to well over $300.00. To spend this much somewhere, you would think it would be good. We were sadly disappointed. We went hungry (coming from doing an activity in the city) so we were really looking...More

Thank syana22
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your feedback and we are very apologetic that you had a disappointing experience. Your feedback has been passed on to both the front of house and kitchen teams so that we can rectify these problems. thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place used to be one of the better restaurants in town. But now the standard of the meals can only be described as "dull" and "average" at best. Maybe there's been a change of management, chefs. Or the fact they tie up with voucher...More

Thank Jeantai
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your feedback. We apologise that you found the food disappointing and will certainly pass your feedback on to the kitchen team

Reviewed 1 week ago

These cafe serves good food and has assorted beers. The mussels are very good here. It is facing the sea and has a nice view at the balcony area. Usually, quite pack and advice to reserve.

Thank Nature_Trek2013
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on the spur of the moment mid week. Staff very friendly and obliging. No waiting and our orders were taken in good time. We hat a house beer and bubbly wine. Meals were Fish and chips on salad without any dressing and steak sandwich...More

Thank Kiwigolfer2011
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and will certainly take on board your feedback about the cost

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered this salmon and kumara stack, waited over an hour and got served this salad with yellow and obviously out dated salad leaves from the stack. Will never one here again :( :(More

Thank Vivienne L
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Vivienne, we are very sorry that this was your experience. We do experience long waiting times however you should have been advised of this and we apologise if this was not the case. Thank you for bringing the issues with the salad to our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the daily special of two for $30 cajun chicken burgers. The other daily specials also look very good too. Also had a cocktail as well. Overall, good value for the food you get. Service was however, a little bit slow. Best thing about it...More

Thank IW98
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we're glad you had a great time!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Black Sugar Grill
155 reviews
.21 km away
Bar Comida
71 reviews
.03 km away
The Cove
9 reviews
.07 km away
The Coffee Club
42 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bastion Point
18 reviews
.80 km away
Cycle Auckland
74 reviews
.85 km away
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
2,145 reviews
1.34 km away
St. Helier's Bay
160 reviews
1.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanna R
27 April 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Frenzigroup | Property representative |
Yes absolutely and we have colouring in sets available to help keep them occupied.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 15 - US$ 29
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 03:00
Monday
08:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 03:00
Thursday
08:00 - 03:00
Friday
08:00 - 03:00
Saturday
08:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region
  • Phone Number: +64 9-578 3327
  • E-mail
Description
De Fontein is located in the heart of Mission Bay, just 8 minutes drive from Auckland's CBD, and is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, especially from the sun drenched balcony overlooking the bay. We proudly serve authentic Belgian cuisine complimented by an extensive selection of fine Belgian beers & some of the best wines from NZ and Australia. We recommend you try our signature steaming mussel pots, or our famous mussel platters.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing