We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The King Stag

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Bournehall Road, Bushey WD23 3EH, England
+44 20 8950 2988
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (38 reviews)
“roast beef” (6 reviews)
“cheese board” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bournehall Road, Bushey WD23 3EH, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nicely styled pub , very busy , food was good expensive and basic , incredibly rude manageress acting like she’s doing you a favour seating you !! we are a male couple staff acted like they’ve never seen all male couple before wake up king...More

1  Thank nicholas z
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Customer, I 'am so very sorry you didnt feel as welcome and comfortable as we wanted you to. We were very busy over the Christmas and new year eve period and always try and squeeze as many people who walk in to eat at...More

Reviewed 2 December 2017

Our walking group regularly uses the King Stag for coffee after our health walks we get avery warm welcome in a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere

Thank Londonguidesuegil
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your great comments

Reviewed 26 November 2017

We visited the King Stag again....please see my previous review May 2014 Very friendly attentive personnel who saw to our every need. Food well presented and delicious. A small problem was quickly sorted out by the manageress, and a discount offered for the inconvenience. A...More

Thank Syd M
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you.

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Consistency: 'The quality of achieving a level of performance which does not vary greatly in quality over time'. Not always easy yet delivered every time here at this quality and cosy establishment with a great atmosphere. Efficient and smiley staff where nothing is too much...More

Thank RobertEkr
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for those great comments.

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Warm welcome, menu & drinks promptly provided. Friendly efficient service throughout despite being very busy. The food was really very good, quite delicious. I live in France and this was as good as I eat in the restaurants at home; the roast beef was good...More

2  Thank Angela R
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you so much for your great comments.

Reviewed 15 November 2017

Its a great pub and the food would have been perfect if it was served when it was ready. Food was served to us warm, not hot! The waitress really let it down and didn't wait our table. She was more interested in chatting to...More

Thank KLG018
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

I am so sorry about your experience, we will be investigating into the waiting staff situation as I can assure we consider this totally unacceptable. We had a new extraction system in the summer which is very efficient, it is sucking in all the cold...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

A lunch midweek , we were the only 2 people there , so no atmosphere, food was tasteless, which was a falafel roll, and a small ploughman's which was un appetising . Desert was dangerously hot and the custard was full of lumps. The cider...More

Thank joanne1732
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch. please could you give me a call on 07866484219. Thank you David.

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The menu doesn't change much but the food is good and nicely presented. There is a good wine list and the food is locally sourced. The pub itself can get very noisy though so not ideal if you want to chat.More

Thank SueS2210
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We do change the menu quarterly and are just launching our Autumn menu next week. We always offer daily specials as well and food weeks through out the year. This week is Fish week with lots of fish options on our daily specials, We do...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Nice food, seasonal menus, could do with cleaning the inside of the gazebo. Good selection of drinks including a lovely pimms, nice staff.More

Thank nicky911
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your comments. We have pushed the Gazebo a little longer than it should be used as we are are getting a whole new garden early next year, so it wasn't worth buying a new one for the last few events this year....More

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Have been here for lunch a couple of times recently with friends including three dogs. Adults and dogs made very welcome, and we were very impressed with the food and service.

Thank S0undbite
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you, we are glad you and your dogs all enjoyed the King Stag.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bushey Hotels
Grove End Hotel
22 reviews
1.40 km away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
1,055 reviews
1.67 km away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
1,173 reviews
1.96 km away
Hilton Watford
1,838 reviews
2.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Horse & Chains
395 reviews
.57 km away
St James Restaurant
533 reviews
.31 km away
Zaza Bushey
518 reviews
.27 km away
Blue Check
308 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Horse and Chains
142 reviews
.57 km away
Bushey Rose Garden
79 reviews
.23 km away
Bushey Museum and Art Gallery
26 reviews
.15 km away
The Swan Bushey
7 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ruth C
22 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mamma37a | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you contact them direct for an answer.
0
Votes
clairevmartin2017
12 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Brenda P | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure cause think their private room is small but will leave it up to The Kings Stag owners to answer this question!!!
1
Vote
Mano M
11 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from davidatthekingstag | Property representative |
Hello Mano, This would be no problem and if the dining room is available you can have your own room. Please call us on 0208 950 2988 and we will get it all booked in for you. Many thanks David
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bournehall Road, Bushey WD23 3EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Bushey
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8950 2988
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing